Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great location. Expensive but probably worth it.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. Lots of tv channels including premier league football.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing. Kedgeree was not available. There were only 8 or so items on the menu and for one to be off is, well, frustrating.
Location: Very, very central. 2 minutes walk from Trafalgar Square. 10 minutes from West End theatres, Houses of Parliament and Oxford Street shopping.
I arrived with very high expectations given the rate and reviews. The location is superb; I can't think or a more perfectly located hotel. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. I stayed in one of the more basic rooms on the 4th floor. The room layout was good, perhaps a little small had there been two people staying. My parents room was larger but I think they had been upgraded. My bathroom was spotless, but a few things irritated me: the toilet roll fell off the holder every time I used it; the bath filled with two inches of water when I had a shower; a hairdryer was provided but there was not a plug in my room near a mirror so I had to use the TV reflection; I had paid the full rate but it looked like I had half the volume of toiletries to reflect the fact that I was a sole guest, which I thought was penny pinching. Breakfast was well run but I was disappointed. The choice was limited (about 8 items if you didn't want the buffet) and one of them was off (no kedgeree). There were no sausages when I went to the stand and the mushrooms looked anemic, like they had come out of a tin. I asked for a teaspoon at one point and was told, in a very friendly but clearly serious manner: "that may be a problem". I thought that was an extraordinary response for a 5 star hotel. The used dishes piled up on our table and were not cleared until the end of the meal. None of these things spoiled my stay but they did catch my attention and that is why I have rated 4 stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: sophisticated comfort; excellent service; location; delightful public spaces for sitting, drinking and unwinding; a lovely place to return each day.
Cons: the bathroom door and the "free" internet which was only slow speed - you needed to pay to get normal speed.
Location: Brilliant location just off Trafalgar Square and the Mall.
The Sofitel St James is a beautiful escape from the bustle of London. Gloriously decorated, friendly and welcoming staff and opulently understated surrounds make this a delightful hotel. Our room was next to the gym and we never heard a thing the building is so well designed to control noise. The breakfast was delicious each morning and the bar staff produced perfect drinks each evening. Our only grizzle was the bathroom door which was dreadful - French doors that did not allow for noise separation between it and our bedroom. Other than that, it was a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant boutique type hotel.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Location: Less than a 1/2 mi. From Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Big Ben, Downing Street, Churchill War Rooms, Westminister Abbey & Trafalgar Square.
Beautiful hotel in very convenient location to major sightseeing attractions, shopping and restaurants. Staff is very accomadating. Restaurant and bar served good food with excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location Comfort of room Staff
Cons: Free Wi Fi Brighter lights More cheerful room decor
The hotel is in a perfect location, close to everything - can walk almost anywhere - a subway station is two blocks away, St. James park is two blocks away. Room was comfortable and quiet. Staff was wonderful. One negative is the room decor is somewhat dreary and the lighting is very dim - we did not have a view, would have helped to have brighter, more uplifting room. The other negative, was wi-fi is "free" - but at an extremely low speed - you really need to upgrade and pay the $15 for any time of working connection - given we were paying close to $1000 per night, I felt that was petty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Drain got stuffed.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The bed are comfortable!
Cons: The hotel must have 24 hours housekeeping.
Location: Dental, Shopping , Dinning.
In the midnight around 2:00am, I went to take a shower and find out the drain was stuffed and my bathroom are full of water; I call the housekeeping and no respond, they told me they have people on duty until 8:00am in the morning. I need to clean the bathroom by myself. This is awful and nightmare. I hope they can change the housekeeping into 24 hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic hotel - exceptionally central

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The beds, the staff, great restaurant, location
Cons: Drinks expensive!
Our stay at the Sofitel was perfect - the staff were the best I have ever encountered!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Feel like Royalty! If you want to be pampered in a setting that is luxe yet approachable, cool yet warm, stay at none other than Sofitel-St James. You'll be "Sir-ed" or "Madame-ed" your entire stay with impeccable amenities and first-class service. Regardless of where I travel, domestic or abroad, it's Sofitel from now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BUE, ARG

Excellent hotel near Picadilly

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Well located if you're looking for central london. Some rooms are bigger than other but all of them are in excellent condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel London St. James. Great location!! Nice shower, with excellent water pressure. The breakfast at the hotel restaurant was very nice too. Concierge was helpful; recommended 2 great restaurants that I would go back to during my next visit to London. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel London St. James again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location Cleanliness Friendly staff
Location: Excellent base to explore Mayfair St James park and theatre land.
We booked hotel on morning of stay as a secret hotel. The hotel was excellent. We were early arriving for check in and our room was not ready, but this was as we expected and only wanted to leave our bag. The reception staff were all very friendly and professional. They even apologised which was really not necessary. we returned at about 4pm to find they had upgraded us, which was a delightful surprise. The hotel is in an excellent location in the beautiful part of london that is St James. In easy walking distance of theatre and shopping & parks. It has a lovely bar and lounge area and is in a beautiful building. We are Londoners who often stay overnight in our own town, if we go to the theatre etc. We thought the location brilliant and the price amazing compared to others we have visited.