Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Falling Short

Posted Nov 6, 2014
I've stayed here 3 times over the last two years. It might be my imagination but its losing its way. The bedrooms are large and well soundproofed from the Gatwick flights which are over the hotel. My room had not seen a vacuum for a while, there was a stain on the relaxing chair, various items left just under the bed (an empty lipsalve, £1 coin etc). The bathroom door had an annoying squeak too. Breakfast is not the most exciting, does what it needs to without going the extra mile. ~normal sliced bread, cheap orange juice The croissants were very tasty however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Convenient for Gatwick airport

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Proximity to airport and countryside setting
Cons: Food and wine list
Does the job, shame the food and wine list aren't a little better.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Nice resort, shame about the managers attitude

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Lots of parking spaces. Good location.
Cons: The attitude of the staff
Location: Ashdown Forest and the Winnie the Pooh trails are excellent - highly recommend
Went for the firework evening having booked a family room with a balcony for the weekend. Turned up, our room was not ready. When it was there were not enough beds and the second room we were given had what looked like the previous incumbents hairs on my daughters bed - yuk. A room for 4 people only had 2 towels, 2 cups..... Firework night was a disaster. Having paid enough for the 2 nights, I then had to pay more for the privilege of entering the hotel 'grounds' for the display (bear in mind I watched it from my hotel balcony) and then each fairground ride had to be paid for too. No notice that each ride cost money and not a single sign to inform hotel guests that they would have to pay. Also, surely where children are running around should the ride operators be smoking cigarettes?? Spoke to reception and the duty manager who rather than apologise and agree, told me I was wrong and made me feel about 1 foot tall by telling me off in the middle of reception in front of other guests. Appalling customer service. A one off - I suggest not by the way the restaurant manager rolled her eyes when she was told as if to say 'he has done it again!!' Good location and COULD be very nice if the staff had a little more training and customer service......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very pleasant hotel, great location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
I would recommend this hotel and the dos centre. Members of staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall great and relaxing weekend away
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance of relative party

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: It's location and appearance.
Cons: Hotel staff friendliness and if the room is booked for a specific number of people enough towels etc in the room.
Location: Longford racecourse and golf
My husband, myself and his sister booked this hotel for convenience to a family party and booked a room for 3. This is a beautiful hotel but does not cater for 3 in a room even though that was offered. There were only two items e.g. Cups, coffee, towels etc and when I asked hotel staff for a third it appeared to be too much trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice setting

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The hotel is in a nice setting with nice restaurant and bar patios overlooking the racecourse. The room was ok but we found the beds very uncomfortable. The staff on the front desk were polite and friendly but the restaurant staff found it very hard to smile -apart from one or two young staff. Our biggest disappointment was the breakfast. Extremely poor presentation and not enough choice. Overall ok but we would return there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shipley

Ideal for the horse racing

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service staff
Location: Racecourse
Nice hotel located next to racecourse,able to watch race from my window. Let down slightly by service staff as no soap in my room and even when reception informed nothing was done, also sugar not replenished after first nights use so was a little disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Family Stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The high quality of the rooms, facilities, breakfast, the welcoming and friendly manner of all staff.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and professional, the room was excellent, we had a fantastic view of the race course and the room provided us with a comfortable, clean and relaxing space after a long journey. The facilities were excellent, we used the gym, swimming pool and steam/sauna rooms, my teenage children really enjoyed them as did we. The breakfast menu was extensive and of a really high quality, the chef taking orders for omelettes was friendly and despite being extremely busy maintained a sense of calm and courtesy at all times. In conclusion, fantastic stay and I would highly recommend this hotel for both families and professionals, I hope to stay again one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LMF

Bit far from the high way; 20 mins for Gatwick air

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pleasant stay; distance from the airport is an issue; hotel itself met my standards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Peter Sabroe Larsen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com