Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom British

Notting Hill

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Poor value. Room was tiny. Never again.
Good location. Clean. Miserable gloomy little room, drab dreary and we only slept there. Could not face even going to the basement for breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

Adequate family hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The location, free wifi (which was very quick in our room next door to reception) and the fact that we could get a family room for all of 5 of us.
Cons: Breakfast room too small and massively hot - had to pay for breakfast out both days. Very pricey due to central London location
Location: Midway between Notting Hill Gate and Queensway tube stations, good public parking nearby. Short walk to Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens
This review is inevitably coloured by the fact that hotels in London generally are so expensive. Ultimately The Notting Hill Gate Hotel is a perfectly OK little B&B style hotel. It's nothing fancy, but it does the job - it's just that due to it's prime location, it is ridiculously expensive. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody, but just as importantly, I wouldn't say "you must NOT stay there" either. If this hotel is in the right location for you, and it is the best your budget will stretch to (as it was for me) then go for it, it will be fine. But if you can stand to be further out from the centre, or your budget will stretch a little further, then it might just pay off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for carnival

Posted Sep 7, 2014
My single room was tiny, must have been a cupboard in a previous life.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

The pillows were cheap and thin, bed old.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: Replace carpet in entrance hall, brighten dingy breakfast room
Location: Ideal for buses.
It wasn't dirty but not a very pleasant entrance. The staff were friendly and we skipped breakfast as the impression of the room was depressing and it appeared to be cheap i.e . cornflakes in a press button dispenser, tinned fruit salad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Massively overpriced for what you get, good location though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Insecure

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Staff is friendly
Cons: room condition
Location: near Notting Hill Gate Tube
Was staying at a basement room. When we first step in and draw the curtain, was amazed that the window was not closed. Even when we closed it, it seems that it can be easily break it from the back alley (Street level).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice hotel close to Kensington Palace

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Great location and nice views. Easy to get to anywhere in London from here.
Cons: After a long day exploring London, it was difficult climbing the long flights of stairs to our room on the top floor. Would be nice to have a lift.
Location: Bayswater has excellent restaurants, Notting Hill and Portobello Road around the corner, Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens across the street.
Clean hotel in an excellent location. Close to Portobello Market, Hyde Park, Bayswater and Kensington Palace and Gardens as well as the tube station. Loved the views from the room at the top of the building. Be aware that there is no elevator. Still we loved our trip and it was a great value for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Not the place to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Ventilation Breakfast poor. Milk and sugar jugs sat on top the toaster so they could heat up?? and they did. Room cramped.
Location: Hyde Park
Had to produce my passport on booking in???? This was not required anywhere else in England or Scotland. Our room was like an oven. No air! Only had 2 skylight windows to let air in. This allowed grit, dirt, leaves etc to fall over the bed below when the skylight windows were opened. You could fit the shower cubicle inside a telephone booth. Virtually no Parking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Haykadfrom Sunderland

Great location but tiny rooms

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was incredibly small even for one bedroom room where one step can only be made before hitting the bed . The staff were courteous although the porter would not allow me to check my room when I mislaid a ticket . Also a hold fee was taken when room was booked online without my knowledge so I had to pay again when arriving . However the location was excellent due to being nestled between Kensington Palace Gardens and Holland Park .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by moonfrom UK

My stay summary

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Improved plumbing.
Location: Kensington Palace. Car park close reasonable for stay.
Hotel in great location. In the middle of refurbishment. Sink blocked and with small sink the tap was too powerful and sprayed. Unfortunately room had no windows - only skylight.