Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Sofa Bed worst ever!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location near tube station
Cons: Sofabeds need to be replaced!!!
The hotel is located in Shore Ditch which is a party place for young adults. Street in front of hotel was full of young adults partying. The hotel is used by travelling younger adults looking to party. We had to make a noise complaint as neighboring room was loud and disruptive. The worst part of the stay was the sofa bed which was terrible. A very thin mattress on top of a metal spring frame which offered zero comfort what so every. We ended up removing the mattress from the sofa bed and put it on the floor. All the hotel could offer is another duvet to put on top of the bed which offered little extra comfort. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the Old Street tube station so getting around was very convenient. Breakfast was decent with a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options but at times the breakfast area was packed with no where to sit. There were lots of pubs/bars nearby but few family appropriate restaurants. We usually ate dinner prior to returning to Old Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear RGP, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the inconvenience caused by the uncomfortable sofa bed. We have now changed all our sofa bed mattresses to make them more comfortable for all our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast. Thank You.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Holiday Inn Express Old Street

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Holiday Inn Express Old Street provided a nice base for me and my family for our 3 day London get away. The convenience of the location is great, Tube connections are easy and fast to key London sites: British Museum, Tower Bridge, London Bridge, and St Pancras access. Hotel has nice breakfast, although layout of dining room makes for a chaotic experience that's akin to eating at a university dorm room. Food is actually nice, and there are healthy options. Room is super comfy and bathroom is good with hot shower and modern decor. Air conditioning system was broken during our stay which coincided with hot British weather, so that was a drag. Hotel offers good, affordable taxi service to airports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us apart from the Air conditioning problem and I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our Air Conditioning Company is working on resolving the issues with Air Conditioning system. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and liked the décor in the bedroom. We hope to welcome you with us again. Many Thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Hotel close to station

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Rooms ok but very small. Hard to put your bags. No space for iron board even. Bathroom very small andwater leaked from shower door despite tight closing. I will rebook only if not able to find better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice basic hotel close to the train station

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The included breakfasts, the staff and the proximity of restaurants and transit
Cons: Maybe more closet space but with the room sizes may not be possible
Location: A step away from the train station
We were there for five days and our stay was very pleasant. The staff was excellent and alway willing to help . The room is basic and small but normal for European standard . The washroom was very nice !. The included breakfast was definitely a bonus so you don't have to think where to go and get breakfast specially at London prices. There are many places to eat around the neighbourhood and the train station is steps away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Bournemouth

City Centre Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean and updated
Location: Location was a short walk to the underground. Plenty of resaurants close by.
Basic hotel with all the amenities I needed (shower, bed, sofa and desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bev from Buckinghamshire

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location
Cons: New pull out bed.
Location: Sainsburys local for top up of drinks & sandwiches for the day ahead.
Walking distance to tube station so great location. Room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy and you do need to get used to the busy street noise too. The local area had lots of restaurants. Only downside was the pull out bed was past its best unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
We loved our stay here. The staff at the front desk were great and super friendly with our children. The room was good and the bathroom excellent. The only downside was the sofa bed which has to be the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on. We could feel every metal spring and the thing creaked and groaned whenever we moved. The breakfast was busy but a decent variety of foods and the sausage/eggs/beans a great bonus. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the tube and easy to find from the tube station. Overall we were really pleased with our stay and will certainly consider this hotel when we visit London again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted May 26, 2014
Nice hotel for what it is. ie. not a five start luxury hotel but good for somewhere to stay overnight in London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IAN from PORTSMOUTH

great location

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bacon and cheaper parking
Location: Bars and restaurants. Not far from the Emirates so will stay again when going to see Arsenal
Had a family room was a bit tight with two older kids, sofa bed wasn’t great but ok for one night. The hotel is in a good location plenty of restaurants and bars close by. The only down side was the £30 for parking. We opted to pay on the road till midnight then free till 8.30 when we topped up the meter while we had breakfast worked out to be about £12.The staff were very friendly and helpful breakfast was good, but as in a lot of hotels bacon wasn’t on the menu ???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fine for a short stay

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: location, decent size rooms and bar area
Cons: Lifts, bit slow and pillows ;)
Wasnt too sure about what too expect but actually not bad. Surrounding area probably not the most exciting but close to Old street tube. Not the newest HI express, but certainly well kept, good room size and nice bathrooms. We had a family room, so enough space for 3 of us. If you were staying longer, perhaps you might need some more hanging space etc. Breakfast was ok, certainly something for everyone. Staff I thought were particularly helpful. Pillow was rock hard, was the only down side - I am sure i could have asked for another but only discovered this when going to bed!