Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

First Time Stay

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Room size too small, no armchair to sit in, and a mirror in bathroom.
I called in early afternoon the day I was due to check in to confirm. No answer to phone then, though it was when I called later about 5:00. When I got there (about 5 minutes walk from the tube station) the door had a note saying if no answer to ring a mobile number. Not so good for everyone maybe. I got taken up to my room which was quite small for my liking to find the unattached bathroom was going to be shared. I said I wouldn't have booked the room if I was going to be given a shared bathroom. He (the only one? the Owner?) said it would have been mentioned on the advert. I didn't see it I stressed and if I had I wouldn't have booked it. He managed to give me another room, which was also on the small side, but with an attached bathroom. This room came with a shower but no bath and no soaps etc for when showering, and no mirror at all in the bathroom. Room had a poxy chair in one corner of the room, the only place it could have been situated. It had a TV ... but I hope everyone has good eyesight to read the remote control. The night before while having the room issue, I’m taken into the kitchen diner where breakfast would be served to find the Cat all over the table. I’m sure it would have been cleaned, but … Breakfast I was told would be served from 7:00 but I said that would be too late for me as I'll be needing to leave around 6:45. When leaving in morning at 6:45 I see he'd had some breakfast ready but now too late for me to have some.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Ideal B & B, nice area, easy for seeing London

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Room clean & fresh, kettle/coffee/tea - limited amount but we bring some! Not en-suite but the bathroom was next door: other rooms had ensuite anyway.
Cons: Our only criticism: if the front garden were weeded & tidy, psychologically guests would be less critical the moment they enter the property.
Location: Nice area, Kew, and great for getting to Kew Gardens, The National Archives, the Natural History Museum, and Central London via the London underground
For this London trip we wanted to stay a short distance from the London underground, near the District and Circle lines.This B & B is ideal,(5 MINS WALK FROM THE STATION!) good value, and we think some of the reviewers have been harsh with their comments. The owner was quiet but very helpful. There are some really good restaurants quite close to the B & B, in fact we were spoiled for choice. The owner gets his guests discount at a some of them, although we didn't use it. They were not over expensive either. Re car parking, we were lucky and parked on the front of the property. There are normally passes for parking in the road opposite. There is no B and B sign outside, but if guests read directions before travelling finding it is no problem. Communal breakfast is not for everyone but it was ok (whilst we were there other guests were from USA, Canada, UK and there were some interesting conversations.) You can choose your time to go to breakfast, which although not spectacular (no hot food, except toast) was adequate, with choice: cereals, yoghurts, cold meat, cheese, croissants, pains du chocolat, veg sticks, fruit. WE SHALL USE THIS B & B AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A basic B&B

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Close to the train station.
Cons: Improve the level of customer service.
Location: Close to the train station.
The owner didn't seem very friendly and was quite abrupt showing me to the room. There was only two car parking spaces which I would suggest you pre-book if you want to use them. Breakfast was very basic. (cereal, cold meats, cheese and fruits, including some which you wouldn't want to eat for breakfast!) The room was clean and tidy and looked like it had recently been updated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwich, Norfolk

Handy for Kew

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast - excellent choice/range, but guest has no input.
Location: Short walk to Kew Gardens, Kew underground station and Kew Pier.
Very warm welcome, very helpful regarding parking, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Guests seem to inconvenience the proprietors!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Good location to Kew & Richmond
Cons: Putting up a sign outside. Fix the communal bathroom door lock.Be up front about parking & bathrooms. Be polite and courteous to guests on arrival.
Location: The hotel is on a flight path for Heathrow, so if you like planes then you're in luck. Richmond Park is lovely, and so are walks along the river.
In summary, I wish I'd read more reviews before booking into this B&B. Firstly there is no sign outside the building to indicate that you are in the right place. Luckily we looked up the picture on Expedia and found that we were in the right place. The parking is very limited, only 2 spaces for the whole building. We had a space initially but were requested to move the car to the residential street opposite to make the space available for another guest. Upon arrival at the B&B we were very much made to feel that we were an inconvenience to the owners, they were pretty short with us and were unwelcoming at best. The room was no en-suite, and although we were advised that the bathroom we could use wasn't shared, this turned out to be untrue and it was in fact shared. The lock on the bathroom door didn't work either, so that made life interesting. Breakfast was limited (cereal and toast), and served in a very crampted kitchen. The people serving were polite though but it was all very awkward. Whilst the location is good for Richmond and Kew, be advised that you are right on the Heathrow flight path so there is a lot of noise from 5am to 11pm. Also there is a train line within 20 metres of the property so that generates a lot of noise too. Whilst this isn't the fault of the owners, the fact that the place was so unwelcoming generally means I would never go back here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Kew

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Owner/ manager obliging, but seemed distant
Cons: Breakfast on the first day was rather scanty. It was Improved the next day. Information could be posted in rooms concerning timings.
Location: It is well located. The tube is within walking distance. The Kew gardens are nearby. There are a number of restaurants nearby. The area is quiet.
Mix up about rooms. Room not ready Very uncomfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Excellent location, Kew Gardens has a real village feel, so convenient to a Tube station, parking not a hassle for a location so close to city. But..... I would have thought a Bathmat was standard ! Bathroom clostrophobic...no window and no fan. Some rooms couldn't open the window so hot and stuffy for Summertime. Breakfast had little choice...some mornings abit better than others. TV channels and wifi ' hit or miss '.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

B&B close to Kew Gardens

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The room and facilities were clean and tidy. Room was serviced daily.
Cons: Mention clearly when rooms have a shared bathroom. Larger breakfast area with separate tables. Customer care needed!
Location: Good location for Kew Gardens and Underground. Plenty of good restaurants close by.
Beware that not all rooms have an on-suite at this guest house. This wasn't clearly pointed out to me on the website, so pay attention; as a 3 night stay can become frustrating and stressful by the end of the first night. The shared bathroom had trouble locking...had to stand guard for my wife to save any embarrassment. Room was clean but basic. The breakfast area did not sufficiently accommodate the number of paying guests, not a relaxing experience when everyone is crammed in jostling for the butter. I was expecting a full English breakfast which I didn't get...must have I failed to see this on the website. No customer care throughout our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Kew Gardens Treasure

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Close to Kew Gardens and the underground. Wonderful little village feel. Rooms are modern. Geoff is very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but close to Kew

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Close Proximity and free parking nearby
Cons: Overall look of exterior More towels and pillows
Location: Kew gardens less than 5 minute walk away
This b & b could have been so much better with a few improvements. Removal of the skip outside, a sign above the door stating it was a b & b and less of the lopsided bed that was in our room would have helped. On a positive note, close to kew gardens and free residential parking.