Ratings based on 1,403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for Using Circle and District l

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Staff and location. The even loaned me an umbrella. Excellent key pad security to lift and upper rooms is reassuring.
Cons: Size of elevator and number of available TV channels. They really should have CNN.
Location: Easy Queens Gate location so it's 10 min from Hyde Park, Royal Albert, Royal College of Art.
This hotel is just steps from Gloucester Rd tube station an its address is good for SW7 and SWI activities. Public spaces are lovely and there are plenty of corners for meetings. Very pleasant casual restaurant. Breakfast is rather plain for the price. Elevator and single rooms are tiny, but all baths are luxurious. Executive rooms much larger and street-front windows said to be all double glass for quiet. Free wifi at better than avg speed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Great location, almost next to Gloucester Road tube. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Room was as you would expect and public areas nice too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was a let down

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We have stayed here before and it was fine. On this occasion however, while the rooms, service and cleanliness were all fine, breakfast was a disappointment. OK it was late Sunday morning (about 9.30 - breakfast served until 1030) but the hot food was running out, what was there was, at best warm, the plates were cold, the tea was stewed and warm rather than hot, and the fruit did not appear especially fresh. Not at all good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hyannisport, MA

Best hotel in 12 trips!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Great staff, location and pricing.
Location: Museums, Harrods shopping, extremely close to the tube station.
Arrived at 7:40 a.m. at hotel from an overnight flight, but didn't have reservations until that night. The staff was overwhelmingly friendly and accommodating and they let us check in right away. Should have known that this hotel was a winner just from that consideration, but it got better. The "continental breakfast" was so much more than what is usually provided (great way to start the day) and the little niceties such as night-time sweets (gummy candies, gumballs, etc) in the lobby made our return to the hotel pleasurable. Rooms were clean and well lit, and the staff was always responsive to small requests. Location couldn't have been better! A 2 minute walk and we were at the Gloucester Tube station. Could get to anywhere in London from this station as it had 3 tube lines connecting here - District, Picadilly and Circle lines. Also it was a 20 minute walk to Harrods for fantastic shopping and 2 major museums were less than 10 minute walk away. This was my 12th trip to London, but first time staying at this hotel. I've definitely found my NEW hotel for all future stays.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Old hotel with very small rooms

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The staff is exceptional, very polite and nice. Breakfast is very good, lots of options on the buffet and on the menu.
Location: Location is great, across the tube lots of food options.
Booked a superior room, when i arrived the Superior is more like a prison cell than a "Superior" room. The hotel has very small rooms, they have built their own rating like Business Room, First class Rooms and many kind of BS titles to fool the guests. The hotel is over priced, Many other options across the street in the same prices.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Belgium

OK stay in Kensington

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.
Cons: Expedia should be able to inform hotel if a twin or double was booked. Housekeeping could try to clear cigarette smoke smell from room better.
Location: Very handy for the Tube, plenty of choice for breakfast, close to museums
Arrived late on Friday night to be given a twin rather than the requested double room, apparently the booking only goes through to the hotel as a room for 2 people which is a disappointing Expedia quirk. No double available until the next night so stayed in the very small twin room. Amenities were good (iron, hairdryer etc) however bathroom and bedroom were tiny, curtains looked a little grubby but the bed was comfortable. Second room we were allocated (after staff kindly moved our luggage for us) reeked of cigarette smoke but was a nicer, larger room. The Receptionist handled this well, apologised and told us the hotel had been non smoking for a number of years. Housekeeping must have known it was smokey as the window was wide open when we arrived - I would have thought there would be more housekeeping could do to eradicate the smell. We were given complementary breakfast which was very good and the staff were apologetic and sincere. Think I'd look elsewhere next time though, the initial room was very small given the price we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Good location ...

Posted Feb 10, 2015
In a really good location close to the tube. The rooms are quite hard to find as they have split levels whichis quite annoying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

great location for Albert Hall

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: all of the above
Cons: décor a bit old fashioned but suits the building
Location: Albert Hall, museums, Harrods....most things are near enough a very central location, we walked everywhere
given a £15 voucher to spend in the bar on arrival, which we were not expecting. Stayed on a Friday night, staff very helpful about parking locally at least cost. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Comfortable room. Bathroom a little small but perfectly adequate. Nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Welcoming staff, clean rooms, location
Cons: Maybe start breakfast ay 0630 for those heading to the airport for an early flight.
Location: Close to the tube station and nice restaurants. Easy walk to many attractions in the west end.
The close proximity to the tube station makes this a great choice for anyone wanting to be in Kensington.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the experience I was anticipating

Posted Jan 28, 2015
This is a nice hotel, with a good restaurant, free wifi, a well equipped office area next to the lobby with 3 Apple computers and a very small but well equipped gym. Just 2 mins from a Piccadilly/Central lines underground station. The room was tiny and that respect rather disappointing, and quite cold, too. It did not even have a table! I had to use the shelf meant for the telephone in place the chair in the tiny space between the bed and the bathroom door. I had booked the hotel because I had a very important meeting in London and wanted to be able to start the day in London rather than being potentially subjected to train disruptions or delays. I had read about the excellence of the breakfast and was looking forward to it and ready to pay for it as an extra, because it was not included in my booking. Unfortunately the wake up call requested at check in was not made, making not only impossible for me to have breakfast, but also to be late for my meeting. The member of staff doing the check out was very apologetic, and it was obviously not his fault, but it was very disappointing.