Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not a 4 Star hotel as listed

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Expedia.com
While the staff was lovely and helpful but the hotel did not match the pictures. Not what I expected at based on a "4 Star" hotel. I did not think the neighborhood was clean and I would not recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Lancing

Reasonable and close to the tube

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Handy for the tube, shower room very nice.
Cons: Perhaps a reform to the main room.
Location: Very close to Bayswater tube allowing easy access to all things London
Stayed for only one night (a saturday). We were given a free upgrade to a club room which was in the main functional. The shower room was very nice and must have been refurbished fairly recently. The main room was a bit dark and a spruce up wouldn't go a miss. However, no real complaints and would use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Ottawa

Tourists

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Great location and price.
Location is excellent, on convenient bus and tube lines. Bathroom is small with little shelf space but very clean and functional. Room is very small but still functional. Bed comfortable. When fuse blew it was rectified quickly.
1 out of 5
by Michael from Vancouver

Bait and switch me to different hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: None
Terrible experience with this hotel group, told me the boiler tank was leaking, bait and switch me to Grand Royale on the same block. The room is on ground floor but is more like basement, room is dirty and tiny, super noisy with constant door opening and closing to their ground floor public washroom, and wifi is available but at 1.7kb/s receive average. Definitely not coming back to this hotel group at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Tiny but very cute

Posted May 26, 2014
I found that this place was very British, authentic and cute. The room was extremely tiny, barely big enough to fit the bed and room to walk beside it. I wasn't bothered at all by this as I had read the reviews beforehand and expected it. I think you also need to understand that for its great price point and the fact that you are right in the midst of things, and very close to the underground, that you are going to have to give up something - in this case it was room size but extremely worth it. I should perhaps mention that I was traveling by myself and the room I had was a double. But the room itself was very clean, and the fixtures and finishes all matched, and it had everything needed for a short 3 night stay. The only thing I might say as a negative was that the pillows were a bit uncomfortable - I prefer something a bit fluffier and these were kind of dense and hard, but there were 4 of them so it was workable. Also this is just personal preference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Lancashire

Well-placed good hotel

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, comfortable bed, good bathroom.
Cons: I would say "the view", but there's really not a lot to see out of a Bayswater window!
Location: Very handy for both Queensway and Bayswater tube stations; Paddington is also within walking distance. Plenty of varied restaurants, shops, etc.
I've been staying in London hotels every week for over 18 months now and this was the most expensive room per night I'd been prepared to pay. It wasn't the best though, but it certainly is a very pleasant hotel. Facilities are good (comfortable bed, modern bathroom), but some 'issues' for me. Television channels / reception not great. Room was fairly small and, although there was a small desk / table, it was virtually taken up by the kettles / tray. No ironing board / iron in the room, despite that being explicitly stated on the site, but within minutes of asking reception they appeared. These are all very minor gripes though. The wifi worked excellently (a rarity in most places), the staff were excellent and it is in a great location. Not much of a view though, but I wasn't expecting to see herdes of wildebeest roaming the prairie! It is Bayswater after all! Recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simeon from UK

Lovely hotel, not far from shops, restaurants & UG

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, friendly staff
A quiet night's sleep in a comfortable bed. Hotel is round the corner from Bayswater Underground. Shops and restaurants near by. Good quality hotel for a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by Therese from Chicago

Shoebox of a "deluxe" room

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Close to Queensway and Bayswater tube stations, Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, other sites.
Cons: Better communication about transaction fees, make the room space more efficient.
Location: Hyde Park is wonderful to walk through, as is Kensington Gardens. Minutes away from the Tube and access to the rest of the city's attractions.
This room was tiny. It was a deluxe single and I had to rearrange everything in the room to make the space more efficient and allow me to move about. The hotel staff said that there were rooms even smaller than that, which I can't imagine. There was a freestanding bureau to store clothes, but it was quite narrow and even the hangers didn't fit inside properly and had to be skewed in order to shut the bureau doors. It was positioned to the right of the TV, and every time I opened the bureau door, my elbow accidentally hit the power button and turned it on or off. The staff was not all that friendly, and in the less busy hours they seemed to hang out in the room behind the front counter. There was a cute little bar area right in the lobby, but no one seemed to use it. I considered having a glass of wine there before going out one evening, but no one was there to serve me, so I didn't. One thing that happened that was odd was that when I checked in, they ran my credit card as a sale (not a pre-authorization, as usual). In addition, they asked me if I wanted to pay in dollars or pounds. I am American, and inadvertently I said "Dollars", but didn't realize until later, when I looked at the fine print on the receipt, that I was charged a 1.5% transaction fee. This was upsetting to me, and I felt they should have communicated this to me. The next day I spoke with the manager and he did reverse the sale and re-ran it in pounds. I was glad, but the misunderstanding was avoidable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mingming from vancouver

Convenient location.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Easy access to underground station (5minutes walk), lots restaurants around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scooter

Staff great. Location ideal. Rooms microscopic.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: size of rooms
Location: Excellent and convenient
We loved the staff. They were very helpful and always ready when we needed them. The location could not be better in Bayswater near two tube stations. The room were clean and well cared for each day. They were, however, microscopic. There was not even room for a chair and barely room to walk on both sides of the bed.