Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Conveniently located central london & close to tub

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Small room (single) but was fine for what I needed. Basic, clean. Lots of stairs! Luckily I'm fit. Could be a bit noisy depending on your fellow neighbours. Friendly staff. Great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for single traveler on a budget

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Fantastic location next to Regents Park. Variety of food options close by. 2 minutes to Underground station. Rooms are perfect for single traveler. In room coffee and modern tv were a plus. Was able to watch Netflix using HDMI inpuf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Single Traveler from USA

Very well-situated nice no frills hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Kensington Gardens Hotel for 8 nights. Because of this long stay I was apparently given one of the larger single rooms because I was told that I should be comfortable for a longer stay. The hotel has no elevator but my room was only on the second floor. Wi-fi (which was free) strength was reasonable there, and there was also the option to use the wi-fi of the Phoenix Hotel next door, with which this hotel is affiliated. My room had a shared bathroom, but that just meant that only the toilet was outside the room (not far) while the shower and sink were in the room. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Mine overlooked the garden. The television had a good number of channels as well as radio. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location is excellent, in West London near Bayswater and Queensway Underground stations with numerous buses also available. The only real annoyance is that you have to leave and pick up your key at the desk when you leave, and the hotel desk is only open during business hours. Outside those hours you have to do this at the Phoenix Hotel next door, where the desk is staffed 24 hours a day. The Phoenix hotel is also where breakfast is served, which is continental and is pretty good (cereal, juices, fruit, bread, eggs, coffee). Overall, a very affordable no frills hotel. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by Brenda from St. Louis, MO

Pretty building, no amenities

Posted Jun 11, 2014
On a lightly-traveled street, not well-lit; after 5 pm, the room key (kept at the front desk) was transferred to the adjoining Phoenix hotel for retrieval upon return. It Was necessary to buzz in each hotel, no matter the hour, but at night, the key was given back, one had to exit and walk down the block to be buzzed into the Kensington Gardens. I was not comfortable except the nights I was accompanied. The front desk manager at the Kensington Gardens was delightful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
A very convenient and pleasant place to stay. Very welcoming & helpful staff. Wonderful lady Roxana who helped with taxi and advice and extremely welcoming - she sold me on hospitality and friendliness - so special in London over the years. If she is there I would stay again & recommend definitely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Vancouver, Canada

My London Base

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The manageress at the Top Kensington has been ever so helpful to me arranging rooms at short notice.
Cons: Could use a lift but that will never happen given the age and grade of the structure.
Location: A stones throw away from Queensway which is one of London's most colorful streets. Easy access to two tube stations and plenty of taxis.
The Top Kensington Hotel is my favourite hotel in London given its location, price, and wonderful staff. I have stayed there five times in the past three years and consider it my London Base. It also serves a robust English breakfast at its sister hotel next door. The surrounding neighbourhood is safe and fairly quiet. In all my stays there I have never had a problem within or outside the hotel. Highly recommended for the budget conscious, traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by EMILIO from HOUSTON

THE HOTEL ITS NICE CLOSE TO THE LONDON CITY

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: THE BREAKFAST
Cons: GOOD
Location: TO THE CENTRAL OF LONDON CITY
FOR ME IS WAS AMAZING ,ALL SERVICE IS PROFESIONAL THANK YOU
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sergey from Boston, MA

Small rooms but great price

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Great location, cheap price, clean.
Great hotel, clean, good location, amazing staff. The woman downstairs is the friendliest person ever. The only inconvenience is the fact that they have no receptionist at night and you need to ask people in the next hotel (Phoenix Hotel) to open the main door for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Massimo Comi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Ottawa

Good location, close to Paddington and Bayswater.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: One tube stop from Paddington.
Location: One block off Queensway and close to Hyde Park. Restaurants and pubs on your doorstep.
Budget hotel, clean, smallish room, not too noisy.