Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Disappointing

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The Location is great for all Central London attractions
Cons: Windows that are double glazed for noise reduction
Location: Great location for Covent Gardens and Soho shopping & restaurants
I am a seasoned worldwide traveler. This hotel was disappointing for the price. Started out badly when i was given the keys to an occupied room! The Superior room was small even by London Standards and the bathroom tiny. The room was a little worn, and not too fresh and the windows are way outdated, so the street level noise was high even on the 3rd floor and both nights i was woken up pre-6.00am. The service at breakfast was extremely slow even with very few diners and while the food was generally good, the coffee was very poor, and overall it was nothing special for the high price. The service in the bar on the evening was slow, and the bartenders and wait staff seemed more interested in cleaning up than serving. The location is great, but personally a poor experience for such a highly rated hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic all round

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Everything fantastic superb location wonderful room if the breakfast staff had been... On par? with everything else then I could have found no fault!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Surprise

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The location is central with many restaurants to chose from - nothing fancy as this is a tourist area - and within a few steps of historical sites.
Cons: Well it's an old hotel so refurbishing is needed.
Location: The location is central with many restaurants to chose from - nothing fancy as this is a tourist area - and within a few steps of historical sites.
I arrived with some trepidation because of the location - Leicester Square - but was pleased when I was given a quiet room and the back side of the hotel, away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is vintage but was spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom blackpool,uk

Great hotel close to all west end activities

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the west end. We only stayed the one night for my fiftieth birthday but we enjoyed the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom colombia

Good option in london

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, clean,
Cons: The lift smell.
Location: Is in the heart of the city.
If you like to be surrounded by tourist and close to shopping places and city highlights and can afford to pay a truly 5 stars hotel, this is the hotel to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Terrific location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
When we first arrived our room had a terrible leak. We were given an upgraded room without any question. The location was terrific (near two tube stops and within walking distance of great dining and fun things to see and do). We would return to this location in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Excellent Location for a city break in London

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location,friendliness of staff
Cons: Not Applicable
Location: Situated in Leicester Square central for sightseeing, short walk to Covent garden, Trafalgar Square,restaurants, pubs nearby,
Hotel staff were friendly and professional, we were able to check in early and had access to our room immediately we were allocated room 414, at the back of the hotel, comfy bed and everything you need for a weekend break, the carpet in the room is a little tired but that is my only criticism.We would have no hesitation in using the hotel again, and we are looking forward to our next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Great hotel friendly and comfortable

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Fantastic welcome at check in , friendly , helpful and efficient . Great room , clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida, USA

Right on Leicester Square

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location!!!
Cons: Getting rooms ready on time of check-in. We arrived mid-afternoon and still had to wait for our room.
Location: Westend shows, Covent Garden shopping, restaurants galore, Chinatown
This is the second time we've stayed at the Edwardian Hampshire and we remain big fans of this hotel. It's proximity to Westend theatres, Covent Garden, Soho and Chinatown is such a plus. Otherwise, the tube station is just around the corner. We absolutely love staying at this hotel and would recommend to family and friends. Will definitely come back when we're next in London!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Billfrom New York City

A GREAT HOTEL

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It matched all my expectations and more.. WHat a fantastic hotel in an incredible location…Amazing how quiet my room was….