Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, British Columbia,Canada

Nice Hotel. Friendly staff & also helpful

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Comfortable. Will definitely return in future
Location: Good location
Enjoyed staying in this Hotel. Close to restaurants & the underground train stations. Breakfast was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good hotel, good location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Perfect location for our needs, clean rooms and friendly staff on reception.
Cons: Friendliness of staff at breakfast and the variety of breakfast, only hit food was sausages, beans, scrambled eggs.
Location: The tube was about 8 min walk, and the restaustNt across the roD calle 'Yard' had lovely pizzas!
Stayed here for 2 nights in a family room 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 10. We arrived early after a long journey, and the reception staff were very good at finding us a room that was ready so we could unpack and head off out. The room was recently refurbished and clean and had everything we needed, the only downside was the noise from across the road from the loud music that went on until midnight. Breakfast was ok and 'did the job'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Excellent value for money

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Price, breakfast, location, quietness of the rooms
Cons: Size of the rooms, sofa bed.
Location: Lots of good restaurants (notably the Yard), a small grocery (Sainsbury's) and plenty of local shops, in addition to the Old Street tube station
Very well located hotel close to a tube station and bus lines, with a local grocery store next door. Hotel staff is very personable and helpful. The neighbourhood can be noisy but the rooms are nonetheless quiet, probably due to top notch soundproofing and solid windows. The room we had, with a double bed and sofa bed, was small, and the sofa bed one of the most uncomfortable we ever tried. Ifyou have to use the sofa bed, you're much better off to simply put the mattress directly on the ground rather than on the sofa bed. The family enjoyed the free breakfast, but we found the free wifi unreliable at times. Overall, a very good hotel at a reasonable price (for London), but don't count on the sofa bed for a good night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

Lovely hotel close to kings cross station

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We only stayed for one night, we found the staff to be very polite, friendly and helpful.Our room was very comfortable and presented to a high standard.i would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

family with small children

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: more choice in breakfast menu; room too small for a family of four
Location: London bridge very nice;a few tube stops to Convent garden, China Town
a good 7 days London holiday with my family. the weather was nice most of time. In addition to city, we also traveled to Cambridge, Oxford and Bath.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. All our rooms are standard size being a Holiday Inn Express brand and our breakfast is limited and is part of brand standard as well. Many Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby england

It was very nice

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It was convenient for tube
Cons: Not to book taxied for guesses that don't have a money meator in
Location: Tube
It was near the tube station it was warm and friendly clean and had a good choice for breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Sofa Bed worst ever!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location near tube station
Cons: Sofabeds need to be replaced!!!
The hotel is located in Shore Ditch which is a party place for young adults. Street in front of hotel was full of young adults partying. The hotel is used by travelling younger adults looking to party. We had to make a noise complaint as neighboring room was loud and disruptive. The worst part of the stay was the sofa bed which was terrible. A very thin mattress on top of a metal spring frame which offered zero comfort what so every. We ended up removing the mattress from the sofa bed and put it on the floor. All the hotel could offer is another duvet to put on top of the bed which offered little extra comfort. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the Old Street tube station so getting around was very convenient. Breakfast was decent with a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options but at times the breakfast area was packed with no where to sit. There were lots of pubs/bars nearby but few family appropriate restaurants. We usually ate dinner prior to returning to Old Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear RGP, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the inconvenience caused by the uncomfortable sofa bed. We have now changed all our sofa bed mattresses to make them more comfortable for all our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed our free breakfast. Thank You.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by World Traveller from New York

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you don't expect much, you won't be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Holiday Inn Express Old Street

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Holiday Inn Express Old Street provided a nice base for me and my family for our 3 day London get away. The convenience of the location is great, Tube connections are easy and fast to key London sites: British Museum, Tower Bridge, London Bridge, and St Pancras access. Hotel has nice breakfast, although layout of dining room makes for a chaotic experience that's akin to eating at a university dorm room. Food is actually nice, and there are healthy options. Room is super comfy and bathroom is good with hot shower and modern decor. Air conditioning system was broken during our stay which coincided with hot British weather, so that was a drag. Hotel offers good, affordable taxi service to airports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Craig, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us apart from the Air conditioning problem and I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our Air Conditioning Company is working on resolving the issues with Air Conditioning system. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and liked the d├ęcor in the bedroom. We hope to welcome you with us again. Many Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patti from Vancouver, BC Canada

Great location, very close to tube

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotels in London are not cheap! This holiday inn express was a good deal for our family. Family rooms are not that big and the pull out sofa is smaller than a double bed but for the amount if time spent in the room it did not seem to matter. After long days of sightseeing we all slept very well. Rooms were clean, staff very friendly and helpful!