Ratings based on 1,914 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Great hotel, disappointing room

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I've stayed at the Russell before and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This time, however, my room seemed a little shabby for a 4-star property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beverley

Great for british museum

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The location. The bath room in the room. The view over the square.
Cons: The room was not ready when we arrived at three. More local information in room.
Location: We walked to the British Museum and the national gallery. There were a lot of restaurants and varied cuisines to choose from nearby.
The location was excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. The downstairs areas of the hotel were grand and the room was clean with plenty of hot water. There were one or two issues to do with this being an older hotel perhaps (heating in room not working, one lift not moving) but we had a great stay and thought it was good value. You can save on transport costs if you stay here..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great Staff. Great Price!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Staff. Installations. Price. Location
Cons: The matress.
Location: British Museum. Underground Tube.
I am from the U.S. so I am used to larger rooms, however, this room - while small-- was exactly what I needed. In terms of location it is right by the tube and the British Museum. The staff was incredibly friendly. I am very pleased with the customer service and the help from the concierge. The bed was a little uncomfortable but I own a memory-foam mattress so if you don't mind regular mattresses, then you'll be fine. The housekeeping was prompt and they always did a great job. The building has a vintage feel to it and it is environment-friendly. This was a last minute-booking for me and I am glad I found this hotel. It was incredibly affordable and convenient. I would definitely stay there again as I very much appreciated the staff's friendliness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Partenstein

Hotel im klassischen englischen Stil

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Der Baustil und das Frühstücksbuffet.
Cons: Nein!
Location: Das Hotel liegt am Russel Square, die Tube ist um die Ecke. Zur Oxford Street sind es 10 Minuten zu Fuß, Covent Garden ähnlich.
Wir waren auf einem Kurztrip (24 Stunden) in London. Hauptsächlich zum Shoppen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

British comfort !

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: L'architecture intérieure
Location: Calme. Station de métro à proximité
Très bon accueil ! Chambre agréable (single). Un bémol : la chambre donnait sur la cour intérieure avec bruit de clilm'. Mais, c'était très supportable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Confort à l'anglaise

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Le confort général, la wifi entièrement gratuite, le nécessaire mis à disposition dans les chambres pour prendre le thé ou le café.
Cons: Les fenêtres mériteraient un double vitrage
De passage à Londres j'ai eu l'occasion de tester cet hôtel. Particulièrement bien situé (proche de la gare St-Pancras, du métro et des centres d'intérêts), facile d'accès, le bâtiment est impressionnant par son architecture. A l'intérieur le décor l'est tout autant. Les chambres simples sont de bonnes dimensions et correspondent à ce que l'on attend du confort à l'anglaise : moquette épaisse, mobilier, literie, ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

London weekend

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: All round very good.
Cons: Breakfast should be included in the cost, it is too expensive.
Nice clean hotel, walking distance of west end, staff very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WM

Business trip

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Lime scale in shower Tv not working Shower didn't drain Tap water smelt like rotting egg Not all lights in room were not working Glad it was only one night
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location. Basic room. Avoid inner courtyard

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed, great towels and sheets, good shower Helpful staff Location Breakfast
Cons: Felt a bit tired around the edges Sound-proofing of rooms!
Location: Central London
I booked a single room, chose not to upgrade when the inevitable email came, as my client was paying. The room seemed nice enough (fairly standard business hotel stuff) but then I realised there was an amazing racket coming not from the aircon in the room but from some kind of industrial fan outside. I phoned to ask if there was another room and they had clearly heard this complaint before - moved me immediately to the 2nd floor from the 6th and although the room was only a little quieter the head of the bed was away from the window. Hilariously, the aircon unit made the most AMAZING banging noise as it came on when the thermostat triggered it, so I just turned it off overnight. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, breakfast was nicer than most buffets (great sausages) and they brought me espresso instead of stewed coffee, which is great. It was a good price but I wish I had requested an upgrade and/or booked a room which didn't face the inner courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom petach tikva israel

great place when visiting london

Posted Feb 10, 2015
great hotel very good location: close to the tube station and buses around near the british museum and short walk to many other places hotel staff- helpful old and beatiful