Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jay from UK

Basic and simple, nothing fancy.

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Points to take in to consideration: 1) If you want to use an Iron, you have to do it in the front room of the hotel, if people are sat in there, it doesn't matter. 2) Towels are only changed every 3 days; 3) Breakfast is very basic; Location wise, it's really good as it's a few minutes from Paddington Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Close to restaurant
Cons: Wi fi poor connection
The hotel was lovely very close to Marble Arch area which was great for getting a double decker tour bus connection or to use underground. Lots of good restaurants with walking distance. Room were a good size for our luggage and us. Only thing didn't like was had to purchase wi fi and its didn't work half the time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stephanie

Sisters weekend

Posted Feb 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, close to rail station...small rooms, but not unusual for England....minimal breakfast items, felt very safe in the hotel and the surrounding area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from Naples, Florida

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 26, 2012
Great location friendly staff there was a m&s just a couple of blocks a way and very close to paddington station, also good restaurants close by. Stayed with my daughter for 5 nights had a great time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Good to go.

Posted Dec 20, 2012
First off people should understand that unless you are shelling out several hundreds of dollars, you're not going to get a really nice hotel room in London. The rooms in general are small and somewhat tired. And in any case, you don't really go to London to hang out in the room. Or at least I don't. I was in town for a 3-day shopping marathon/layover. So Orchard Hotel is totally adequate. The room was clean, and bigger than rooms I've had at the Strand Palace and other hotels, and the amenities were more current. There was a problem with the window so there was a draft but I didn't have a problem with that (I generally keep a window cracked open when I'm not paying the heating bill) although I imagine many people would. The only real drawback for me was that the window also let in a lot of street noise. Staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with, some more so than others. Breakfast is basic (toast, cereal, boiled eggs). The location is very good. It's easily walkable from Paddington (with all the nice drop curbs to ease the arduous task of dragging your rolling suitcase) and at the end of a row of similar hotels. There are restaurants and (basic) shops on London Street. The area has a nice neighborhood-y feel to it, which is remarkable given that it's so close to a major train station. I would definitely consider staying here (or on Sussex Gardens) again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valerie from Devon, UK

Great little London Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Cleanliness,location and staff
Cons: breakfasts finish a little too early
Location: Fantastic location for central London, hyde Park, Oxford Street and Paddington
We've just returned home from a very comfortable 4 nights stay at the Orchard Hotel. It's a small hotel with a homely feel. The reception staff were very helpfull and the Hotel runs very smoothly. It's so near to Paddington station and Oxford Street, we couldn't beleive how easy it was to walk from the station to the Hotel. The Continental breakfast was sufficient and the dining room run very efficiently. The decor is in first class condition and the hotel is very clean. Our room was overlooking the road but the Hotel is situated well in from the road so there wasn't any disterbance from traffic. We will deffinately return to this great little Hotel when we next visit London. Prices very reasonable for a central Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Orchard Hotel: tiny, clean, renovated & sufficient

Posted Dec 11, 2012
TIny but clean rooms. Very odd breakfast (tolerable but definitely not English breakfast), no wifi in rooms but down in lobby, new elevator, new bathroom (albeit quite narrow and tight), pillows were hard, clean sheets, beds made daily, very friendly and hard working staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bruce from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent value for business travellers

Posted Nov 30, 2012
This was my first time at the Orchard Hotel but certainly not my first time in this type of London hotel: converted residential turned into a rabbit warren of rooms. I stayed in two different rooms (my fault because of a mix-up in reservations): #205 (surprisingly on the second floor) faced the street and was a bit two small for its two single beds; #507 (not surprisingly, given how eccentric these places are, was in the basement) was ultra quiet, facing onto a tiny square and both the room and bathroom were large. Both rooms were clean, with flat screen TV and a good choice of channels. The bathrooms were clean and modern...but aside from a single piece of soap, bare of things you might normally expect, like shampoo. The rooms were, I believe, representative of the general state of the hotel: refurbished in the first half of 2012 and still looking clean and bright. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. There is a breakfast available for a price but I did not partake. There is no bar or dining room. No summer air-conditioning. WiFi available for 5 pounds a day. The hotel is an easy walk from Paddington Station (home of the Heathrow Express) and to Edgeware Road, home of a vibrant Lebanese/Arab community. The major food chains are there (Tesco and, closest to the hotel, Waitrose). Overall: excellent "value for money" for business travellers and others that just want a place to sleep as they do London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wesley from Montreal, QC, Canada

Pleasant stay at Orchard Hotel.

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Pros: Good breakfast to look forward to in the morning.
Cons: Tight corridors.
Location: Reasonably quite area within walking distance from Paddington Underground station.
Well worth the money. Elevator lift was a pleasant bonus. Hotel presented in modern decor though tight corridors for a big fellow. Good breakfast to start the day. Friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2012 on Hotels.com