Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Adorable Hotel close to the British Museum

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The hotel staff was so welcoming and were extremely helpful with everything from coffee when I arrived to booking me a taxi to the airport. I had a small room, but the charm, impeccable cleanliness, and the lovely garden made up for it. I would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big Mistake

Posted Aug 16, 2014
I was very disappointed with this Hotel. The carpet in the room was stained and the bathroom was disgusting. We checked out the same day we checked in. It is unfortunate that I actually had to pay $300 for one night and didn't even stay the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Considered

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent
Cons: They are currently undergoing an air on refit so ensure your room ash a functioning system.
Location: Excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good Small Hotel, Well Located

Posted Jul 24, 2014
We stayed at the Academy for seven nights and found it to be a fine accommodation. The hotel is quaint, well maintained, clean and pleasant, and the staff was helpful. The room we had (the regular double), was of ample size, but had a very small bathroom and a very limited amount of storage space for our clothing. However, those things were manageable and, in general, our room and the hotel were quite nice. The location, near the British Museum and the University of London, was excellent for us, as it is on the edge of the more busy (and more expensive) areas, but within reasonable walking distance of central London (about a 10-15 minute walk to Trafalgar Sq., Leicester Sq., Regent St., Picadilly, and Covent Garden and 5 minute walk to the Underground at Russell Sq.). We would have no hesitation in staying at the Academy again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, England

Excellent hotel, perfect location, Central London

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Character, clean, perfect location, welcoming.........
Cons: Nothing
Location: Regent street, Oxford street and Covent Garden all within a 10/15 minute walk...... The English museum is across the road(4 minute walk) ........
This hotel is perfectly placed to walk to London's central shopping areas..... Covent garden, Oxford street and Regent street. The hotel itself is a lovely small boutique style hotel, and has close access to the underground at Goodge Street, museums and everything London has to offer! Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely slighty retro experience

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: location, quiet ambience,great A/C
Cons: less clutter in closet
Location: Terrific buses,metro within two blocks,
friendly,helpfuil,very much like my experience in London during the 1950s. courteous guests. small room-bring less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin & Inge from North Wales

Nice, clean, hotel but somewhat old fashioned

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Convenient for Euston Road and mainline stations. Buses pas door but Southbound only. Good quality furniture. Polite and helpful staff. Nice lounge.
Cons: Without doubt, installation of lift. Otherwise warning of non-provision.
Location: Fairly central and transport links. Good restaurants within walking distance.
Requested twin beds but given twins pushed together and only one duvet provided (which was not even wide enough for a standard double!) This was rectified with good enough grace by supplying another single duvet. NB. Duvets should be min.18 inches wider than the mattress for adequate cover. Room was on top floor with 100 stairs to climb to get there. No indication of this when making reservation A bit much fir the over 70s! Shower head too high to reach for adjustment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great area, but demand a good room

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We took a side trip mid-stay. The first room we stayed in was substandard--shockingly cramped, almost rooming house-ish, plumbing that groaned--and that was after we asked to be moved from a worse room! But the room we got after the side trip was great, bright, pleasant, enjoyable. The area--Bloomsbury, near the British Museum, and restaurants--is excellent.