Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Location for a Great Price

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Key location to major transportation hubs. Plenty of venues for shopping and dining.
Cons: My room definitely needed overhead lighting. Things could get really dim at night. I often had to rely on additional lighting coming from the streets.
The St. Georges was everything I wanted for the mid-range price I booked for. I spent eight days using the hotel as my base of operations while I did sightseeing in London and Paris. I had a great frontal view of the city and easy access to restaurants and transportation. Overall the condition of my hotel room was very clean, with fresh sets of towels and toiletries every morning (Along with morning edition of The Times). I had a nicely stocked Minibar, adequate closet space and good WiFi. The lighting could be better and was quite dim at times. Fortunately the weather was very cooperative this time around and my room was flooded with plenty of sunshine. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful when I needed transportation advice. The St. Georges runs along Regent Street with plenty of restaurants, pubs and shopping. It is a few blocks away from Oxford Circus (ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL) a main transportation hub. It's another ten minute walk to Piccadilly Circus the heart of London's theater district. I will recommend to friends who need that central London location at an affordable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y

Needs painting

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Rooms could have done with a luck of paint and new chairs a bit drab and tired looking corridors needed a good Hoover very grubby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

As good as it gets for the money

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the location... just a couple of blocks and a five minute walk from the delights of Oxford St, Carnaby St and more.
Cons: The front desk staff were surly at times, and not exactly helpful. Concierge was never there when you needed him. However housekeeping were great.
Location: Awesome location, with 100's of shops, restaurants, tube stations and things to do just a few steps away.
The Saint George Hotel was a lucky find in a city with many hotel options. The room was spacious enough, facilities were fine, the bed comfortable and the room clean. Like many big city hotels in Europe, the public areas, lobby & hallways were very small and you get a bit claustrophobic in the hallways, but that is not really important in the big picture when you are trying to balance value with cost. For the money, I think it ticked all the necessary boxes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Post-Renovation Potential

Posted Sep 7, 2014
The hotel is currently undergoing much-needed renovation. Until construction is complete, even the convenient location and views of Regent Street's rooftops cannot overcome the dismal state of the rooms and common areas or the disturbances of construction noise. Rooms are currently beyond tired, with frayed cushions, sagging curtains, broken light fixtures, and chipped / dirty windowpane seals. Bedding is functional but lacks any hint of luxury, with a mattress so firm I felt like I was at sleepaway camp. Hallways are dim, with worn carpet patched with mismatched remnants. This property might have post-renovation potential (if the price remains reasonable). Until then, be wary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near Oxford Circus / Central London

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location, reasonable price for location
Cons: The rooms need to be updated.
Location: 3 blocks from Oxford Circus Tube station & also the intersection of Regent Street & Oxford Street where a lot of the great clothing stores are located
The location is fantastic, 3 blocks for the Oxford Circus Tube station so it is very easy to get all around London. The rooms as previous reviews stated are tired and need to be updated. It is clean just a bit worn in places. Ask to not be on the 9th Floor they are remodeling the office space below the hotel so it was loud at 8am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Convenient for all we wished to do. Helpful staff and comfortable room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good location for London and reasonable cost. Catered to Gluten Free diet needs, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Improve hours for breakfast over the weekends, tourists like to get moving early. I guide on how the show taps work would be helpful.
Location: Great location, few minute walks from Oxford Circus Underground, Oxford and Regent Street Shopping, easy access to taxi's
Pleasant stay, with a good location at reasonable prices. Not dead center London, but close to the underground taxis etc., that you could be anywhere pretty quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stevenage Herts

Great location for going out in Central London.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Efficient and easy and a great location.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: As mentioned in the statement above, it's in a fantastic location in Central London and near to all the major tourist spots like Regent/Oxford St.
I had stayed at this hotel many years ago, and at the time it was looking very "tired". I wasn't sure what to expect on this return visit, but I was very surprised to find how much it had changed for the better. The hotel is clean and well presented. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly. Check in and check out couldn't be simpler, and the bonus....unlike a lot of London hotels, they didn't ask for a swipe of the card for incidentals or deposit. I will definitely be paying a return visit soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Great location. All previous negative comments turned out to be true - HOWEVER - overall it was an OK stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Quaiet and clean
Cons: The restorant
Location: Very central
Good,we like famility of the staf, very central hotel by a walk we see the main London atractions