Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Mr Bigglesworth from Reading

Nice if you like to listen to traffic

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The window in the room I was given was broken - the handle had snapped off and it couldn't be shut properly. It could neither be fixed or a different room found, so there was nothing to be done but suffer the noise of the very busy Caledonian road all night. At least I was up early (5pm onwards). Other than that it was a normal overpriced London hotel. I won't be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simona from Rome, Italy

Confortable hotel close to the City Centre

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Nice and comfortable hotel, cheap rates, kind staff.
2 out of 5
by Julia from North Yorkshire

Disappointing

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Bathrooms and breakfast
Location: It's in London-lots!
This hotel was not the one in the photo and we nearly walked straight past it. The rooms were basic but clean. The bathrooms however were off putting. Our shower did not work and our sons did not have a plug for their bath. Both were fixed though. The hotel generally was very tired and had no lounge etc (not that we would have used it). I had one of the worst nihgt's sleeps eevr because of the constant noise of traffic. It was advertised as providing a full breakfast but was not clear that this did not mean full English. The 'fresh fruits' were an apple or orange, some limp salamis and the only hot thing was the toast. The staff were friendly enough but overall I would not recommend this place to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Fails on all levels

Posted Mar 27, 2014
I have put in a complaint and still awaiting a response. Detailed review on trip advisor. Hotel is shabby and no service to speak of.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap & chearful

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Cheap Friendly staff
Cons: The shower and lighting
Rooms basic but fine! Water and tea etc. Shower was more of a dribble and only one spotlight working in room but for cheapness and a one nights stay can't complain!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from Melbourne, Australia

Very good for an inexpensive hotel!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Room was a great size - the bathroom was definitely much bigger than expected! Breakfast was delicious - and there was plenty of food! Nice decor.
Cons: They definitely need a lift, or some way of moving luggage up and down those stairs that doesn't involve physical effort!
Location: Two minute walk from the nearest underground station, and only one stop away from Kings Cross! On the Piccadilly line - great for tourists!
Worst thing about Hotel Makedonia - NO LIFT! Had to carry very heavy luggage up three flights of stairs, not fun at all. The hotel itself was fantastic, and very cheap! The room was a good size, and you could actually move around in the bathroom! In a great location - one stop away from King's Cross on the Piccadilly line, which was great because we had lined up a few touristy things to do during our stay, and they were all easily accessible from the Piccadilly line! Staff were nice, but not overly friendly/didn't talk to us much at all. Wifi worked well. Highly recommend for everyone!
2 out of 5
by Michael from Germany

Overpriced hotel come into years

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Its closeness to the tube station
Cons: Everything
Too highly priced for a so called double room with dimensions that might be large enough for a single room. Bathroom with a shower cabinet and tab that need urgent attention. Furthermore a receptionist who occasionally stayed in the pub next door with the result that hotel guests - including me - waited for him at the reception for some 15 minutes despite having rung the bell several times. No English breakfast offered. Continental breakfast consisted of packaged butter and jam, no variety of bread types, just toast bread offered. All in all one of the worst hotel stays in my life - and I have neen staying some 80 nights per year in hotels for the last 30 years
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tracey from gidalming

Nice good value hotel, would stay again

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Has everything you would expect for the price. Extra lite touches like water and fruit in the room give it an edge. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Very clean. Breakfast was a buffet and again very good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Good enough for a short stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Couple from Dorset

Good value hotel.

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value hotel, No places to eat in immediate vicinity, but excellent location for underground and buses. I would stay here again.