Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best feature is Close to Paddington, London

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Close to the subway station. London was raining the whole week and I barely got wet!
Cons: INTERNET!!! It is inconceivable that hotel managers do not understand how important a good internet connection is!
Location: Right by Paddington. There is not much to see around it! Good only if you are in London for business.
Hotel internet was flaky. I was on a business trip, where a good internet is critical 3 Out of the 4 days that I spent were with awful internet connection. This is unacceptable!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Fe, NM

Room maintenance required immediately

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: It's location for quick access to Heathrow Airport.
Cons: See above complaints stupid!!!
Location: Location was within short walking distances to cafe's, currency exchanges, buses and tube station.
The best thing about Mercure London Paddington is its location for easy access to Heathrow Airport. The undesirable attributes are:- 1. Light above the beds turns on but goes off in 30 seconds. My complaint was ignored. Decided not to report additional problems below:- 2. Cramped accommodation 3. Shaver pug in the bathroom broken 4. The toilet constantly trickles water -annoying waste of natural resource. 5. The shower-head support is loose. It was not possible to adjust its position for correct spray angle for optimum usage causing frustration and again, waste of natural resource.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip off

Posted Oct 11, 2014
I paid over 300$ for a room a size of a single bed and an airplane bathroom/toilet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Next to Paddington
Cons: customer service
Location: next to paddington not much near by
Newly refurbd rooms shame about reception staff and noisy plumbing..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Boutique, Elegant, Charming, Cozy

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The entire staff was extremely nice and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. The wait staff very accommodating. Room was quiet.
Cons: Add washrags to bathroom linen. Americans generally use washrags when bathing.
Location: Nice 20 minute walk through Hyde Park to Buckingham Palace. Many restaurants nearby.
Overall: From the moment we arrived until the minute we left, the hotel staff were helpful, polite, accommodating and pleasant. The room is small but large enough to accommodate two people, each with a large suitcase. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed amenities such as bottled water, tea and coffee maker in room, and a couple of cookies. Bathroom: There was plenty of hot water for showers plus two shelves above the sink to place toiletries. The bathroom is equipped with a good hair dryer, shampoo, bath gel, shower cap and more. The towels are large. The bathroom is small and there is not much room to move around. Robes are provided, although you may have a laugh if they don't quite fit. Location: The best part is how close Paddington Station is. This is a plus because the Heathrow Express to Paddington station (15 minutes) puts you within a half block from the hotel. What a great location! Electronics: Initially could not turn off wall TV. The remote did not work and we could not find the turn off switch on the TV. However, it was fixed the next day. There is free WiFi. No connection problems during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small Room

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Clean and good location.
Cons: Heating in room. Either too hot, or too noisy if ac on.
Location: Central London, so good location fir site seeing.
Good staff and helpful staff, but probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Did the job though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
great location ,but room a bit small. It was chaotic at breakfast as you have your breakfast in Garfunkel's which is open to the public and they did not have enough staff on .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, NZ

Did the job

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience and capable staff.
Cons: Direction of cold air from aircon unit.
Location: Good location. Plenty of fast food and general restaurants nearby. Felt totally safe.
We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was small, but then we expected that when we booked it. Adjacent to Paddington which makes it an ideal place for weary travellers coming off a flight at Heathrow (and making use of the Heathrow Expess rail service).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Please accept a huge thank you from my team and me for your recent review and stay with us. We do hope to see you again should you be visiting again form Australia. Kind regards Malcolm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by janefrom San Francisco

Convenient to airport express!

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay here everytime I'm in London
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Please accept a huge thank you from our team for choosing our Mercure Hotel Paddington and for leaving us a great review. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Malcolm
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KateWfrom cornwall

great hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, nice staff, lovely room, such a surprise find in Paddington, lovely breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Kate Please accept a massive thank you from my team and me for your recent review on our hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards Malcolm