Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: All the staff were excellent
Location: Close to Borough market the Shard and we walked to Spitalfields
We booked a triple room thinking we would have a room with 3 beds as shown in the hotel photos. We in fact had a double room with a put up bed so this was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Great hotel, bad toilets

Posted Nov 11, 2014
When you visit a foreign country, you are faced with the task of dealing with certain things you might be unaccustomed to dealing with. This was true with the toilets at Novotel. Apparently there is a trick I didn't master. The maintenance guy showed me but I still didn't get it. The other thing is the real with leaving your room key in a slot to keep lights on. I get it that this is to minimize electricity usage. Outside of that the hotel is great. The location to the tube is marvelous. It is literally a 2 minute walk to Southwark station and a 5 min walk to the Southwark bridge. I hate to nit pick issues but my other complaints that the drinks at the bar were weak. You pay hotel bar prices so I expect at least a buzz. The buffet is pricey but certainly not worth the value. The other issue is that they took two twin beds, pushed them together and call it a Queen size instead of just having a queen size mattress. At night, I could feel the split in the middle of the bed. The pool area is really nice but they have what appears to be a whirlpool connected to the pool. Don't expect it to get hot though. The sauna and gym area are nice. The main plus of this hotel is location to transportation. Rooms are nice, food and bar are so so and the toilets should be easier to flush. Overall, I like the hotel but these issues were more annoying than anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel handy for Southwark tube

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Cons: The footway between hotel and tube station is poor condition. The hotel was just about perfect.
Location: Great location for Central London attractions. Short walk to tube.
Really friendly staff, excellent facilities and well designed, well furnished and really clean and comfortable rooms. Decent restaurant menu & good bar meal menu. Breakfast was huge but a wee bit expensive. Short walk to tube was spoilt a bit by poor condition of footway, something the council should sort out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jackson, NJ

First time in London

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
I was in London for the first time and was very concerned about hotel location and comfortability. Shopping on Expidia gave me a very good rate for Novotel at Blackfrairs. The location is great: very close to Malevich and Tote Museums and from any tourist attractions located in the City of London. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was beyond my expectations. Will stay there again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Clean and new

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was amazing! Very comfy & soft (but firm!)
Cons: Resturant was a bit pricey for the food (particularly breakfast)
Location: Very close to everything - walking distance to London Eye, Big Ben, & Conventry Gardens. Other direction is great for museums & London Tower etc
Stayed for 3 nights at this motel in late September 2014 after finding a good deal on Expedia. Motel is very new, clean and bright with very friendly staff. My credit card was debited twice (admin mistake) and was rectified as soon as it came to mine and their attention.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Close to public transport links. Washing was extortion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

Lovely hotel - top notch

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Lovely hotel - very good swimming pool with music playing under the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ricky.Herts

all good apart from swimming pool.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Hotel was clean, great modern room & friendly staff.
Cons: The temp of the pool.
Location: Close to all attractions.( the oxo tower bar was good for a view over London but pricey),the young Vic bar was great for cheaper drinks.
The hotel was great apart from the swimming pool/Jacuzzi was quiet cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anniefrom Derbyshire

super swimming pool

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Three generations all thought the hotel was impressive. Room was plenty big enough and the bathroom caused amusement- large window from the bathroom into the bedroom appears to be clear until you press the switch and it goes opaque. The teenager went from panicked to delighted. We thought the food, especially breakfast rather expensive so we went out . Pool and gym great and we used it every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great time in london

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: the london eye and st pauls
the hotel was great, the staff was very helpful, the hotel was in a great location close to a lot of attractions and the tube/underground