Ratings based on 759 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Location and good value

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We did a last minute booking, so we were pleasantly surprised about the comfort and the location of the hotel. Nice large room and very English in the decor. We would recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Excellent hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Well-maintained hotel close to parks, bus stops, underground station. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Wide variety of items on breakfast buffet.
Cons: Put feather beds on mattresses to soften them up a bit.
Location: Major shopping strip Harrods easily reachable by walk or bus. The Swan pub is just down street. One street from Hyde Park and Kensington Park.
Check-in was smooth and staff was very helpful and friendly. Reservations customer service was great (Marley was outstanding). Room was clean, nicely appointed, and large enough for four of us. Hotel is in a great location and having The Swan pub nearby is nice. Breakfast buffet had everything from croissants to cereal, eggs, toast, ham, sausage, beans. Days were surprisingly warm but the room had A/C so no problem. I would stay here again on another trip to London. Though Expedia may only list rooms available that hold 3 people, the hotel has rooms available for four (one double bed and two singles).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts Boston

Nice hotel but beware of some rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The location and their staff
Cons: internet room charges and warnings about basement rooms
Location: The hotel is in a nice location: 1) 5min walk to the Bayswater & Queensway subway lines 2) 10mins to Paddington Station 3) 5-10min to Hyde Park
The hotel staff was nice to switch us out of a basement room to another one in the first floor. Their basement rooms are awfully stuffy and just dark (not much natural light if any), what's the point of even putting the window there? it reminded me of one of those cruise bedrooms in the lower levels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value and Service

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good location and nice breakfast.
Cons: The mattresses
A nice hotel close to Hyde Park. A good clean room and wonderful breakfast. My only complaint would be the mattresses which were hard and lumpy, but it wouldn't stop me from recommending it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
In between 2 Tube stations. Convenience stores and restaurants around corner. Breakfast buffet great. Dinning Room decor A-1. Staff very friendly, always smillling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn NY

Great exceptionally courteous and helpful staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Hotel lovely. Upscale feel. Comfortable and really quiet. Great sleep. Yes they should have wifi included. No brainer. Did have trouble as others reported but staff showed me how to correct and it was fine. The staff as stated were exceptional in their courtesy and helpfulness. A bit far from metro but so pretty all round walk was fine. Hyde park 5 mins. BEST Greek restaurant right around corner. Most delicious meal of our entire stay. Would come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Quiet and comfortable. Helpful courteous staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Location: Easy access to to tube stations. A three minute walk to Hyde Park.
A pleasant and quiet stay. Great location. Good staff helpfull staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from west austrlia

All well and good

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Location mainly, but good value for what you get for what we paid.
Cons: It is what it is, no doubt any improvements would come with a price.
Location: Well located to Lancaster Gate Tube and easy walk to Bayswater/Paddington/Notting Hill hubs.
All well and good...no bells and whistles, few frills or thrills. No complaints. Good location for getting out and exploring the heart of London. Staff very helpful, smooth check in and out. Comfortable bar/lobby/lounge. Restaurant looked OK but we did not utilise for breakfast or other meals, so no comment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location. Clean rooms.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cons: Mini bar. Wifi too expensive.
Helpful staff let us check in early at 9am and let us store our bags for free after checkout. Restaurant overpriced but ok food. Small fridge and no glasses for a glass of wine. But nice it be close to the park and room very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorks.

Nice hotel close to Hyde Park.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Very spacious and grand reception. All staff very friendly and helpful at all times.
Cons: A bit frenetic at breakfast. The serving tables could perhaps be more accessible to more people at once.
Location: Very close to Hyde Park, walked very easily through there to V&A, Science Museum etc. Short bus ride to Oxford Street.
Was a bit dubious after reading some reviews but was very pleased with all aspects of our stay. All public areas were spacious and well furnished. The room was a good size by London standards. I went on a site seeing trip with my adult daughter and we felt comfortable coming back there whatever the time. A bit far from the tubes when you had been walking all day, but a good bus service nearby.