Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleased with this simple hotel.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Really clean and quite a cute place to holiday with my girlfriend. The breakfast was terrific but it did mean getting up early.
1 out of 5
by Debbie from Philadelphia

Hot and noisy

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: staff were nice
Cons: need air conditioning. need to be clear there is no elevator to rooms. Need to fix noise issue.
There is no air conditioning unless you count opening the single window in the room. We had been on a 10 day trip and had lots of heavy luggage. Our room was on 6th floor and there is no elevator. A very long climb with the heavy luggage. Tiny, tiny room. So hot we couldn't breath. Worst issue was the noise. Single pane window kept out no noise - and the hotel is in airport flight pattern. And the walls were so thin that someone walking in the room next to you sounded like it was actually in your room. We got up twice to check closet and bathroom because it sounded so much like a person was 5 feet from us. No wifi or internet and the phone didn't work in the room. Staff were nice but couldn't fix the hotel issues. Needed cab to airport in the morning and we were told we could hail one in front of hotel. After waiting 10 minutes, we walked with all our luggage about 4 blocks to tube station before we could find a cab. We feel the hotel misrepresented themselves and we learned a valuable lesson about trusting the ratings given by others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindsay from US

A little dissapointed

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
So, this was the last stop of our trip. We stayed here for 3 nights. I booked this hotel based on the other reviews. However, we did not have the same experience. The street was extremely busy and noisy. It was easy to get to the underground. We heard EVERYTHING throughout the hotel, not from room to room but, door slamming, walking up and down the stairs, people talking in the hall way. Only pack small luggage, there is no elevator. Breakfast was good for a continental. Staff sort of helpful. Bed was VERY uncomfortable. Overall, very clean, good location. Would not stay at this particular hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KBF from Oslo

Perfect & service-minded hotel close to Victoria

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were coming to London for the Billy Elliot musical and were leaving the next day with the National Express for Bristol. This small and service-minded hotel was perfectly located for those two purposes (Close to Victoria Palace and Victoria Station). The hotel's owner was very service-minded and helpful. We had a room which consisted of two parts, making it a practical family room. Nicely refurbished small bathroom but with a large shower. The room was nice and very clean, and warm at arrival. We liked being in a relatively quiet street, making it possible to open up the windows during the night without to much trafic noise. Breakfast was ok, even if I would have appreciated a real (non-Nescafe) coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L.Reine from Vancouver, WA

Nice hotel, convenient location

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Proximity to tourist sites was good. Hotel very clean & beds comfortable.
Cons: We were on the 4th floor and there is no elevator; was okay for us but an issue for those with physical limitations. No hand towels provided.
Location: It was about a 1/2 hour walk to Westminster Abbey, with Big Ben just on the other side of the Abbey, & London Eye just over the bridge by Big Ben.
Melbourne House Hotel provided a very clean & comfortable 3 night stay. Neighborhood was okay, with numerous restaurants. Hotel within walking distance of Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, London Eye.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Wisconsin

Helpful staff, pleasant building, great location

Posted Jul 13, 2013
2 blocks from the Tube...less than 1 mile from Buckingham Palace, the Westminster Abbey, etc...great location, very helpful staff...rooms typical small European but clean and comfortable.Pretty good breakfast too !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard from UK

Average

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed for 1 night and arrived about 10pm. The guy on reception was friendly enough, but seemed confused about how I was going to pay for the room, and asked to see my credit card despite the hotel having all the relevant details already from Hotels.com. This was a bit irritating as it was late and I just wanted to get to my room. The room was on the 4th floor and there was no lift, so I had to take the stairs with my bags. The room was clean and a good size, with TV and the usual provisions. When I tried to take a shower I couldn't get the water to a decent temperature -- it started off cold and then it was just scalding hot, and wouldn't change no matter how I turned the knob. I called reception and the guy came up and managed after a minute or so to get the shower to a lukewarm temperature, which I made do with, but it was annoying to have to go through all this just to have a shower! The bed was comfortable enough and I slept well. At breakfast there was a selection of cereals, pastries, etc., but no option for a cooked breakfast. The waitress asked if I wanted tea or coffee, but not if I wanted toast, and I had to ask her later so that I could get some. When the toast arrived, it was cold, so obviously wasn't freshly made. Overall, I was rather disappointed with the hotel's amenities and service, especially considering what I had paid. The only really great thing about the hotel is its location, as it is within walking distance of Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
No complaints, basic clean accomodation. We chose it because of Trip Advisor rating and walkable to our early morning meeting. Will certain use it again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, safe, friendly

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff, convenient location
Cons: No lift, small rooms
Location: Easy walk to Pimlico station
Great location, few minutes walk from Pimlico station in well lit and safe-feeling area. Staff are very nice and very helpful. Breakfast was better than you'd expect for a free continental breakfast, again with very helpful staff on hand. Room was fairly small - absolutely fine for one person for a night, but probably too small if you were staying for a week or so and had more luggage. Also, there is no lift - I had a top floor room so it was a bit of a trek up. One of the best showers I've ever used! Even on the top floor, which was unexpected. Wi-fi worked reasonably well. Overall, the hotel's a bit tired looking, but clean, safe, friendly, and great for an overnight stay.