Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No TV signal

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Hospitality tray, reasonably clean, good shower and towels.
Cons: Rectify issues referred to above.
Location: Chose hotel because of its proximity to Kings Cross and Islington.
The room was reasonably comfortable and the hospitality tray was very much appreciated. I would have rated the hotel much higher if we had been able to use the TV in our room. We had walked all day and were looking forward to a rest watching the Commonwealth Games on BBC1 but there was no signal. I reported this to the man on the front desk but he was unable to offer any solution. He didn't seem to understand us very well and just kept shrugging his shoulders and smiling. We would not have stayed in this hotel if we had known that we couldn't watch TV. I decided to read instead - the room was rather dark so I tried to switch on my bedside light only to find that it wasn't plugged in and I couldn't find a plug socket. The hair dryer didn't work either but I did obtain a replacement from reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Adequate hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I needed an inexpensive hotel in the area and used the reviews to help me decide. Many if the reviews were encouraging so I booked. The staff were very friendly and their Englush was generally very good. There was no lift to my 3 rd floor single room so this might be an issue for anyone with mobility problems. The room itself was roomy for a single room and appeared to bd clean. My biggest disappointment wS that my shower didn't work so I had to have a strip wash before I headed off to my meeting. The breakfast was adequate with quite limited choice but at £75 a night for a London hotel, I suppose it was ok. Not sure I would rush back even though it has some positives.
2 out of 5
by Debbie from North West Lancashire

Very noisy and needs updating

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Location: It is located on a busy main road, so is very noisy.
The room was not cleaned very well. It had dust on the floor and along the skirting and the doors were cheap, unpainted with a large gap between them and the floor. The room could also do with decorating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely friendly hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Location: was easy to get into central London by tube and hotel provided a full list of attractions that were nearby
Hotel was very nice with clean and spacious rooms, staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast could have been better as advertised continental with selection of pastries, however no pastries were available on day, but was overall quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Finsbury Park

Nice hotel for a short stay

Posted May 31, 2014
We had a lovely experience staying here. Room was lovely, kettle, tea, coffee, bottle of water and a bowl of fruit. Bed was incredibly comfortable and got a lovely nights sleep :) all the staff were very helpful and kind too :) only thing I will say is that the hotel is on a main road, so is very loud when you're getting to sleep etc, however we managed to look past that and did get a lovely nights sleep :) recommend for anyone travelling to London for a short stay :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dirk Van Erps from Brussels

Reasonable priced hotel close to Piccadilly line

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotels in London are known to be too expensive, but the Makedonia was reasonably priced. The hotel is 200m from the Caledonian Road underground station which is one station further North from King's Cross and on a good line to all other major attractions (a major plus). The hotel itself has no elevator, implying that you will have to carry all your luggage up to possibly the 4th floor. It is close to all traffic on Caledonian Road and as the isolation of the windows is suboptimal, you will hear everything. The 'entertainment' in the area is limited to kebabs and some pubs without real ale. These are the only minus points. On the positive side i want to mention the friendly staff, the complementary fruit and coffee/tea facilities on your room, the nice new fluffy towels, the good decent breakfast (exactly as described on the website). I would go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted May 16, 2014
Cons: Triple glazing as traffic noise can be a hindrance.
Location: It's handy for the underground & overground,so close enough to Central London.
The staff are very friendly & helpful,the only downside was there is no lift & the wi fi wasn't working.Apart from that we would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissatisfied.

Posted May 14, 2014
It will be good if the rooms were neat. Not happy at all. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pm from wv

Ok for the price

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Big room, ok breakfast, lousy CRM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by trish from Leeds

good location for us

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Plenty of tea/coffee etc provided in the room , and fresh fruit. Pleasant dining room for simple but good quality breakfast.
Location: We chose it because it was close to The Garage venue for a music gig, and also not too far from Kings Cross
As a disabled person this hotel is not ideal because of the steps and no lift but for value for money and a good comfortable night's sleep it suited us well. If we have cause to visit the area again we will certainly return, and request a room on the first floor.