Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Arrived and didn't have a room for us!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed staying at The Stafford as they had a room for us rather than the St James club which when we arrived did have our booked and paid for room
I spent a long time looking into this booking as I was running London marathon on the Sunday and wanted easy access from the finish line back to the hotel, unfortunately when we arrived on Saturday 12th for our 1 night booked and paid for stay, we were informed that there had been some issue with the booking and they didn't have a room for us which we obviously were'nt very happy with, they did arrange for us to have a room at The Stafford,which was 2 mins away and of which we were very impressed with, as there was a slight delay in our room being ready they upgraded us to a lovely room in the courtyard cottages and rather than having to resort to sleeping on a park bench before my big race we had a great stay at The Stafford..... The st. James didn't offer us anything as an apology which was a shame but we did have an alternative room so in end we were happy but because of the great service we received from The Stafford, we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time

Posted Feb 21, 2014
This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and my wife and i were very impressed, the staff were extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Iain Campbell from Illinois, USA

My Favorite Hotel in London

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I first found this hidden gem on a business trip with it's location close to Lancaster House where I was meeting, I have since stayed here on each of my visits to London, both Business and Leisure. Service is impeccable, location can't be beaten and the ambiance of this small hotel makes it a gem. If you stay here eat at the restaurant ... one of the best in London
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ambass. H from Bellevue

Return-customer greeted personally

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
When my private club is full, I 'overflow' to the STJ. Greeted, and sometimes updgraded, with gracious civility. And, the salade nicoise is brilliant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Doug from Fort Worth

Quick theater trip.

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, very convenient to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great St James location - close to Picadilly

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Location - rooms were great - cozy restaurant - bar and lounge
Cons: Restaurant was too warm Monday night
Location: Shopping - St James - parks - dining
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in quiet location.

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Friendly , helpful team at Hotel. Had a wonderful experience from arrival to departure two nights later. Room luxurious , quiet and comfortable. Great bed . We had a delicious impromptu lunch in Williams bistro . Will come back .
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BEL's King-Harman from London

My wedding night

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quality of service was a huge letdown as was our room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by br thewlis from bogota

Inadequte basement room

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Noisy air con, curtains that do not close, allowing light from outside, which is on all night to enter room. Hotel bar and staff excellent, however do not stay in room 109.