Ratings based on 953 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Fantastic hotel.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Excellently located for ease of sightseeing in Central London area. Only down side was that Gloucester Road underground station is closed at present but only a short walk to South Kessington Station obviously not the hotels fault. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great location close to the tube.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Condition of the room.
Location: The tube station is right across the street and there are many restaurants around the hotel. Three major museums are only a two blocks away.
The Millennium Gloucester Hotel is in a great location with easy access to the tube station which is right across the street. The public areas of the hotel are very nice and look very welcoming. However, the rooms are very dated and need of refurbishment. Overall, a good hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Very nice hotel in Kensington! Close walk to the Gloucester Road underground station. Room was very clean and staff were helpful. Would definitely recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Poor Lighting, Overcharged after checkout

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: It was in a beautiful neighborhood and the lobby was elegant.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: There seemed to be plenty to do - pubs, museums, etc. but we were on the go and other things on our itinerary. Would recommend the location.
The first strange thing about this hotel was that, since we prepaid for our room, the front desk did not require a credit card and instead asked us if we wanted to put down a cash deposit for incidentals. Very strange, and a bit "dodgy" as our British friends commented afterwards. When I realized the next day that neglecting to offer a credit card meant no internet access, I supplied a credit card, but internet was spotty at best. Room lighting was horrible, and a "queen sized" bed was two twin beds pushed together (which continued to roll apart during our entire stay). Upon check out, our total bill should have been a total of $73 for incidentals, but we arrived home to a charge to our card of over $164. Once I contacted the hotel, this was corrected, but too many things went wrong to want to stay in what I thought would be a 5-star hotel again. We also requested a room with a view, which turned out to be a view an apartment building and another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quality hotel in central location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
This is a good hotel with good service. What impressed me most was the quality of our basic twin room. It was relatively spacious, with comfortable beds, quiet air conditioning, and a modern, quality bathroom. The Chinese/Singapore restaurant is pretty good but could be better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big chain hotel, good location next to tube

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, room size
Cons: Housekeeping, breakfast queues, check-in queues,
Location: Close to museums, Harrods, great tube links only 20 yards away, local coffee shops, restaurants, bars.
On checking in we were given keys to a dingy dark and dismal room looking onto the brickwork and kitchen extraction flues. Fair play, after we complained we we given a large light and much better room in the 6th floor, but I can see why some people have complained about the rooms. Generally the hotel was ok but we had BIG issues with housekeeping. First day I broke a glass in the bathroom which took 5 hours to get cleaned up (I offered to do it myself) after 3 phone calls to housekeeping. Second day the room was only half cleaned , the bins were not emptied and tea/coffee not replenished. Third day we got a full room clean ( minus the coffee cup rings on the bedside glass table top) but they left our room door open (ajar) which we discovered arriving back at 10 pm. Again..fair play..after I complained to the duty manager we were sent a complimentary bottle of wine. Basically the hotel seemed very busy(or understaffed) queues for breakfast, long waits a check-in and hit and miss housekeeping..but it is a good location and the second room was a really good size.Moral of the story..be prepared to complain to get what service you would expect from such a high profile chain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice fancy hotel adjacent to the tube station

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This was our second stay at the Millennium Gloucester, and I would certainly stay there again. Beautiful hotel, luxurious with many amenities, and generally magnificent staff. Its proximity to the Gloucester tube station makes it very convenient, even with the Piccadilly line closure currently going on. Expedia should probably mention that somewhere, travelers from Heathrow will find some inconvenience with that. My only minor complaint this time was with check in, I think the lady we got at check in may have been having a bad day or not have been completely trained. When the folks at their loyalty club desk saw my issues, they picked up immediately and got me situated, and I'm not a member. Great experience all around. This is a super hotel I'd expect to pay much more than the rate through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Good hotel, close to museums

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Location: Close for Natural history, Science, and V&A Museums
Overall good hotel, stayed in standard rooms which were clean. Nearby to several places to eat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel room possible

Posted Sep 6, 2014
I'd booked a double standard room and asked for a quiet room near the lift. Furthest room from the lift, people upstairs moving furniture at 1am. Walls seem to be made of paper. The room had one standard lamp at the furthest point from the door. The room was minute, even by English standards, but you had to cross the room in the dark to switch the light on. One bedside lamp only, on the far side of the bed. Carpet with several rather unappealing yellow stains. Decor non existent, sludge curtains, non-matching lamps. Mattress and pillows made of concrete, no spare duvet to add to the very thin original. Catering superb, staff moved me into a bigger room after a totally sleepless night. Club lounge is a room full of tables and chairs. Underwhelmed, to say the least!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne,Australia

Very handy

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Top spot for our sightseeing stay.very close to the tube, walking distance to major museums , parks etc.