Ratings based on 1,375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Belgium

OK stay in Kensington

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.
Cons: Expedia should be able to inform hotel if a twin or double was booked. Housekeeping could try to clear cigarette smoke smell from room better.
Location: Very handy for the Tube, plenty of choice for breakfast, close to museums
Arrived late on Friday night to be given a twin rather than the requested double room, apparently the booking only goes through to the hotel as a room for 2 people which is a disappointing Expedia quirk. No double available until the next night so stayed in the very small twin room. Amenities were good (iron, hairdryer etc) however bathroom and bedroom were tiny, curtains looked a little grubby but the bed was comfortable. Second room we were allocated (after staff kindly moved our luggage for us) reeked of cigarette smoke but was a nicer, larger room. The Receptionist handled this well, apologised and told us the hotel had been non smoking for a number of years. Housekeeping must have known it was smokey as the window was wide open when we arrived - I would have thought there would be more housekeeping could do to eradicate the smell. We were given complementary breakfast which was very good and the staff were apologetic and sincere. Think I'd look elsewhere next time though, the initial room was very small given the price we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Good location ...

Posted Feb 10, 2015
In a really good location close to the tube. The rooms are quite hard to find as they have split levels whichis quite annoying
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

great location for Albert Hall

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: all of the above
Cons: décor a bit old fashioned but suits the building
Location: Albert Hall, museums, Harrods....most things are near enough a very central location, we walked everywhere
given a £15 voucher to spend in the bar on arrival, which we were not expecting. Stayed on a Friday night, staff very helpful about parking locally at least cost. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Comfortable room. Bathroom a little small but perfectly adequate. Nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Welcoming staff, clean rooms, location
Cons: Maybe start breakfast ay 0630 for those heading to the airport for an early flight.
Location: Close to the tube station and nice restaurants. Easy walk to many attractions in the west end.
The close proximity to the tube station makes this a great choice for anyone wanting to be in Kensington.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the experience I was anticipating

Posted Jan 28, 2015
This is a nice hotel, with a good restaurant, free wifi, a well equipped office area next to the lobby with 3 Apple computers and a very small but well equipped gym. Just 2 mins from a Piccadilly/Central lines underground station. The room was tiny and that respect rather disappointing, and quite cold, too. It did not even have a table! I had to use the shelf meant for the telephone in place the chair in the tiny space between the bed and the bathroom door. I had booked the hotel because I had a very important meeting in London and wanted to be able to start the day in London rather than being potentially subjected to train disruptions or delays. I had read about the excellence of the breakfast and was looking forward to it and ready to pay for it as an extra, because it was not included in my booking. Unfortunately the wake up call requested at check in was not made, making not only impossible for me to have breakfast, but also to be late for my meeting. The member of staff doing the check out was very apologetic, and it was obviously not his fault, but it was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kirkcaldy

Great location

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: It was comfortable with a touch of luxury
Cons: The only thing that I would have liked would have been a swimming pool!!
Location: The area had supermarkets, chemists. Cafés etc. it was within walking distance of the V&A and the Natural history Museum and the nearest underground.
This hotel was in a great location to explore London. There were good facilities in the area for small restaurants to eat breakfast and dinner. The restaurant in the hotel Scoff and Banter was also very good. Our room was very comfortable and although it faced the busy street it was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridgeshire

Very nice weekend stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Room service. Room design. Lovely staff.
Cons: Downgraded cleanliness only because our first full day, the room hadn't been cleaned when we returned for a rest around 2 or 3 pm. Then the kid was na
Location: Close to the V&A, Science and Natural History museums, also to parks (great running) and Kensington Palace, underground station convenient
I brought my 10 year old for a weekend away, and we really enjoyed this hotel. Special Rate was reasonable for London. Our room was large and nicely appointed, with a comfy bed and sofa as well as a table with 2 chairs and a large enough wardrobe and desk (could have used a little more drawer space, only 2 large ones). The bathroom was tiny but well appointed too, and we loved the toiletries. Our room was at the back and looked into an airshaft (had privacy frosting), but we didn't expect a view at our price point. Front desk staff was lovely at check in and out, and helpful with suggestions in between. Bar staff also nice, and the one day we splurged on room service was perfect, though too much food. This was exactly what I was looking for! Location near the museums was cool for my kid too. Didn't eat at the restaurant, too fancy/pricey for a 10 yr old picky eater.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom essex uk

great location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: staff and location
Cons: room size, breakfast prices
Location: 300 mtrs from Gloucester road tube, plenty of bars and restaurants around
we looked at 3 different rooms and they was all the same size approx 3.5m x 3.5m plus the bathrooms. Be aware of this because most of the pics are from the king size rooms. the staff were great and friendly, and overall we had a good time, breakfast is good but expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oslo

Loud, old, cold

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Tiny room, old windows rattle all night even in light breeze, smoke detector clicks all night and noisy air conditioning cannot be turned off. The hotel is cheap for London standards, so don't expect too much here...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom knightbridge, chelsea

Beautiful, traditional and elegant.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Most things.
Cons: The cleaning staff could improve.
Location: No complaints here you are surrounded by events(. Shopping,parks, museums all just a stones throw away.
The front of house staff where good but Andreous was amazing, his attention to detail was inpecable.