Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central London

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Great location across from Green Park within walking distance of Harrods, Buckingham Palace, other sights, and easy access to subway. A lot of cool restaurants and pubs in the Mayfair area a few minutes walk away. The rooms are nicely appointed, very good restaurant, very accommodating and helpful staff. I would definitely stay at the Athenaeum again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The doormen.
Cons: See above.
This was the most unpleasant hotel stay I have ever endured and it is the first that I have ever bothered to write about online. Future guests should be warned: I was given a room on the ground floor of one of the Athenaeum’s rear townhouse properties that are not connected to the main building on Piccadilly. The room was too small and the bed too big - even the hotel staff grumbled about trying to wedge themselves into the room to pick up a tray or move luggage in or out. But this is not even the main reason for this negative review. From the moment that I checked in, I could smell cigarette smoke in the room. It continued for the next two days, commencing very early in the morning until very late at night. I complained immediately and was assured by the front desk that they would "investigate," that they would "look right into it," that they would see to it that whoever was responsible was "fined." It took me two days to realize that the source was not some phantom guest smoking above me but the staff of the hotel smoking in the alley below my window, where I discovered a large standing ashtray after I finally thought to look out the window. The alley was ankle deep in still smoldering butts. Workers standing there smoking informed me that this was their designated smoking area. When confronted, the hotel finally apologized and moved my room to the main building. Too little too late. An outrage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom monaco

Cosy boutique hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: location
Clean and comfortable room (deluxe room) and very central location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Good location for theater fans....

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent for us as we wanted to attend some shows.
Cons: The plumbing was a bit difficult- we had to request repairs twice.
Location: Buckingham Palace, Reagent St Shopping, The National Gallery, Picadilly Circus (and shows), Chinatown, Parliment and Big Ben were all nearby.
Comfortable, fairly modern hotel close to Buckingham Palace, good ethnic restaurants and a short walk to Picadilly Circus. The hotel was clean and comfortable and included free non-alcoholic beverages from the mini-bar as well as free, fast, WIFI.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Danfrom Pitsburgh, PA

Must Have Been Great in the 70s

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is adequate at best. Not a luxury hotel by any means and the 4 and 5 star ratings I see must be either outdated or compensated. This hotel is in a nice location but is well past its prime. I have stayed in several luxury hotels in London and wanted to visit the Athenaeum because of the reviews and the history of the hotel. There is no reason to visit it again. The staff is friendly, but only to a point. I arrived at 7AM from the US having booked a king bed and requested an early check-in. I was told, and understood, this was based on availability, as is typical. I took a stroll, ate breakfast and checked again 90 minutes later and was told no rooms were available despite watching at least 10 guests check out while I waited aside for the reception desk to be free. I even paid for an upgrade at the counter in order to get the first room available - mistake. I continued to check-in periodically only to be brushed off. At 11:30, I was finally led to a small room, albeit with a limited park view. The room was tired, carpet was stained, the fixtures were outdated, and the twin-sized mattress was soft, but I was too tired to argue. This is a decent tourist hotel but is certainly not a luxury choice, given the wealth of options in London. The outdated style and furnishings were almost comical, not as an homage, but in a sad way. Like so many other icons of the past, it is tired now, but I bet it was swinging in the 70s...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home from home

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We have been coming to this hotel for the last 7 years at least twice a year and it never disappoints! Excellent for families, and they really know how to pamper their young guests too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LitteLfrom Essex

Great location and great service

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Athenaeum Hotel was a great find. The location was great and the room was very well appointed and looked over Green Park. All of the staff that we met were very friendly, efficient and very helpful. We hope to stay more than one night the next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Markfrom Wales

Brilliant stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Will stay on next trip to London
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Stay - Pretty Penny

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel was great, but I wish at that rate I wish it would have had a swimming pool. I must have unchecked that requirement in my filter search. Staff was awesome, whiskey bar was great, complimentary bike rental was a really nice feature too. Room Service food was ok at best.