Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Good find!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Very nice little room in a clean friendly hotel. Fairly small room but great for the price and in a good location couple of mins walk from Picadilly line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cheap but decent hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Was a nice hotel, cheap aswell. Was near to the Caledonian tube station which was a bonus. Staff was really nice and helped whenever was needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No TV signal

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Hospitality tray, reasonably clean, good shower and towels.
Cons: Rectify issues referred to above.
Location: Chose hotel because of its proximity to Kings Cross and Islington.
The room was reasonably comfortable and the hospitality tray was very much appreciated. I would have rated the hotel much higher if we had been able to use the TV in our room. We had walked all day and were looking forward to a rest watching the Commonwealth Games on BBC1 but there was no signal. I reported this to the man on the front desk but he was unable to offer any solution. He didn't seem to understand us very well and just kept shrugging his shoulders and smiling. We would not have stayed in this hotel if we had known that we couldn't watch TV. I decided to read instead - the room was rather dark so I tried to switch on my bedside light only to find that it wasn't plugged in and I couldn't find a plug socket. The hair dryer didn't work either but I did obtain a replacement from reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Moony's mate from Milton Keynes

Leave the Makedonia alone!

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel isn't great; opposite Pentonville prison. But you're not staying outside. Inside it's bright and clean. The receptionist (Laverne) was welcoming with an easy manner and a brilliant smile. The room was large and clean with a good sized en suite bathroom. There was plenty of soaps and towels and hot water. the bath was chipped but you're not gonna replace the bath because of careless customers. Most people shower anyway. The room had loads of tea and coffee and a basket of fruit; which was unexpected. TV etc. The two single beds, well the one I slept in, was clean and comfortable. I slept all night and didn't hear a thing. The breakfast, although continental, was good. More tea/coffee & juices. Cereals. Boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, cucumber (Cucumber!)... toast and jams. You name it... It was good. No; it was very good. No problems. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what I needed.

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would recommend the hotel to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Adequate hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I needed an inexpensive hotel in the area and used the reviews to help me decide. Many if the reviews were encouraging so I booked. The staff were very friendly and their Englush was generally very good. There was no lift to my 3 rd floor single room so this might be an issue for anyone with mobility problems. The room itself was roomy for a single room and appeared to bd clean. My biggest disappointment wS that my shower didn't work so I had to have a strip wash before I headed off to my meeting. The breakfast was adequate with quite limited choice but at £75 a night for a London hotel, I suppose it was ok. Not sure I would rush back even though it has some positives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ryszard from South Africa

Quite sufficient for a get-a-way to London

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very handy location just 2 blocks from Caledonia Rd station for the tube to go around London. Breakfast is good and the stall very pleasant. Over the road from the police station so expect a few sirens during your stay :) Pub right on the corner helps with the parched throat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Debbie from North West Lancashire

Very noisy and needs updating

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Location: It is located on a busy main road, so is very noisy.
The room was not cleaned very well. It had dust on the floor and along the skirting and the doors were cheap, unpainted with a large gap between them and the floor. The room could also do with decorating.