Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As advertised

Posted Feb 12, 2015
My room was great, staff friendly and helpful, location was awesome, one of the better hotel experiences I've had in recent memory ...and wonderful by Europe standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming 5 star in central London

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Location: Amazing location opposite Green Park and easy walking distance to Picaddily Circus. Close to all the major sights in central London.
From the friendly check in, the wonderful room, the quirky but stylish decor, you can feel a sense of class and style but no stuffiness, Stayed as a family for new year celebrations and had the most wonderful experience. The bar has a cosy and sophisticated vibe, and the mini bar had a great selection, including ice cream that the kids enjoyed. Not a cheap hotel, but worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom manchester

Christmas break

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Lovely warm relaxing stay in this beautiful clean, tidy, welcoming hotel! Will be staying again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom İstanbul

Posh but cosy lovely hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Gentleman door man (old one), starts and ends the day with a huge friendly smile. Thank you. Room was always clean. Technical staff were very decent. People work in the lobby/concierge have to smile. This is very important. All in all we were fully satisfied with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central London

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Great location across from Green Park within walking distance of Harrods, Buckingham Palace, other sights, and easy access to subway. A lot of cool restaurants and pubs in the Mayfair area a few minutes walk away. The rooms are nicely appointed, very good restaurant, very accommodating and helpful staff. I would definitely stay at the Athenaeum again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The doormen.
Cons: See above.
This was the most unpleasant hotel stay I have ever endured and it is the first that I have ever bothered to write about online. Future guests should be warned: I was given a room on the ground floor of one of the Athenaeum’s rear townhouse properties that are not connected to the main building on Piccadilly. The room was too small and the bed too big - even the hotel staff grumbled about trying to wedge themselves into the room to pick up a tray or move luggage in or out. But this is not even the main reason for this negative review. From the moment that I checked in, I could smell cigarette smoke in the room. It continued for the next two days, commencing very early in the morning until very late at night. I complained immediately and was assured by the front desk that they would "investigate," that they would "look right into it," that they would see to it that whoever was responsible was "fined." It took me two days to realize that the source was not some phantom guest smoking above me but the staff of the hotel smoking in the alley below my window, where I discovered a large standing ashtray after I finally thought to look out the window. The alley was ankle deep in still smoldering butts. Workers standing there smoking informed me that this was their designated smoking area. When confronted, the hotel finally apologized and moved my room to the main building. Too little too late. An outrage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulinefrom TEESSIDE

A GEM IN CENTRAL LONDON

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our first stay, despite recommendations from friends who always stay here. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite. We had a lovely light room with views over Green Park. There was a modern four poster bed, a lovely sitting room and luxurious bathroom.The staff were really friendly and helpful. We loved the restaurant where we had lunch and breakfast. The food was delicious and well priced. Returning from a concert we had a late supper in the whisky bar, excellent again. I would definitely recommend the Athenaeum. We found it a haven of peace after a busy day. It is convenient for many of the city's attractions and we hope it won't be too long until we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

London

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful time in London. Hotel was in a perfect location! Friendly staff, especially Jim one of the wonderful greeters/valet! Only downside-- very small spa. Also, rooms were a little tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Location,a walk thru the beautiful park will take you straight to Buckingham Palace, safe, quiet, close to the underground, and clean. Doorman was the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ウクライナ

ロンドンの中心

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: ロケーションとスタッフの対応
Cons: 朝ごはんのバリエーション
Location: バッキンガム宮殿、ピカデリー徒歩圏内
当ホテルは何と言っても場所が便利。ロンドンの観光にはうってつけのロケーション。バッキンガム宮殿は歩いて、10分、ピカデリーもバスで5分。 ホテル自体はこじんまりとしていて、スタッフもフレンドリー。次回もまた利用したい。