Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Great hotel , great location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: I liked the location plus the makeup mirror and luxurious towels. The bed was also very comfortable.
Cons: The lighting in the actual room was poor and there was a shortage of electrical outlets especially since you couldn't dry your hair in the bathroom.
Location: Perfect location. Piccadilly line is two blocks away. Shopping, museums, Buckingham Palace and other sightseeing is within walking distance.
The Sofitel St James could very well be my favourite hotel. From the well placed makeup mirror in the bathroom to the Hermes toiletries and the very thick but soft and luxurious towels and bathrobe. The bed was fantastic. The down bedding gave comfortable and welcome sleep especially after a long flight. Breakfast wasn't the best and quite expensive but dinner at the Balcon was excellent. To top it all off, the staff at this hotel is incredible. They do whatever they can to make your stay as pleasant and easy as possible. The concierge gave very good suggestions for dinner and all were within close walking distance. The only problem I had with the room was poor lighting for drying and doing hair. Regulations in the UK preclude outlets in the bathroom so it was challenging in a dark room. Excellent business centre. Easy to use. When I visit London this is now going to be my hotel of choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Touring London

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location, Hotel Class
The hotel was nice, great location, staff very helpful. Room was a little small, but very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom worcester

Stylish

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very friendly doormen and reception, follow up from hotel manager was appreciated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom glasgow

Great hotel, great location, great price

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Long weekend shopping and sightseeing and could not have picked a better hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more attentive. Our every request was catered for. Our only criticism was that the room was on the small side. We had a superior double but beautiful none the less. Central location within easy reach if most attractions. Fabulous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Great location. Expensive but probably worth it.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. Lots of tv channels including premier league football.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. Kedgeree was not available. There were only 8 or so items on the menu and for one to be off is, well, frustrating.
Location: Very, very central. 2 minutes walk from Trafalgar Square. 10 minutes from West End theatres, Houses of Parliament and Oxford Street shopping.
I arrived with very high expectations given the rate and reviews. The location is superb; I can't think or a more perfectly located hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. I stayed in one of the more basic rooms on the 4th floor. The room layout was good, perhaps a little small had there been two people staying. My parents room was larger but I think they had been upgraded. My bathroom was spotless, but a few things irritated me: the toilet roll fell off the holder every time I used it; the bath filled with two inches of water when I had a shower; a hairdryer was provided but there was not a plug in my room near a mirror so I had to use the TV reflection; I had paid the full rate but it looked like I had half the volume of toiletries to reflect the fact that I was a sole guest, which I thought was penny pinching. Breakfast was well run but I was disappointed. The choice was limited (about 8 items if you didn't want the buffet) and one of them was off (no kedgeree). There were no sausages when I went to the stand and the mushrooms looked anemic, like they had come out of a tin. I asked for a teaspoon at one point and was told, in a very friendly but clearly serious manner: "that may be a problem". I thought that was an extraordinary response for a 5 star hotel. The used dishes piled up on our table and were not cleared until the end of the meal. None of these things spoiled my stay but they did catch my attention and that is why I have rated 4 stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: sophisticated comfort; excellent service; location; delightful public spaces for sitting, drinking and unwinding; a lovely place to return each day.
Cons: the bathroom door and the "free" internet which was only slow speed - you needed to pay to get normal speed.
Location: Brilliant location just off Trafalgar Square and the Mall.
The Sofitel St James is a beautiful escape from the bustle of London. Gloriously decorated, friendly and welcoming staff and opulently understated surrounds make this a delightful hotel. Our room was next to the gym and we never heard a thing the building is so well designed to control noise. The breakfast was delicious each morning and the bar staff produced perfect drinks each evening. Our only grizzle was the bathroom door which was dreadful - French doors that did not allow for noise separation between it and our bedroom. Other than that, it was a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant boutique type hotel.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Location: Less than a 1/2 mi. From Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Big Ben, Downing Street, Churchill War Rooms, Westminister Abbey & Trafalgar Square.
Beautiful hotel in very convenient location to major sightseeing attractions, shopping and restaurants. Staff is very accomadating. Restaurant and bar served good food with excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location Comfort of room Staff
Cons: Free Wi Fi Brighter lights More cheerful room decor
The hotel is in a perfect location, close to everything - can walk almost anywhere - a subway station is two blocks away, St. James park is two blocks away. Room was comfortable and quiet. Staff was wonderful. One negative is the room decor is somewhat dreary and the lighting is very dim - we did not have a view, would have helped to have brighter, more uplifting room. The other negative, was wi-fi is "free" - but at an extremely low speed - you really need to upgrade and pay the $15 for any time of working connection - given we were paying close to $1000 per night, I felt that was petty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Drain got stuffed.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The bed are comfortable!
Cons: The hotel must have 24 hours housekeeping.
Location: Dental, Shopping , Dinning.
In the midnight around 2:00am, I went to take a shower and find out the drain was stuffed and my bathroom are full of water; I call the housekeeping and no respond, they told me they have people on duty until 8:00am in the morning. I need to clean the bathroom by myself. This is awful and nightmare. I hope they can change the housekeeping into 24 hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Fantastic hotel - exceptionally central

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The beds, the staff, great restaurant, location
Cons: Drinks expensive!
Our stay at the Sofitel was perfect - the staff were the best I have ever encountered!!!