Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice small hotel near beautiful parks.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Location and its wonderful staff
Location: Very close to Buckingham palace. Within walking distance to all local sites. St. James Park is beautiful.
Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Hotel is centrally located. Enjoyed my stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chester

Service charge on breakfast!

Posted May 26, 2015
I've never been charged service charge on breakfast before and it was most unwelcome. I suggest you either stop or increase the price of breakfast instead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Quaint, charming and tucked away.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: It was very quaint and charming. A smaller boutique hotel with a very personal feel.
Cons: The shower was a little tough as it leaked all over because the glass door seal was broken and with the nature of the half shower glass it was WET!
Location: There was plenty to do nearby and it was accessible to all sorts of shopping and dining.
We stayed two nights at this hotel. The staff was great and very helpful in taking care of our needs and even pulled some strings to get a reservation we had a restaurant to include two additional guests (no easy feat at this place). I am only disappointed we did not get to enjoy a dining experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Internet issues and billing problems.

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. And well outfitted room and attentive staff.
Cons: Yes get a more robust router and fix your Wifi system. Staff should be more open about biling issues and discuss when wrong charges appear on bills
Location: Lots of good shopping, museums, restaurants and close to palaces etc.
I stayed recently 2 nights at the St. James while on business in London. I really like the location and had not stayed at this particular hotel before. The staff wery for the most part very good. The Wifi system in the hotel worked only sporadically and when I enquired they told me it was my computer/phone. When someone came to look he couldnt figure out what was wrong and said he might need to reset the systm...dah! And said if it was anything else he would have to call someone from outside. The reset worked in about 1/2 hour but the Wifi service was off and on several time and was not reliable. On checkout I was given a bill with many food charges that I had not made, as I ate nothing in the hotel. The staff eventually took off all the food charges but provided no explaination. Lastly I was a bit depressed to have basically no window in the room, a frosted pane and a very small top opening window which was about 3 feet from a wall, oh well what can you expect in the centre of London, and that really did not bother me too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Peace and quiet in central London

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
Good location for where we were meeting family. Paying a premium for central London. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Cannot rate other facilities as we did not eat here...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

StJ

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Ideal for business traveller
Cons: Better shower door to stop water going all over bathroom floor
Location: Good West End location. Business trip so things to do not relevant
Well organised hotel and staff. Excellent English Breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC USA

Conveniently located small hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: We liked the small size and well-trained staff.
Cons: The in-room details cited above should be replaced.
Location: St. James neighborhood is near Buckingham Palace, Green Park, St. James palace, as well as galleries and up-scale shops.
Our second stay. The hotel is easy to navigate. The staff is helpful and courteous. We chose a Junior suite which trades bedroom size for a small sitting room. Pluses are a very comfortable bed with a lightweight duvet, ample lighted closet and storage space, good ventilation, nice grooming supplies. Negatives of the black marble bathroom are silly designer touches - scanty space around washbowl for setting things down, fancy square faucets are set too close to backsplash wall; the ridiculous high-sided bathtub with abbreviated glass side is guaranteed to throw water on the floor, a fancy overhead shower makes it hard to wash and rinse whole body and a small spray attachment seemed inoperative.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

Very nice staff

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: better concierge service
problems with wifi, difficult to connect. Sunday night issue of getting advice on late restaurant openings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jeanette from CA,USA

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Staff are friendly and helpful... Great location and room is small but comfortable...Love it..