Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TheCasey from orange county, ca

Nice, but needs a freshening.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The lobby has been remodeled and looks great, but the rooms need quite a bit of tlc. The toilet was dingy and always looked like it hadn't been flushed (gross I know), the edges of the carpet were grey. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the room itself was quite nice. One issue is the furnace was on high no matter what we did. We packed for chilly spring London weather, but had to strip down in the room because it was so warm. The staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Charlie from L.A.

Antwerp visit

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Speed of checkout
Location: Convenient to rail and bus connections
Good hotel for value but in a less than desirable area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rach from Nottingham

Lovely hotel, convenient location but cold...!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Beautifully decorated throughout with loads of character
Cons: Turn the air conditioning down - it's winter!
Location: Handy for South Kensington shops and restauarants and museums (Natural History, Science, V&A) and a short walk to Royal Albert Hall.
We wanted a hotel that was close to the Royal Albert Hall as we were going to a gig there and this fitted the bill, particularly as it was also so close to the Natural History and Science Museums, as we were there with our 6-year old son. The Hotel is very easy to get to, being very close to Gloucester Road tube. There are also lots of resaurants close by so we chose not to take the expensive breakfast option and went to The Patisserie instead (just opposite the tube). It looks a bit tacky but there is a great selection for breakfast, service is quick and it's good value for money! We did eat in the Hotel before going to the gig and the food was delicious - we had a taster platter which had a selection of small portions of dishes from the menu - perfect for the three of us to share. We found the bar area very cold with over earnest air conditioning blowing cold air at us (in January?!). What a shame - it would have been cosey if they could have just turned the air con off! The restuarant was nice and warm when we first went in (otherwise we would have gone somewhere else) but part way through dinner the air con got jacked up in there too! The bedroom was also cold and took a long time to warm up (with the temperature control set to maximum heat). The room was nice and big (as we had a sofa bed in there for our son, too) and nicely furnished. The bed was a little hard for my liking but the sofa bed was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel right in the centre of London

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Location: Proximity to world famous museums, Imperial College etc
Simply excellent. No complaints whatsoever. Fantastic breakfast too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and continent

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Nice hotel, close to metro and museums . Friendly and helpful staff clean rooms nice and free wifi
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory accommodation close to museums and tu

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Close to museums and Gloucester Road Tube station
Cons: Hotel staff very accommodating. Hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren and some halls and doors hard to navigate. Rooms on Cromwell Road quite noisy.
Location: 3 major museums within 10 minute walk. 30 minute walk to,Royal Albert Hall
Pleasant staff and well located. Wireless is free but a bit of a nightmare as you have to login every time you pick up your device. Laundry charges are extortionate. Food Ok but use the many restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PM

Vanderbilt

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Friendly staff. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from Warwickshire

The hotel was lovely, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The staff, afternoon Tea and breakfast
Cons: The cleanliness of the rooms
Location: The location is fantastic, right next to the tube station and lots of nice places to eat/drink nearby.
My husband and our friend came to London to see The Bodyguard and were looking for a good hotel to stay the night. Before and after the show we relaxed in the bar and enjoyed afternoon tea and then post theatre drinks, the staff were extremely attentive. The breakfast the following morning was also enjoyable, now for the downside, we were booked in to an extremely small room, which we could deal with as we had no intention of staying in it for any long period of time, however the bathroom was not the cleanest, there was still rubbish in the bin from the previous guests and used toilet paper in the toilet, I would have no hesitation in visiting the hotel again for afternoon tea but sadly would probably choose another hotel to stay for the evening as the cleanliness of the bathroom has put us off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by william from Newcastle

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: The bedroom was rather cramped
Location: The location was pleasant enough and the underground was just across the road which gave access to all the main shopping and tourist locations.