Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Second time staying. Great old hotel, with a lot of character. Great location in Soho near everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Forest, IL

The perfect location with loads of character!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Loved the breakfast in bed, the staff, the library with the honesty bar, and that we were never more than a short walk from every attraction.
Cons: Our room was a bit loud on Friday night when we had the window open, due to the pub across the street, but that's why the windows are double-paned.
Location: Everything you could want to do in London is steps away. I can't imagine any place with a better location.
I travel frequently for my job, so I stay in dozens of fine hotels each year. I always appreciate when a property has character and there's no question that Hazlitt's has personality in spades. I loved that there was never a moment I wasn't aware of being in the heart of London. The quirks that might have bothered me elsewhere (desperately slanted floors, lack of elevator, a small bed) absolutely charmed me here - like it was all part of the experience. I felt like I was a guest in someone's quirky Soho townhouse, rather than in a generic hotel. Plus, the staff was top notch and their service impeccable. Every day, my husband and I returned from our adventures (all of which are within walking distance) to be greeted by a friendly clerk who seemed genuinely interested in our activities (and a fat resident cat who was decidedly less enthusiastic.) I can't imagine staying anywhere else in London now. Had we stayed somewhere with amenities such as a gym, a day spa, and turndown service, we'd have missed out on the feeling that we were truly somewhere different, historic, and special. If you want a cookie-cutter luxury lodging experience (which I totally appreciate when working) then this isn't the place for you. But if you want charm, personality, service, and the best possible proximity, then you'll love Hazlitt's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Living History

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: It has a serenity about it, when all around is busy and exciting. The location is fantastic, no need to take the tube. Staff lovely, welcoming & kind
Cons: Nothing for me, perfect as it is.
Location: Covent Garden at one end of the road and Oxford Street at the other. Plenty of lively fun in Soho on your doorstep if you want it.
This is a unique experience, staying in a piece of London's literary history. Built in 1718 and furnished sensitively, this is a quirky and interesting stay. There are many spaces to sit and relax and it feels as if you have strayed into someone's rather lovely house party. Walking up hill to bed was a particular favourite!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Claremont Ont.

Welcoming small hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, room (quaint, comfortable, good size). We felt quite at home in the old restored townhouses.
Location: In the middle of Soho (theatres, restaurants), a few minutes walk from Trafalgar Square and the Thames, and lots more an easy stroll away.
We arrived at Hazlitt's late on a Saturday night and found the its Soho neighbourhood just buzzing with post-theater crowds out for a good time in the nearby restaurants and bars. Despite the numbers of people our rear-facing room was amazingly quiet, even with our windows open. Staff was all friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a very old building with stairs, uneven floors and high-sided bathtubs, so people who are a bit unsteady on their feet might find it a bit challenging, The room was a decent size and nicely furnished to match the age of the building. So much of central London is an easy walk from Hazlitt's. We'd be quite happy to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Fantastic location in Soho

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We loved this hotel, old world charm with modern touches. Extremely comfortable room and great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Outer Hebrides

Wonderful, characterful hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Cons: Overall, we were very happy with this hotel. There were very few negatives, but we did find that hanging space for clothes was rather limited.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hazlitt's. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was one of comfortable and relaxed elegance. Our room was charming - a reasonable size, with lots of lovely period features - and we also enjoyed sitting in the library and browsing the wide selection of antique books. The location was ideal for us - easy walking distance to all the shops, theatres and restaurants we wanted to visit, and not too much street noise despite its proximity to all the Soho nightlife. The hotel has no restaurant, although it is possible to have breakfast delivered to your room in the morning. We mostly breakfasted elsewhere - we found that the Dean Street Townhouse, which is only a few minutes walk away, serves an excellent breakfast with very good service. However, on the morning we were due to leave we opted to have breakfast served in our room at Hazlitt's, and we were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the food and the generous portion sizes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington, New Zealand

Stunning room in a fantastic Hotel in Soho.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The character, charm and decor are great, the location is fantastic for walking everywhere (in any direction to any thing you want to do)...
Cons: nothing really...maybe if it was a little closer to NZ we could come more often...
Location: location is perfect, 7 dials, covent Garden and mayfair on your doorstep, its chokka with bars and its in the theatre district....
We have stayed at Hazlitt's 4x before, and therfore nbeen in many of the rooms. we love being in the heart of Soho, which is abuzz 24/7, and we love Hazlitts' easy manner (the great staff), disdain for guests (Sir Geoffrey the resident ginger cat), and the rooms which have all been great, and all have a quirky charm of their own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hazlitt review

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Great staff. Very nice people, helpful. Great central location in Soho for walking distance to a lot of the major sites. Soho is crazy busy with lots of young people and energy. Lots of pubs and restaurants from cuisine from all over the world. Loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ingerfrom Norge

Flott beliggenhet

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Et hotel med sjel i veggene. Veldig sentralt, gåavstand til det meste. Et lite minus for en del støy utenfor om kvelden. Frokost på rommet var dyr, men helt OK. Vi vurderer nok dette hotellet også neste gang vi skal til London! Kan trygt anbefales.