Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip off

Posted Oct 11, 2014
I paid over 300$ for a room a size of a single bed and an airplane bathroom/toilet
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Next to Paddington
Cons: customer service
Location: next to paddington not much near by
Newly refurbd rooms shame about reception staff and noisy plumbing..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Boutique, Elegant, Charming, Cozy

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The entire staff was extremely nice and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. The wait staff very accommodating. Room was quiet.
Cons: Add washrags to bathroom linen. Americans generally use washrags when bathing.
Location: Nice 20 minute walk through Hyde Park to Buckingham Palace. Many restaurants nearby.
Overall: From the moment we arrived until the minute we left, the hotel staff were helpful, polite, accommodating and pleasant. The room is small but large enough to accommodate two people, each with a large suitcase. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed amenities such as bottled water, tea and coffee maker in room, and a couple of cookies. Bathroom: There was plenty of hot water for showers plus two shelves above the sink to place toiletries. The bathroom is equipped with a good hair dryer, shampoo, bath gel, shower cap and more. The towels are large. The bathroom is small and there is not much room to move around. Robes are provided, although you may have a laugh if they don't quite fit. Location: The best part is how close Paddington Station is. This is a plus because the Heathrow Express to Paddington station (15 minutes) puts you within a half block from the hotel. What a great location! Electronics: Initially could not turn off wall TV. The remote did not work and we could not find the turn off switch on the TV. However, it was fixed the next day. There is free WiFi. No connection problems during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small Room

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Clean and good location.
Cons: Heating in room. Either too hot, or too noisy if ac on.
Location: Central London, so good location fir site seeing.
Good staff and helpful staff, but probably the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Did the job though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
great location ,but room a bit small. It was chaotic at breakfast as you have your breakfast in Garfunkel's which is open to the public and they did not have enough staff on .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Did the job

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience and capable staff.
Cons: Direction of cold air from aircon unit.
Location: Good location. Plenty of fast food and general restaurants nearby. Felt totally safe.
We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was small, but then we expected that when we booked it. Adjacent to Paddington which makes it an ideal place for weary travellers coming off a flight at Heathrow (and making use of the Heathrow Expess rail service).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Please accept a huge thank you from my team and me for your recent review and stay with us. We do hope to see you again should you be visiting again form Australia. Kind regards Malcolm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Stop Over in London

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Convenience for Paddington
Cons: Felt like it needed freshening up
Room was very small, I don't think it was the size of room I paid for...certainly didn't look like the photo. Also Bar was one table and four chairs.....again didn't look like the photo. OK for stop over, certainly wouldn't want to holiday there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Phil Please accept a massive thank you from my team and me for your recent review on our hotel. We apologies for the room not being as big as you expected. Should you decide to book with us again please do consider trying our executive room which I know will be more suitable. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards Malcolm
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location, closet sized room

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: locatrion, location , location
Cons: The rooms are the size of a reasonble closet. Not good for people with claustrophobia.
If you are arriving in London from heathrow via the Heathrow Express, this is th eperfect location for a hotel. Exit left Paddington Statopn and teh hotel is right across tghe street. Staff is helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Kate Please accept a massive thank you from my team and me for your recent review on our hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards Malcolm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hans from Linkoping, Sweden

Convenient location

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Covenient location by railway station. A bit noisy from underground trains nearby. Clean and modern oom, a bit small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Hans, Please accept a huge thank you from our team for choosing our Mercure Hotel Paddington and for leaving us a great review. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Malcolm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vanvouver

Excellent location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff were very helpful.
Location: Good neighbourhood, close to underground.
Very convenient location across from Paddington - easy departure to airport in the morning. Smallest room we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in some small ones -but clean, well appointed, comfortable bed, quiet. Short stay of one or two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Malcolm, Hotel Management
Dear Carol Please accept a massive thank you from my team and me for your recent review on our hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards Malcolm