Ratings based on 1,240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diss

Classy old hotel with a touch of old world glamour

Posted Sep 1, 2014
A good 4star hotel in a great location. The staff were very welcoming and concierge desk was really handy for booking tickets. Nice refurbished rooms. My only minor criticism would be that the bar is a bit small for such a large hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Would not go again

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Locality was convenient
Our room was so hot , we could not adjust the air conditioning. We rang the staff who said straight away offered to give us a different room. However this room was much smaller, inferior in terms of shower facilities , wardrobe space and the mattress was very uncomfortable. We complained about this but the staff very quickly said the hotel was full. I would not use this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice on the outside

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Close to city centre and local attractions.
Cons: Refurbish the rooms.
Façade very grand but the small double room I had was dingy with a frosted window on to an inside courtyard. Photos on the website obviously of upgraded rooms. Reception staff were OK but wanted me to pay for 2 breakfasts when I only ate one! Breakfast quality was fine for the discount price that was offered if you pay before midnight. Décor on the whole dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
It is a majestic hotel with a perfect location in London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

The hotel staff very friendly and accommodating

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Efficient staff. Very comfortable room and the bed was the best I had slept in. The temp in the room could be changed and that was very good
Cons: I think before clients go to the room, it should be checked and then the hairs could have been removed
Location: Bloomsbury has many lovely squares, and we could walk to the theatre as it does not take very long. The British Museum is close by as well.
The hotel very pleasant in a convenient area for us. we arrived at the hotel at 11pm after the theatre and that caused no problem. it was good to have a bath and the shower very efficient. One thing, the basin was cracked and there were hairs in the bath. overall a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham. uk

Great hotel, ideal location for the attractions

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Excellent amenities within the hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, food excellent even though we only had the breakfast. Would definitely stop again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean, Comfortable and Central

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, central, convenient, and reasonably priced.
Cons: Better lighting. My room on second floor at front was rather dark and lots of traffic noise.
Location: Great for Russell Square tube and Euston/Kings Cross Station, also for British Museum, Holborn and shops and restaurants nearby.
A return visit to the Hotel Russell for business. I really like the fact that the hotel is clean, comfortably, reasonably priced and ideally located for central London. They always make lone female travellers feel safe and I would recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SA1

Disappointing Evening

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent, room was excellent, restaurant excellent
Cons: The Receptionists need more training in Customer Relations
Location: Close to St.Pancras and Euston Stations, lots of restaurants in the area
My train was late arriving at St.Pancras and I did not arrive until 9.10pm. The Receptionist advised that the Restaurant would be closing at 9.30 and I needed an evening meal. I began the check-in process, but the Receptionist suddenly began talking to the young womalthougan immediately behind me about changing her room, and then to ignored me. I waited and waited, but time was passing and I needed to order an evening meal before 9.30. After 15 minutes I left Reception, I still had not checked in, was uncertain if I had a room for the night (although it had been prebooked through Expedia) but I thought it best to make sure I had time to book an evening meal. When I returned to Reception, the Receptionist was still talking to the young lady about changing her room. I am 72 years of age, partially sighted and felt unwelcome at this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Hot

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The hotel was okay itself. BUT the rooms air conditioning was not very good. It was hot, very hot in our room even with the windows open. There were fans in the closet which helped somewhat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good for price

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location, quality for price.
Cons: Mattress wasn't the best, but again get what you pay for. Forgot my wake up call.
Location: Excellent location that really doesn't need further recommendations. It is in a great spot.
The location and exterior of the building is excellent. Right next to a tube stop in a good location with much to do in nearby area. Hotel staff was very helpful, only complaint was that they forgot my wake up call, luckily I had my alarm set. Room was clean, and decently nice. Not going to wow you by any means but worth what you pay for in quality. Bathroom was in good condition and everything worked well. I would definitely stay here again for the same rate.