Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Arrived and didn't have a room for us!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed staying at The Stafford as they had a room for us rather than the St James club which when we arrived did have our booked and paid for room
I spent a long time looking into this booking as I was running London marathon on the Sunday and wanted easy access from the finish line back to the hotel, unfortunately when we arrived on Saturday 12th for our 1 night booked and paid for stay, we were informed that there had been some issue with the booking and they didn't have a room for us which we obviously were'nt very happy with, they did arrange for us to have a room at The Stafford,which was 2 mins away and of which we were very impressed with, as there was a slight delay in our room being ready they upgraded us to a lovely room in the courtyard cottages and rather than having to resort to sleeping on a park bench before my big race we had a great stay at The Stafford..... The st. James didn't offer us anything as an apology which was a shame but we did have an alternative room so in end we were happy but because of the great service we received from The Stafford, we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time

Posted Feb 21, 2014
This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and my wife and i were very impressed, the staff were extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great St James location - close to Picadilly

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Location - rooms were great - cozy restaurant - bar and lounge
Cons: Restaurant was too warm Monday night
Location: Shopping - St James - parks - dining
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in quiet location.

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Friendly , helpful team at Hotel. Had a wonderful experience from arrival to departure two nights later. Room luxurious , quiet and comfortable. Great bed . We had a delicious impromptu lunch in Williams bistro . Will come back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maggie from Surrey

A little gem in London

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Decor, cleanliness, service, location, friendliness...in fact it was everything we wanted for this visit.
Cons: Subdued lighting in the room gave a cosy ambience, but was too dark for dressing&hair drying! Brighter "task lights" when needed would be perfect!
Location: Just behind the Ritz hotel, Piccadilly. We dined at The Wolseley, next to the Ritz, just a short stroll away....but The Caprice is even closer!
We stayed there last weekend as we were attending our daughter's wedding in London. The hotel does not have its own car park, but were happy to valet park our car in a local car park and return it to us as we checked out....extra charges applied of course, but this was explained to us beforehand. The hotel is behind the Ritz, Piccadilly, but tucked away in a cul de sac, very quiet and away from the hustle bustle of London, we liked that very much. The hotel is luxurious and understated and renovated to a good standard with very pleasing and tasteful decor. The staff were both professional and extremely welcoming, and very willing to help with every request. The room was modern and quiet, air conditioned, well equipped with hairdryer, safe, free Wifi etc. It was very clean and provided robes, slippers and good quality bed linen and Penhaligon products in the bathroom. A very nice breakfast was served in the small but cosy dining room. This hotel doesn't have a spa or a pool but we loved the tasteful decor, it is relaxing and quietly sophisticated, and not at all pretentious, it would make a very good venue for a romantic weekend...we will definitely return..soon, I hope!!
3 out of 5
by Joan from suburb of NYC

Excellent location,cramped room

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: The room was very clean,the staff was generally helpful, although when I asked the concierge about underground connections he told me I should take ca
Location: The location was excellent. Few minute walk to the underground. Walk to Buckingham Palace & Picadilly Circus ,& Bond St. as well as St. James Park .
Signed up for a deluxe room,because that was the only way I could get separate beds.( traveled with my granddaughter).When we walked in, we couldn't believe how small & cramped the room was. The 2 twin beds were pushed together. There was a small desk in the room & a small separate chair. The closet was very small,too as was the bathroom. We were shown another room the next day but the rate was double what I was paying a night.The appointments of the room were lovely,- fabric wallpaper,some marble in the bathroom & everything was immaculate, but that didn't make up for the size of the room..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AG from Sweden

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Cons: Rooms could do with a kettle & tea/coffee trays.
Location: The Ritz is closeby as are the best shopping streets of London.
Charming gentlemen's club beautifully converted into a boutique establishment. Staff were very keen to please and took extra efforts to ensure all requests were taken care of. Had a business meeting during the stay and staff took extra care to ensure we had adequate space & privacy for it. Location's fabulous so great for a weekend trip to London!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barrie from West Sussex, UK

Luxury Mews Boutique in the heart of London

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Quiet Luxury
Location: Perfect location for shopping and theatre
Attractive boutique hotel in a quiet yet central position just off Piccadilly behind the Ritz. Theatre land, Shopping, Buckingham Palace, Mayfair all in walking distance. Beautiful old building in almost a mews type of position. Great staff, very helpful but not overpowering. Good Value luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hart of london

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Excellent all round in the heart of st james. Rooms could have been bigger, but still comfortable.