Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Nice hotel. Excellent views.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable stay in all aspects.
Cons: Nothing was an issue.
Location: Right on Kensington High Street so well situated for shopping and tube access.
The hotel is well maintained, staff are very good. There are a couple of bars and restaurants within too. Excellent views of the gardens from the Chinese restaurant and garden view rooms too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent rooms and friendly staff.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Rooms, friendly staff at Reception, Berties Bar and Breakfast area...
Cons: Refunds if you leave a day earlier or something in compensation out of good will.
From the moment I checked in, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I arrived early and the reception staff really helped me to get into my room asap to save waiting around. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The best pillows ever !!!! Location was awesome, right next to Hyde Park and nearby shops at High Street Kensington. Breakfast was excellent and was really relaxing where the breakfast room was.... I wanted to stay there for hours on end reading papers !!!! Very nice. I actually booked on expedia from 29th - 1st August but paid at hotel. Unfortunately, I had to leave on 31st but was not able to get a refund for the last night despite asking on numerous occassions. If there is anyway, I could have a refund, would really appreciate it as everything else was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edindurgh

Graduation week end in London

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Service, location and rooms.
Cons: All good!
Location: Right next to Hyde park and Kensington Palace. Shops and restaurants of Kensington on your doorstep.
Visiting London for a Graduation. The hotel has a great location, helpful staff (with umbrellas for the showers and sun!) and excellent facilities. The bar and Min Jiang restaurant on 10th floor both worth a visit. Check in and out very efficient, rooms excellent really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Royal Garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class

Posted Jul 4, 2014
A first class hotel in an amazing location. Friendly staff, great rooms and cleanliness throughout
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia.

Great view over Kensington Gardens

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Excellent
Unfortunately I was stuck in a lift due to a peach stone jamming the outer door. This was quickly resolved and there were people on the floor very soon after raising the alarm. Would not take my wife there as the hanging and draw space is practically nil. This did not bother me being alone. Internet rates very high!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay with convenience to the tube!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
We found the staff to be very helpful and excellent with their service. The Hotel was pleasant and paid attention to details. Location, it was next to the Kensington Palace and in the evenings the area around it was quiet. It was convenient to the Paddington Station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at this hotel a few times before and each time have been happy with the room and service. Kensington is a perfect spot for relaxation and good shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

London trip

Posted Jun 13, 2014
The hotel was in a great location, close to tube, bus, restaurants and shopping. Right next to Kensington Palace and park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location but expected better service

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel's location at the doorstep of Kensington Gardens was great, and the rooms themselves were clean and comfortable. However, we were disappointed by the level of service received - we had booked three rooms for the night of our wedding, explaining that these rooms were for ourselves and each set of parents. Despite this, there was no effort to allocate the rooms consistently - rooms were on vastly different floors (2nd, 8th and 9th) and one room's view consisted solely of the hotel's air-conditioning units! There was also no acknowledgement of the occasion, although there were some "happy birthday" chocolates left in one room (despite it being our wedding)! We would stay here again for the location but not if we wanted to have an occasion to remember.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as 5 years ago...

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and polite and couldn't be faulted.
Location: Royal Albert Hall, Knightsbridge, Kensington Gardens.
My mum and I stayed here in 2009 just after the hotel had been refurbished. Staying here again in 2014 and it seemed totally different. We had two standard rooms with 'queen sized' beds in each although they seemed more like king sized. The rooms were on the small side and functional at best but there was nothing special about the decor which was plain and uninspiring. Very disappointing for a five star establishment. Two people sharing this type of room would struggle. The bathroom was also quite small with a high sided bath that required a big step over to get into and take a shower. Some people might have a problem with that (my mother certainly did) and at this price, a walk-in shower would (and should) be a much better solution. Does anybody take a bath these days in a hotel? The price we paid did not include breakfast which was VERY expensive as an extra. One rate for Continental and another for full English. We ended up eating across the road at Starbucks! Hotel cleanliness was up to standard but truthfully, there are much nicer and more up to date hotels in London to stay at. I was at the Aloft Excel Hotel before Christmas and even though it is further out of the City, I would have preferred to stay there as it is modern, well conceived and has good connections with the DLR right on it's doorstep. And although the Royal Garden is great for the locales listed in this review, it's not the best of locations for everything else.