Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

General

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Swimming Pool
Having spent most weeks in hotels around the UK / Europe, this hotel is an average rating, up and down stairs or out side to get to the restraunt or lessure facilaties, rooms ok, but on the small side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Pleasant hotel in great location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping issues
Location: Pleasant walk into Richmond and the Park, close to River, Kew etc Good train service into Central London Good access to Heathrow
Old rambling hotel in good spot close to beautiful Richmond Park Good standard a few minor problems with housekeeping but overall enjoyed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Near the Richmond Park

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the park and downtown Richmond
Cons: Handicapped access is non existent in the approach to the reception area. Only small lift in the lobby.
Location: Nice shops and restaurants downtown Richmond. Access to large Royal park area with deer roaming free.
This is a quaint hotel near the large Richmond Park but it is up the hill from any local transportation (such as the tube or bus) except a taxi. It was quite a wall, rolling our suitcases up the hill when we arrived. The rooms were very small and the cleaning staff a bit spotty in their cleaning of the rooms. One day they did not even empty a waste can that had a dirty diaper in it. Not cool! Also, you have to upgrade a larger room to accommodate a baby cot at the cost of 20 pounds a night. This charge was unclear and miscommunicated on check in. The "larger" room is still quite tiny and left the parents of the little one without much room to move, given a stroller and all the extras that come along with a baby. Also there were steps to enter the hotel and to descend into the lobby. Makes handicapped access really non-existent. Don't think we will stay here again. We will stay closer to a tube station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Visiting our son who works in Richmond.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location and convenience to the main part of Richmond plus the leisure facilities and pool.
Cons: Nothing particularly to mention on this occasion.
Location: Hotel is well located on the top of Richmond Hill close to restaurants and shops. Also ideal for walks and running.
This was our second visit to this hotel this year ( last visit in May). Our feedback on room / bed size from the first time was taken on board and we were upgraded on this occasion. Overall we had a very enjoyable time and would certainly stay at this hotel again,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ferndown, Dorset

Mixed bag

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, although a tad expensive. The general building, the courtesy and help of the staff.
Cons: Parking is difficult, I know, but we thought a fiver a night was a bit much. Our room could have been improved immensely.
Location: Richmond Park is lovely, as is the view across towards London. Otherwise, we don't know much about the area.
This is a nice hotel in an excellent spot, particularly for a wedding reception at nearby Pembroke Lodge, and also for the view across the Thames. But our room, number 150, was not good. It was cramped, with a double bed we found too small. There was only one tiny shelf on the window side and a table next to the door side which was awfully close to the head when sleeping. There was only one drawer in the room. The tea-making bits were on a tray, on top of the safe cabinet, where there was no electric socket, so the whole lot had to be carried across to the bedside table, which meant keeping that clear, leaving us with virtually nowhere to put anything. Our elder son had a similar room on the first floor, but our younger son, who booked quite soon before the stay, had an excellent room on the fourth floor with a larger bed, chairs and all the facilities one would expect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashford, Middlesex

One night before wedding

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Great location with stunning views, local pubs and restaurants are also good
Rooms are comfy if not a little small, air conditioning was noisy and old fashioned, so hot if not on and noisy if it was on. Staff were excellent though and all was clean and well looked after, breakfast again was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent UK

Good Hotel but a trek out of London

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The reception staff were very helpful
Location: Richmond is a very nice town with lots of small individual and unique shops selling an interesting of goods. A stroll a round Richmond Park is a must
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stayed for a family wedding near by

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Cons: The sauce!
The hotel was very busy, full and had a wedding at the same time. Everything went well until the breakfast session after our first night stay, the staff seemed overwhelmed with the volume of customers and struggled to keep on top of supply of items for the buffet and making sure that everyone had a tea/coffee. The next day when the volume of people had reduced went very well though. The breakfast buffet was good - the only area for improvement would be the brown and tomato sauce - trivial I guess but I like my HP and Heinz. I would go back to stay despite the above as in every other respect it was good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Old & rundown ,lacks maintenance

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Designer spa with cheap later add-ons. Lacks maintenance. Missing steam room tiles, jacuzzi had no power like a running tap and Sauna was out of order
Cons: Hotel needs a general renovation.
Location: Near Richmond park and many attractions of Richmond Surrey.
Hotel room looked nothing like that was shown on Expedia, very small and dark through many narrow old corridors with steps making it a challenge with luggage. Room Faced the rubbish container yard, bathroom was covered with mould, no shower just an old bath with plastic curtains with cheap mouldy plastic matt. Hotel is seriously run down. It needs TLC and maintenance. Only reception and bar restaurant area look updated but the rooms are neglected. the room was not worth the money we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and lobby!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We're really glad we got this hotel with a great deal in Expedia, otherwise I think we may have been a bit disappointed. It's a big mix of ups and downs... Big bed which was great and we were lucky enough to get a balcony. Hotel room was fine and clean. Lobby is beautiful and staff were very nice. The pool was ok but be warned it's used by many locals and we arrived at kids time which was very loud so check in advance if you want to relax. I guess the next job is to update the corridors and rooms to the standard of the lobby. Great location though and a bargain for the deal we bagged!