Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent value for money

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Price, breakfast, location, quietness of the rooms
Cons: Size of the rooms, sofa bed.
Location: Lots of good restaurants (notably the Yard), a small grocery (Sainsbury's) and plenty of local shops, in addition to the Old Street tube station
Very well located hotel close to a tube station and bus lines, with a local grocery store next door. Hotel staff is very personable and helpful. The neighbourhood can be noisy but the rooms are nonetheless quiet, probably due to top notch soundproofing and solid windows. The room we had, with a double bed and sofa bed, was small, and the sofa bed one of the most uncomfortable we ever tried. Ifyou have to use the sofa bed, you're much better off to simply put the mattress directly on the ground rather than on the sofa bed. The family enjoyed the free breakfast, but we found the free wifi unreliable at times. Overall, a very good hotel at a reasonable price (for London), but don't count on the sofa bed for a good night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

Lovely hotel close to kings cross station

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We only stayed for one night, we found the staff to be very polite, friendly and helpful.Our room was very comfortable and presented to a high standard.i would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

family with small children

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: more choice in breakfast menu; room too small for a family of four
Location: London bridge very nice;a few tube stops to Convent garden, China Town
a good 7 days London holiday with my family. the weather was nice most of time. In addition to city, we also traveled to Cambridge, Oxford and Bath.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. All our rooms are standard size being a Holiday Inn Express brand and our breakfast is limited and is part of brand standard as well. Many Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby england

It was very nice

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It was convenient for tube
Cons: Not to book taxied for guesses that don't have a money meator in
Location: Tube
It was near the tube station it was warm and friendly clean and had a good choice for breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Sofa Bed worst ever!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location near tube station
Cons: Sofabeds need to be replaced!!!
The hotel is located in Shore Ditch which is a party place for young adults. Street in front of hotel was full of young adults partying. The hotel is used by travelling younger adults looking to party. We had to make a noise complaint as neighboring room was loud and disruptive. The worst part of the stay was the sofa bed which was terrible. A very thin mattress on top of a metal spring frame which offered zero comfort what so every. We ended up removing the mattress from the sofa bed and put it on the floor. All the hotel could offer is another duvet to put on top of the bed which offered little extra comfort. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the Old Street tube station so getting around was very convenient. Breakfast was decent with a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options but at times the breakfast area was packed with no where to sit. There were lots of pubs/bars nearby but few family appropriate restaurants. We usually ate dinner prior to returning to Old Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear RGP, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the inconvenience caused by the uncomfortable sofa bed. We have now changed all our sofa bed mattresses to make them more comfortable for all our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast. Thank You.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Holiday Inn Express Old Street

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Holiday Inn Express Old Street provided a nice base for me and my family for our 3 day London get away. The convenience of the location is great, Tube connections are easy and fast to key London sites: British Museum, Tower Bridge, London Bridge, and St Pancras access. Hotel has nice breakfast, although layout of dining room makes for a chaotic experience that's akin to eating at a university dorm room. Food is actually nice, and there are healthy options. Room is super comfy and bathroom is good with hot shower and modern decor. Air conditioning system was broken during our stay which coincided with hot British weather, so that was a drag. Hotel offers good, affordable taxi service to airports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us apart from the Air conditioning problem and I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our Air Conditioning Company is working on resolving the issues with Air Conditioning system. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and liked the d├ęcor in the bedroom. We hope to welcome you with us again. Many Thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Hotel close to station

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Rooms ok but very small. Hard to put your bags. No space for iron board even. Bathroom very small andwater leaked from shower door despite tight closing. I will rebook only if not able to find better hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice basic hotel close to the train station

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The included breakfasts, the staff and the proximity of restaurants and transit
Cons: Maybe more closet space but with the room sizes may not be possible
Location: A step away from the train station
We were there for five days and our stay was very pleasant. The staff was excellent and alway willing to help . The room is basic and small but normal for European standard . The washroom was very nice !. The included breakfast was definitely a bonus so you don't have to think where to go and get breakfast specially at London prices. There are many places to eat around the neighbourhood and the train station is steps away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Bournemouth

City Centre Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean and updated
Location: Location was a short walk to the underground. Plenty of resaurants close by.
Basic hotel with all the amenities I needed (shower, bed, sofa and desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bev from Buckinghamshire

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location
Cons: New pull out bed.
Location: Sainsburys local for top up of drinks & sandwiches for the day ahead.
Walking distance to tube station so great location. Room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very busy and you do need to get used to the busy street noise too. The local area had lots of restaurants. Only downside was the pull out bed was past its best unfortunately.