Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bakersfield

Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff, And Close The Tube

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to provide directions and suggestions for touring London as this was my first time outside of the US
Cons: Coming from the US the rooms were rather small, but I guess this is the normal for Europe.
Location: It is about 10 minute walk from Paddington Station and the Tube which makes it an easy access point for the greater London area.
Great Location, with plenty of dinning options around the hotel. Located close Pride of Paddington Pub which I enjoyed very much. Staff was friendly and outgoing, and made sure my first experience outside the US was positive. Served me well for my two day excursion to London, and I would highly recommend the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hotel in Hyde Park for anyone looking for a nice clean room for a quick outing in London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Staff are exceptional.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
For the price you pay this hotel is excellent and especially so for a hotel in central London. The room was very clean and comfortable, especially the bed, and yes the bedroom and bathroom are on the small side however this is reflected in the room rate. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive almost anticipating your needs. I would stay here again. The only complaint I have is that my room in particular (011) was rather noisy. It is situated just around the corner from reception and I could hear people walking past on the tiled floor and the cleaner vacuuming at 7.30am every morning. Also it is an internal room with the window facing the hall therefore curtains must be kept closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage Alaska

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This turned out to be a very handy hotel for our purposes. We arrived at 7 am after an all night flight and they were able to find us a room so we could get some needed rest. While the room was a postage stamp, it was very efficient for two of us. Very handy for Tube and Bus travel. And great for walking in the area of Marlebone, Regent Park with tasty Lebanese restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Central London

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: It was a very nice, updated, facility and I was surprised to find a refrigerator, microwave and safe in the room.
Location: The hotel is located near Paddington and Edgeware Road tube stations. It's easily accessible by walking to Marble Arch, Hyde Park and a lot of shops!
The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was beautiful and very comfortable. There was only one little problem with the room and that was the window was so heavy it would not stay open. I was offered to change rooms but I preferred not and someone came up to the room with something to prop the window up. They were very accommodating and helpful and I had a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Single room very small.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Good location good price, but be warned if you book a single room it's tiny. OK it was fine for me but if you are a big person you would hate it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Convenient location, pleasant staff

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Located a short walk from Paddington, pleasantly decorated, courteous staff. I had a deluxe single, which was quite small, but more than serviceable. As a writer, I would have enjoyed having a real desk and chair, rather than the small stool and side table provided, but no real complaints otherwise. Lovely bedding and good shower in the en suite bath. Breakfast downstairs was extra, but good. For London, a reasonably priced single room with amenities that set it apart from some of the more economical places near Lancaster Gate. I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel !

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Geweldige douche, in plafond ingebegouwd. Prima bed. Aardige en behulpzaame mensen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palmerston North

Great tidy, clean hotel in great location

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, location and lovely bathroom!!!
Location: This hotel is REALLY TRULY a 10 minute walk from Paddington station, less without suitcases!!! Close by to Edgeware Road and Marble Arch, Hyde Park
Upgraded to a larger room without requesting this, the reception staff were friendly and helpful, organising shuttle to LHR for departure, cheaper than heathrow express and picked up at door. Offered tea/coffee when waiting in reception area. Room was lovely, quiet, clean and felt totally relaxed while staying two nights here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a couple of nights

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Location: On major bus routes. Can walk from Paddington. Short walk to Edgware rd tube. You can get anywhere from here.
Very good and friendly staff. Artemis on reception very helpful. Very clean hotel. Room is well equipped with large flatscreen TV, tea/coffee, microwave and fridge. The bed was very comfortable and one of the best nights in a hotel i have had in a while. We only stayed 1 night for a theatre break and the room would be ideal for a couple of nights max as they are on the small side. Would i stay here again, yes definately.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel in Notting Hill

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Great location, comfortable.
Cons: Expedia twice rejected my review - I guess I can't say negative things...but I won't book with this hotel again, despite good Notting Hill service.
Location: Walk to Bayswater and Queensway Tube stations, Tesco, Boots close by, as well as pleasant-looking pubs.
Unfortunately, I had booked the hotel at Paddington Station. They then bumped me to the Notting Hill facility. No complaints with Notting Hill staff. No complaints with either property's appearance, cleanliness or comfort. However, wouldn't use this hotel again, since the abrupt switch was very stressful and took away from time that I had wanted to spend sightseeing.