Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location, helpful staff, rooms need updating

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location! Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The rooms could be updated. I would replace the carpeting, heavy drapes and fabric headboard, which I think contributed to the dustiness.
Location: Lots of restaurants, cafés, and bars. Oxford Street, UCL, The British Museum.
Stayed here on a recent trip to London. The location is great - lovely neighbourhood with lots of restaurants and cafes, a five or ten minute walk to Oxford Street, ten minutes to UCL, which was why I was there.The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the Concierge. Did not partake of the breakfast, as there were plenty of options just outside the front door. The room was a good size, and the bathroom was clean and large, for UK standards, even for North American standards! Only two downsides - first, the noise from the regular collection of bottles (ear plugs came in handy!), and secondly, found the room to be very dusty. Perhaps the carpets, heavy drapes, and fabric headboard?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SE England

Great location and receptionists

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Location, receptionists - very friendly and helpful
Cons: Room noise/smell
Location: Very central to all London landmarks
This is a bit of a mixed review as my first impression of the hotel was great. Perfect location and the best welcome I've ever had on reception! My room was good.... until I tried to get to sleep when for some unknown reason it became like being in a tumble drier. It was so noisy I got about 2 hours sleep. When I told reception the next morning, they immediately said I could be moved. Great service. The room I was moved too upon entering smelt of cigarettes but by this point I was so tired I put up with it. It was quiet and I got a better nights sleep than the first one. I would really like to go back to this hotel in December (for another 2 night stay) but I'm not sure if I'm going to take the risk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Close to many resturants and tube lines. Good service at the bar in the evenings.
Cons: Nothing comes ot mind.
Location: The hotel's neighborhood was inviting, although the pub across the street was pretty loud on Friday night.
Nice, clean place in Central London. The room was clean, more importantly, the shower and toilet facilites were roomy and well maintained. The air conditioning worked well and there was no problems with the wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Rathbone a Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Do not charge extra for breakfast if not prebooked
Spent three days in Rathbone Hotel. Very convenient location. Tottenham tube station short walk Very comfortable rooms . Tea making vacilities but only two tea bags left. Short on coat hangers Breakfast very expensive and if not prebooked was charged extra. Don't know why this should be as buffet breakfast was available and did not have to be cooked. Some noise from bar across street. Would probably stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Close to Oxford Street

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: I would prefer Internet access in the room rate - for business it is alwasys needed and it is a bind/antiquated to have to pay for this separately.
Location: everything central London has to offer!
Very handy for business purposes, close to my London office. A little bit traditional and dated feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned hotel in the heart of Fitzrovia

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, old fashioned décor (in a good way!), comfortable room.
Cons: Free WiFi would be good. Also, charging corkage for guests bringing their own wine to their rooms seems a bit strange.
Location: Easy walk to Goodge Street or Tottenham Court Road; plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby.
I spent 2 nights at the Rathbone Hotel, as a solo traveller, when I was in London for a weekend visit. It had a pleasantly old fashioned feel about it and the staff were welcoming and friendly. Especially the staff on reception and the concierge. It's unusual to find a hotel that has an actual single room. However, the Friday night was noisy from the nearby pub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from County Down

Good Hotel In A Great Location.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Comfortable. Peaceful. Location ( didn't need to use the tube). Staff.
Cons: I thought some of the woodwork inside the room looked tired in particular the doors, needs attention - some fresh varnish/Stain etc.
Location: Walking distance of Oxford St. Regent St. Chinatown Theatres. Many Restaurants. 'Big Bus' stops, great way to see London with a 48 hour ticket.
A very well positioned Hotel with easy walking access to Oxford Street (2 min) Chinatown, Theatres and Piccadilly Circus (20min). Abundance of restaurants / cafes/ bars within 50 metres yet the Hotel is on a quiet part of a street and thus does not suffer from outside noise/traffic. My room was adequate in size for two people and had all the necessary essentials tea/coffee/information booklets / telephone etc. Staff excellent, will provide taxi if required or directions. Hotel willing to secure luggage before and after check in/out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rathbone Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location: Although the hotel did not have a restaurant there were several pubs and restaurants in the immediate vicinity
From the first welcoming smile of the Receptionist to the time I checked out, everything was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Close to Goodge St tube

Posted Aug 9, 2014
This hotel is conveniently close to Goodge St tube station. The rooms are small and not particularly comfortable, but this is standard fare in central London. The staff is friendlier than the standard London experience however, so this is a welcome feature as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s.f., ca

Great location, location, location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and complimentary toiletries, tea and bottled water in the room.
Cons: Make the Internet access free. The concierge person could double as a doorman since the door is quite heavy to open.
Location: British museum, great restaurants, grocery stores, interesting shops, longer walk to the National Gallery, the Thames River, the YMCA (with pool).
Although a very small room, it was well organized and very, very comfortable. The staff was very sweet, the housekeepers did an excellent job. Whereas there were a half dozen historic pubs and bars in the neighborhood, everything closed down and was perfectly quiet after 10 or 11. Great area for walking, shopping, museuming and theatering. I booked this hotel at a discounted "mystery rate" by Expedia.