Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very run down and noisy not real clean either

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: décor, cleanliness, noise level
Location: tube station
wouldn't stay there again - comparable to a old run down place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location for Camden

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs some re decoration
Location: Location great for Camden
The hotel was in need of some renovation and room had no window, the air conditioning was a dusty fan but overall the room was clean. Location wise It was in a great spot for Camden and as we were going to the Roundhouse it was ideal as we didn't really have to spend much time there, but for the price would've expected more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

London Hotel Hampstead

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Good location, hotel is OK rooms old style but bed was comfortable & had a good shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy and dated

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Close to underground and a quite nice area of London......Swiss Cottage
Cons: The hotel needs a major refurbishment. new carpets, new bathrooms, new furniture, new curtains and fittings, new wallpaper and paint throughout!!!!!!
Location: Easy access to underground and hence theatre land and central London
The Britannia Hotel is in Primrose Hill Road, Swiss Cottage not actually Hampstead. We booked through the pot luck system of Expedia where you only get to know the hotel AFTER you have booked and paid so you cannot do a prelim check as the price cuts are described as deep!!!! It is walking distance from Chalk Farm Station and very convenient for the underground system in London. There is also car parking which we didn't need as we came up to town on the Reading Heathrow shuttle which is very cost effective. Reception was just OK as the girl on duty was new and didn't know where to locate the booking, but she was soon assisted by someone more experienced. Our room on the first floor was on the road side and a bit noisy. The room was reasonably furnished but not that clean in respect of carpets and chair fabrics. But linen and towels were spotless. Plenty of drawer and cupboard space, a functioning TV and satellite system, a trouser press. The wifi worked well and so all in all considering the low room rate we didn't complain and spent the weekend happily doing the sights and seeing two excellent shows in the West End. We didn't use the hotel restaurant as we ate in Theatre Land and are not breakfast people. We got ice from the bar for our evening bottle of Prosecco purchased at a convenient store outside Chalk Farm station. As I say dingy but cheap and you get really what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet green leafy area

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: close to camden market
Cons: Breakfast being included in your nights package
Location: close to shop and Camden Market
quiet and comfy night's sleep apart from the fire alarm going off so watch that your bathroom door is shut while showering
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Digusting nightmare of a hotel!!!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I was put into a "single room" which was a dungeon in the basement with NO windows in the room or bathroom. Completely illegal. The smell of urine throughout the halls was overwhelming. Worse hotel I've ever almost stayed in, thank goodness I found a reputable place down the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

OK for 1 night (maybe).

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The bar staff were very pleasant and amenable.
Cons: The hotel is in need of refurbishment. Also further customer service training for reception staff and most definitely room service staff!
Location: Ideally located for visits to the Roundhouse, Camden Town or Regents Park area.
Overall disappointing despite being very well positioned for anyone visiting places such as the Roundhouse or Camden Town. The hotel itself has a slightly dingy, dilapidated feel about it and generally in need of a long overdue refurbishment. The room cleanliness wasn't quite the worst I've seen to be honest, but has to be given a "terrible" rating due to the old pair of (Authentic Apparel) underpants found placed against the bathroom doorstop. Admittedly I did not examine the underpants for any signs of previous use, hence I am assuming they were an unforgivable oversight by room service staff, and not a standard door protection/noise reduction technique used by Brittania's hotel maintenance staff (and on the up side, it did give us a laugh). Also on arrival, I witnessed another guest getting poor customer service from reception staff in relation to a comlaint he was making regarding his booking. Whilst I did not know the full details of the dispute taking place, I observed the receptionist's manner to be most unhelpful and very short with the customer, and definitely not something which instilled confidence in me as a guest just checking in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Occasional Traveller from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room (double) was comfortable and clean. There was no mini fridge in the room I stayed in, but this wasn't an issue for me. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, so it got steamy very quickly while showering (there was a notice on the door saying not to leave the bathroom door open while showering, the steam sets off the fire alarm). The hotel looks a little worse for wear (a brass "N" is missing from the lettering at the front entrance that spells out the name of the hotel). The breakfast buffet is quite good, offering a full English breakfast, along with plenty of fruit, juices, and cereal. In contrast, the dinner buffet in the evening was quite ordinary (I only ate there once), I wouldn't recommend it. The staff were always friendly and courteous - I spoke to them at least once per day when I picked up the key to my room each afternoon/evening after dropping it off in the morning. Checking in and out was very straightforward (I had booked and paid ahead of time). The location is good; it's no more than 10 minutes walk to Chalk Farm tube station, and it's within a comfortable 15-20 minutes walk of the restaurants and market near Camden Town. The wifi is free, easy to set up and reliable - there was only one occasion when the internet access was noticeably slow, and it only lasted for an hour or so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ben from Canada

The best hostel in Madrid!

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The cleanest, most aesthetically appealing, friendliest hostel I've stayed in. Reasonably priced. Right in the plaza de sol (central Madrid). You will definitely be glad you stayed there. I little tricky to find via google maps.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alan from Wolves

Poor service

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were very unhelpful and the hotel was very dated. Donot bother with the so called exec room as they are still poor and basic.