Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dub

Bad bed and dirty bathroom

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Though it's near the station, the rooms could have been much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom T

Good find!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Very nice little room in a clean friendly hotel. Fairly small room but great for the price and in a good location couple of mins walk from Picadilly line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cheap but decent hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Was a nice hotel, cheap aswell. Was near to the Caledonian tube station which was a bonus. Staff was really nice and helped whenever was needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MutleySYorksfrom S Yorkshire

Shabby communal areas, decent rooms

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The title says it all. Room spacious and had extras such as tea/coffee facilities and a fruit basket. Overall very comfortable. Main criticism: I slipped when getting out of the bath. Duly reported this and asked for non-slip mat in bath. This was agreed and I was informed it had been sorted on my return. It hadn't! My room had been left UNLOCKED and there was NO NON-SLIP BATH MAT AS PROMISED. Summary of my stay: Disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

nice, for the price

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value hotel very close to Caledonian Road tube. Rooms quite nice and clean. Needs a little TLC in places but generally ok. Breakfast is continental style - would be better if they just simply did beans and eggs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Monikafrom Lancaster

Lovely place

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked the hotel for 2 night and I didn't expect much but it was so lovely! Rooms look exactly like on the photographs provided. The tube is very close which is very handy and it doesn't take that long to get to the central Ldn. Staff is very nice and I just had some problems to get connected it the wifi but it sorted itself out. The mirror could be a bit bigger and I would improve the lighting but I understand why it's not as bright as it could be but other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No TV signal

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Hospitality tray, reasonably clean, good shower and towels.
Cons: Rectify issues referred to above.
Location: Chose hotel because of its proximity to Kings Cross and Islington.
The room was reasonably comfortable and the hospitality tray was very much appreciated. I would have rated the hotel much higher if we had been able to use the TV in our room. We had walked all day and were looking forward to a rest watching the Commonwealth Games on BBC1 but there was no signal. I reported this to the man on the front desk but he was unable to offer any solution. He didn't seem to understand us very well and just kept shrugging his shoulders and smiling. We would not have stayed in this hotel if we had known that we couldn't watch TV. I decided to read instead - the room was rather dark so I tried to switch on my bedside light only to find that it wasn't plugged in and I couldn't find a plug socket. The hair dryer didn't work either but I did obtain a replacement from reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by artonfridayfrom Somerset

A reasonable overnight stay

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We expected it to be properly in Islington as that was our destination, but it was quite far out and required two stops and a change on the underground. It would have been easier had we realised how close to Caledonia Road Station it was, but then we wouldn't have chosen to be so far away from Islington. Otherwise it was reasonably priced and comfortable and perfectly acceptable as an overnight stop.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anonymous guestfrom USA

Extremely dissatisfied!

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life-time anywhere in the world. It fails at all levels. I stayed in this hotel for one night in July 2014. No AC, No elevator, Shower severely clogged (my legs were 6" submerged under the dirty clogged water during the shower), very loud street noise, unsafe location (opposite to local police station & I think there is a jail around). Also, unfriendly guest service (the front-door lady attendant appeared unprofessional). For some reason, this hotel received inaccurate rating of 3.5 (I guess, falsely written by fake guests). It is not worth even for 30 British Pounds. I paid 75 Pounds for one night. Like me, DON'T be fooled by the so-called rating of 3.5 (it is not worth for even 1.0). Overall, horrible experience!! Stay away from this hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Moony's matefrom Milton Keynes

Leave the Makedonia alone!

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel isn't great; opposite Pentonville prison. But you're not staying outside. Inside it's bright and clean. The receptionist (Laverne) was welcoming with an easy manner and a brilliant smile. The room was large and clean with a good sized en suite bathroom. There was plenty of soaps and towels and hot water. the bath was chipped but you're not gonna replace the bath because of careless customers. Most people shower anyway. The room had loads of tea and coffee and a basket of fruit; which was unexpected. TV etc. The two single beds, well the one I slept in, was clean and comfortable. I slept all night and didn't hear a thing. The breakfast, although continental, was good. More tea/coffee & juices. Cereals. Boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, cucumber (Cucumber!)... toast and jams. You name it... It was good. No; it was very good. No problems. I would stay again.