Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great position. Close to South Kensington Station

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: It's a great position. Very clean and great friendly staff
Cons: Just keep up the good work as it is working.
Location: Victoria and Albert plus the Science museum. Plenty to amuse in all weather as is required in London.
All amenities in the room. Including free mini bar and wifi. Rooms quite small but very comfortable. Great eating places near by at all price levels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Florida

Great location and staff

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Beautiful decor, excellent staff and location. The heated bathroom floor was great!
Cons: Room near the school was a bit noisy during the day.
Location: A quick walk to the tube station puts you in touch with all of London.
We stayed here for three nights and we're very impressed with the hotel itself, staff and location. It is just a very shorty walk to the tube station. From the moment we arrived, the staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The doorman Alexander deserves special mention... he went above and beyond to help us. Just a tip, if you plan to sleep during the day, ask for a room away from the school.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: What not to like?
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to south Ken station and walking distance to great restaurants and Harrods.
Hotels are often judged on the wrong aspects. Yes, this hotel was in an excellent position and the food and drink were, for London, both of high quality yet not overpriced. Yes , the rooms were small for the UK but normal for London but they were clean, comfortable and the bathroom was wonderful. Yes, the small touches such as free wi-fi and a cute games room were wonderful. But what sets it apart is the staff. They were friendly but not cloying, attentive yet not subservient and had a sense of humour. Without a doubt, this is now our number one hotel in London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel in a Great Location!

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Fans and "Purell" wipes for the gym.
Spent a week in London and this hotel was great for us. And just a block from the South Kensington Station. Beautiful hotel throughout and don't miss the restaurant on the lower floor. We had dinner there are last night and it exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SS from Scotland

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: The hotel is fresh, modern and ver clean. The staff are excellent - professional but friendly.
Cons: Stop allocating tiny rooms
Location: Just a 1 minute walk from South Kensington tube station. Very close to the Natural History Museum and the V&A. Close to good shopping areas.
This is a great hotel in an ideal location. We were initially allocated a vey tiny room but were moved at our request with the minimum of fuss. Both rooms and all the public areas are decorated and maintained to a very high standard. We wouldn't hesitate to either go back again or to recommend this hotel to our friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gwenn from NC

If my mom was pleased, this place is great!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Close to the bank and subway.
Cons: Room size, but there's nothing that could be done about that
Location: South Kensington station is not even a block away, so there is easy access to all of the city. Consider getting an Oyster card or travel card.
The hotel staff was always kind and responsive to our needs. The room was very small, but the bathroom was very large (I think they gave us a disabled accessible room). If we listened closely, we could hear the subway, but it in no way detracted fom our stay. The subway was not even a block away, which made getting around the city very easy. If I ever return to London, I'll definitely try to stay at The Ampersand again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ali

Lovely plush hotel next to South Kensington

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The decor, location and staff!
Cons: Room size, but I guess if you pay more, they get bigger!!
Location: 1 min Sth Kensington tube, 3 mins Hyde Park by foot.
Thoroughly enjoyed our short break at the Ampersand. It is not cheap, but is so worth it. Arrived very early and was allocated a room before check-in which unfortunately looked directly into a wall. Headed out for the afternoon and by the time we came back, the room had been changed at our request and our luggage moved. Nothing was too much for the very helpful staff. The hotel is simply gorgeous from top to bottom and the location for Hyde park and exploring London was fab. The room we had was small but perfectly formed and the bathroom was plush with all you could want for luxury! Highly recommend for couples and those wanting to indulge a little bit!
3 out of 5
by Bob

Very small - but OK aside from that.

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Given the price, very small rooms, even for the area. Great staff though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brisneylandkim from Brisbane, Qld

Fantastic London Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Staff, room features, free water/soft drink/juice in the minibar, bar in hotel.
Cons: The light switches were a bit confusing.
Location: Right next door to South Kensington tube station so convenient to those coming from Heathrow. Also very close to V&A and other museums.
From the personal delivery to the room at check-in, the wonderful high tech features, the comfortable bedding, fabulous bar and perfect London location, this hotel checked all the boxes for a fabulous stay. Would definitely recommend to others.