Ratings based on 1,252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location, good price for London

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: location, price
stayed many times, always good experience but size and quality of rooms varies widely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai and London

Mid end high price hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Room and bed and no hassle
Cons: Better insulation. It was a little noisy.
Location: Near British Museum and SOAS and UCL. 30 minute march to Oxford Circus and 40 to the West end.
This hotel is good for the British Museum and Bloomsbury. The architecture is nice and the room was a good size and comfortable. Russell square is ideal for those arriving at heathrow as it is on the Piccadilly line direct from the airport in about 50 minutes and cheaper than the heathrow express. Free wifi for only an hour is just not satisfactory. Come on hotels this is now an accepted minimum. Its like turning the water off after 10 at night!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Limerick, Ireland

Over the top!! Never again...

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: The rooms, staff were mostly trainees and drop the price
Location: Well its in good area but tbh you could stay closer to Leicester square for the same price.
So i stayed here for 2 nights. Its cost €200 and can i say ive stayed in nicer hotels for a fraction of the price. Nice building yes but inside is mediocre. Room had cracks in the wall and holes in the carpet! In my opinion is a long way away from 4 star. Be an ok 3 star!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Classy hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Service, decor
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ideal location for central London sights. Close to Bloomsbury, British Museum, Leicester Square etc
One of the nicest old hotels in the Euston area. Pleasant staff, nice rooms, great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Not representative of a four star hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Breakfast (£12 if you pay the night before). Location.
Cons: Everything - décor, staffing - long queues to check in, cleanliness, beds, double glazing.
Location: Handy for central London and Euston/Kings X
Reception smelled overwhelmingly of stale cooking oil. Doors and surfaces on way in and in reception were grubby, also the lifts. Room was a single which I did not expect in a four star hotel. Bathroom was nice but hot water control very erratic. Good breakfast. Good location. I asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking the atrium which hummed continuously from air con units or something. There was a wedding on which was extremely loud although it did get quieter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Faded glory

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Air conditioning broken but two fans provided instead. Electrically heated bathroom towel rail lacked controls and overheated entire suite. I could open windows to control heat but only at the expense of noise on some of London's busiest roads
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel & staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014
hotel & staff were very pleasing and helpful on all fronts room was good , but only down side ,was that the bed was next to a wall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diss

Classy old hotel with a touch of old world glamour

Posted Sep 1, 2014
A good 4star hotel in a great location. The staff were very welcoming and concierge desk was really handy for booking tickets. Nice refurbished rooms. My only minor criticism would be that the bar is a bit small for such a large hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Would not go again

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Locality was convenient
Our room was so hot , we could not adjust the air conditioning. We rang the staff who said straight away offered to give us a different room. However this room was much smaller, inferior in terms of shower facilities , wardrobe space and the mattress was very uncomfortable. We complained about this but the staff very quickly said the hotel was full. I would not use this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice on the outside

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to city centre and local attractions.
Cons: Refurbish the rooms.
Façade very grand but the small double room I had was dingy with a frosted window on to an inside courtyard. Photos on the website obviously of upgraded rooms. Reception staff were OK but wanted me to pay for 2 breakfasts when I only ate one! Breakfast quality was fine for the discount price that was offered if you pay before midnight. Décor on the whole dated.