Ratings based on 1,173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great hotel to begin our stay in London. Central

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Great location. Elegant yet comfortable
Very comfortable yet elegant facility. enjoyed our stay. Beautiful building. Lounge service a little slow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, UK

Short stay in London

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Chose to stay at this hotel based on location and proximity to where we needed to be. Being very central, just off covent garden, appealed and we found the hotel with relative ease from Euston. When we arrived, staff were friendly and very accommodating, the building itself is stunning. Our room was a standard double, spacious enough for a single nights stay, facilities are good. The bathroom was clean, sink a little small, clean bed linen and very comfy pillows! The only downside for me was the single glazing, leading to audible road noise, although this is to be expected in a building of it's age. Never the less, pleasant stay in a beautiful city! Would recommend and likely to stay at Hotel Russell in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Charming hotel in the middle of London

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: How beautiful it was. They also had blackout curtains in the rooms so you could sleep in if you wanted to.
Cons: The internet prices for sure.
Location: Right beside a tube station. Brunswick centre was nearby so one could buy snacks, clothes, and dinner there as well. British Museum as well.
It was a beautiful hotel from the outside and as a last minute reservation, relatively affordable. The room itself was great and the bathroom had a full tub. It was all very clean as well. The bed was on wheels for some reason and I would end up pushing it around every time I sat down but that was a minor problem. High speed internet costs 15 pounds a day which was extravagantly expensive but there are lots of free wifi spots (coffee shops, restaurants, etc.) nearby. You can also get one hour of free internet every four hours. It's a little slower but if you're in a bind it works well. It was also per device so between my laptop, my iPad, and my iPhone, it was three free hours every four! The concierge was wonderfully helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

overnight stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: couple more milk cartons jn room
It was clean, comfortable and in a good location. Too busy to write more in this section
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sopot, Poland

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Good location
Good location above all, small but pleasing room, Bloomsbury neighborhood, nearby British musem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is not as good as before.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: I don't like this hotel anymore.
I stayed at this hotel many times, but I'm unsatisfied with their service and facility in my recent stays. There was a huge noise from some party in the hotel, and it was uncomfortable. Card keys often had problems, and the receptionist never answered my call from the room. I used to like this hotel, but will not stay at this hotel ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England

Great Hotel, Good Location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We only stayed here for 1 night in a standard double room, which was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Its a large hotel and was very busy at breakfast time and felt a bit like a canteen, but the food & service was very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand building but tatty room and v v expensive

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great staff and a nice old building but room had peeling paint and for 159gbp for a single room I expected a lot more bang for my buck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Convenient charming hotel in Central London

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location and the friendly staff.
Cons: Little more clarity about whether breakfast was included in pre-booking but that was minor
Location: British Museum, Bloomsbury, short tube ride to theatreland, Piccadilly Circus, Oxford street shopping
I've travelled to London a number of times and have stayed at many hotels. My usual go-to place in London got too expensive for me, so I switched to Hotel Russell based on other's reviews of the place. Thanks previous reviewers! I got a great experience from following your recommendations, so I hope you will follow mine. First, location. Very convenient; 5 minutes walk from the British Museum and Bloomsbury and from Russell Square underground stop. Remember that you are in an urban environment; some street noise is to be expected but the room were fairly soundproofed and very, very comfortable. And the room itself was very clean and although not extremely large (I had a single twin) had everything you needed, including an electric kettle with coffee and tea making supplies provided. Toiletries provided in the bathroom but no hair dryer. The breakfast in the onsite restaurant was good; the food was tasty and non-greasy (trust me, sometimes that is not the case in a lot of British B&Bs), and there were choices for all sorts of different diets, including good vegetarian options. Coffee was *okay* but I am a coffee snob from Seattle so you could expect that sort of rating from me. Tea was fabulous, as you might expect from an English hotel. All in all, I have to say that I've found my new go-to hotel in central London. I would stay here again without hesitation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Faded Glory

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The Hotel Russell was clearly an incredible Hotel in its day. However the years have taken a toll on this once beautiful Hotel. What this property needs is someone with a large bankroll to being it back to its former glory. The bones are there: beautiful exterior architecture, imposing Lobby and Restaurant, tons ( literally ) of marble,crystal chandeliers, wood-work etc. But it's no 4 star Hotel. Our room, although spacious for European standards, was soiled (literally). Dirty carpets ( I wouldn't walk on it with bare feet), chipped and worn furniture, windows rotted through and the smallest shower I've ever seen that came with mold. But then there was a beautiful large claw-foot tub in the spacious bathroom. I don't get it?! We stayed for 5 days of which the TV only worked for 1. We were given free WiFi to compensate, however that was hit and miss. The staff was very friendly, and efficient,especially the Restaurant Manager who gave us a history lesson on the Hotel and it's Architect, famous for his work on the Titanic. It is very conveniently located, with the Tube right around the corner. Room rates were good for the central location, but the condition of the room obviously was reflected in the rates. This Hotel could easily be held in a 5 Star boutique chain like Relais et Chateau or the like, it just needs £50 million pounds in renovations to get it there.