Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Evelyn from London

Don't put yourself through it

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Apart from Alex who was in the reception when we got there the staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Full breakfast if you like cerial, toast, sliced cheese, sliced ham, coffee and orange that's all that is available. Bed was ready to fall apart we were scared to move in case it collapsed and the mattress you could feel every spring. That's not the most annoying thing, the constant hummmmmmmm hummmmmmm hummmm like a generator switching on and of every couple of minuets, when I complained I got told, "Nobody has ever complained about that room before" well sorry but they must have been really nice and didn't want to say or hard of hearing. It was only when I insisted they said they would get maintanince to look. Low and behold the noise was still there and no explanation or offer to move rooms. Anneversery ruined thanks a lot Penbury NOT.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel very close to a transport into London

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Great hotel close to numerous modes of transport in and out of Central London. Many shops nearby and beautiful Finsbury Park right across the road. Breakfast nothing fancy but all you need to start the day. My room was a bit small and bathroom tiny but fine for a short visit. Definitely value for money. Reception staff very lovely and helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by regular from wales

Basic clean good location reasonable price

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Some of the staff can be a little rude but I bypass that .. The location is good and the hotel is clean . Bathrooms bit small but ok .. Always stay here when I visit london so it can't be bad can it .. Just don't expect the ritz !!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel situated by Finsbury park

Posted May 25, 2014
I did not have a nice experience at this hotel. I booked this quite last minute but wasn't expecting too much. But to pay £90 in a single room. I did expect to be able to get a nice nights sleep, I was lucky to get a couple of hours. The room above sounded like a herd of elephants and it was constantly noisy. I've slept in quieter Ibis hotels. I will be raising this complaint with the hotel as well. Although as I left I told this to reception but they didn't seem to bothered or even acknowledge the dissatisfaction I had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from Chesterfield, UK

Nicely situated hotel for short stay in London

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable room and bed. Not too noisy even though bedroom at front of hotel.
Cons: Wash basin too small and awkward to use, especially when shaving PS sink plug did not plug!
Location: Handy situation for Central London. Finsbury Park directly opposite hotel. Tube is no more than 10 mins walk away. Convenient for Arsenal fans.
Earlier concerns regarding this hotel were unwarranted, as we found this hotel satisfied our needs for the 3 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price safe parking

Posted Feb 3, 2014
I did not expect much but was pleasantly surprised
1 out of 5
by JCFM

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: breakfast
Cons: shower, calm, light near the bed
Location: near subway, but nothing doing ,
a big noise especially on the night for 5 to 60 sec and more sometimes; it's convenient at mid night! unknown origin; staff did nothing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by G.Pea from Singapore

Nice Hotel But Poor Design

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Basin is unbelievable small and hide under a hanging cabinet. Not possible to wash and clean face and brush teeth. Poor Wifi connection and little choice of breakfast. Will not come back to stay in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't knock it for the price!

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Price, location, parking
Cons: Some doors in corridors slammed too easily causing a little disturbance in the early hours as the walls are quite thin, but we didn't mind one bit.
Location: Tube and bus station on the doorstep and amazing restaurants on nearby Green Lanes in Harringay. Cross the road, get the 29 bus, get off at H'gay stn.
Great location for transport links with free, secure off-road parking. Room was recently refurbished, clean and tidy and a great shower. Excellent value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice exterior hides truth

Posted Dec 28, 2013
On arriving at the hotel, which we booked for its transport links, we were pleasantly surprised. It appeared clean and modern. However, despite being very clean, its one of the worst rooms we've stayed in. Tidy box room with a bed only slightly larger than a single. We are slim people and struggled to fit both of us comfortably! To add to this the mattress was pathetic and breakfast consisted of stale bread, two cereal choices and some jam. Would not recommend.