Ratings based on 2,052 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Exactly what we had hoped for!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location. The hotel is close to a Picadilly Line tube stop, so it is easy for us to get our luggage back and forth from Heathrow.
Cons: It would be nice to have wash cloths, but doing without seems to be a European thing. I must remember to pack them..
Location: It's relatively close to the theater district and to the large Foyle's and Waterstone's bookstores, which are of special interest to us. .
We were extending in London for 4 days to see West End shows. We had stayed here once before, several years ago. The room we had at that time was really tiny, so we have stayed elsewhere on 2 more recent occasions. This time, the room was perfectly sized and located for our needs. Everything was spotless and was carefully cleaned daily. The double bed was comfortable, the towels were large and thirsty. Yes, the sink is small, but that has been our prior experience in other European hotels. Our room overlooked a side street and was very quiet. All staff we met were helpful and polite. The concierge, a pleasant and cheerful individual, got our boarding passes for us while we were out sight-seeing on our last day. We plan to take another 4-day vacation in London next year and will be staying at the Hotel Russell then. As was the case this time, we will book through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Catharines, Ont. Canada

Nice hotel, close to good transportation services.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location and staff. Russell Square tube station offers service to London Heathrow.
Cons: Elevators are quite slow and small. Paint needs refreshing in corridors.
Location: Close to British Museum, Oxford & Regent Streets & a 5-minute taxi ride to Euston, St Pancras & Kings Cross Railway Stations.
Check-in was handled quickly and efficiently by friendly staff. Room was clean, albeit small, with fresh linens and good bathroom services. My wake-up call came on time and was followed by a second call to ensure that all was well, which was appreciated. Check-out handled well, a taxi ordered and my luggage carried out for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ampthill

Quaint and spacious - would stay again

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Our experience of London hotels hasn't been good. Hotel Russell is an exception. Plenty of character, a nice decent size superior room with unexpected views and well - situated for pottering in London. We were pleasantly surprised that the area is relatively quiet at night. Ate and breakfasted out so can't commet on the food. Say hello to the bronze dragon 'Lucky George' on Floor 2.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jerusalem

Wonderful hotel near everything

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: Doormen / concierges need to know more about the immediate area.
Location: Close to British Museum, public transport, cinema
The Hotel Russell is really beautiful. More importantly, it is right opposite Russell Square, a hop, skip and a jump from Bloomsbury, from an underground station, from a shopping center with several coffee shops, a large supermarket, shops, and a cinema, from a Pret a Manger, from an all-night supermarket, from the British Museum, and much more. It's walking distance to the West End. There was an initial muddle when we arrived, our room had been given away, but we got an upgrade (perhaps in order to entice us to ask for it for the entire stay?). The room was spacious, clean, perfectly adequate.There is no French or other European TV so the news tended to be local only, except for international Al Jazeera. The elevators are tiny - the only way the maximum 8 people could get in would be 4 women in the first trimester of pregnancy.The staff members were helpful, especially the reception staff. The doormen-concierges were polite but not all that acqainted with available transportation, etc. (They were also very interested in their tips.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just misses the mark for a great hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Great location. Elegant, beautiful, historical hotel. Definitely worth it to include the breakfasts. But for a hotel of this caliber it's shocking that 1) they do not include internet wifi as part of the booking; and 2) they give you the option to purchase it but the service is so painfully slow I could not download or upload any files. For vacationers who don't mind being out of email/Internet contact it's fine (though, even on vacation, I prefer being able to web surf to figure out what I want to be doing each day). For business trips, find a better option. I'm sad to write this review because I otherwise love the location and the beautiful building. The staff was very helpful. In this century service is everything. They need to literally get up to speed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great hotel within easy access of Underground

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: I loved the Art Deco foyer!! Stunning!
Cons: The temperature control on the showers was erratic and difficult to modulate.
My husband and I recently spent six days at the Hotel Russell and we were very pleased with our choice. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spacious, and the hotel was within walking distance of Charles Dickens' house, the Sir John Soanes' Museum, and The British Museum. There were a number of really good restaurants close by and, with the Underground just around the corner, it was very easy to get around London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr zentral

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Super zentral! Nettes Personal! Optimale Anbindung! Perfekt
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sweden

Nice on in the outside but room were not so nice.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Our room realy needed some love and care... Windows so dirty that you couldn't see out. They had only washed the windows on the front side. Hotell looks very nice but it's basically only the things you see first that looks good. Paint the room to fresh it up perhaps? Otherwise the staf is very good and it is located near by the Underground.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lyxigt hotell med äldre brittisk stil

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Helt underbart! Otroligt vackert och välskött hotell. Väldigt serviceinriktad personal som hjälpte en med allt man ville. Det ENDA negativa var att vårt rum låg på baksidan av hotellet med fönster ut mot en pub och på lördagar var där väldigt högljutt och det var ganska lyhört utåt. Rekommenderar dock hotellet starkt.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TOKYO

冷蔵庫がない!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: 地下鉄の駅から近い。スーパーもその前にあります。
Cons: 冷蔵庫をつけることと 玄関の階段を使わないでスーツケースを楽に運べる方法を考えること。
Location: 大英博物館にも近いし 環境もいいです。
キャビネットを開けたら 冷蔵庫がありません。何かの間違えかと思ったてフロントで聞いたら 「スーペリアでも冷蔵庫はない。」との事。私は 3月に泊まりましたが 夏だったら 大変です。 地下鉄の駅も近いし スーパーも近いから便利です。しかし 冷蔵庫を撤去した跡があるから 備えられるということ。4星でそこそこの料金を取っているのだから 冷蔵庫は あるべきだと思います。それなら アイスキューブは? そのマシーンもなし。そのうえ 工事中で 私の泊まった部屋は エレベーターから 1周回ります。 事前に注意事項もありませんでした。 また 玄関は階段で重いスーツケースを持っている人にとっては 厳しいです。 もとは高級ホテルだったでしょうが 今はただ古いホテルなのでしょう。 予約する方は しっかり調べてから 予約してください。