Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom İstanbul

Posh but cosy lovely hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Gentleman door man (old one), starts and ends the day with a huge friendly smile. Thank you. Room was always clean. Technical staff were very decent. People work in the lobby/concierge have to smile. This is very important. All in all we were fully satisfied with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in central London

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Great location across from Green Park within walking distance of Harrods, Buckingham Palace, other sights, and easy access to subway. A lot of cool restaurants and pubs in the Mayfair area a few minutes walk away. The rooms are nicely appointed, very good restaurant, very accommodating and helpful staff. I would definitely stay at the Athenaeum again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The doormen.
Cons: See above.
This was the most unpleasant hotel stay I have ever endured and it is the first that I have ever bothered to write about online. Future guests should be warned: I was given a room on the ground floor of one of the Athenaeum’s rear townhouse properties that are not connected to the main building on Piccadilly. The room was too small and the bed too big - even the hotel staff grumbled about trying to wedge themselves into the room to pick up a tray or move luggage in or out. But this is not even the main reason for this negative review. From the moment that I checked in, I could smell cigarette smoke in the room. It continued for the next two days, commencing very early in the morning until very late at night. I complained immediately and was assured by the front desk that they would "investigate," that they would "look right into it," that they would see to it that whoever was responsible was "fined." It took me two days to realize that the source was not some phantom guest smoking above me but the staff of the hotel smoking in the alley below my window, where I discovered a large standing ashtray after I finally thought to look out the window. The alley was ankle deep in still smoldering butts. Workers standing there smoking informed me that this was their designated smoking area. When confronted, the hotel finally apologized and moved my room to the main building. Too little too late. An outrage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ウクライナ

ロンドンの中心

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: ロケーションとスタッフの対応
Cons: 朝ごはんのバリエーション
Location: バッキンガム宮殿、ピカデリー徒歩圏内
当ホテルは何と言っても場所が便利。ロンドンの観光にはうってつけのロケーション。バッキンガム宮殿は歩いて、10分、ピカデリーもバスで5分。 ホテル自体はこじんまりとしていて、スタッフもフレンドリー。次回もまた利用したい。
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mann44

Gjennomgående bra

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beliggenheten er meget god på Piccadilly. Rolige gater bak hotellet med bra servicetilbud. Rom i "town house" del av hotellet ga mindre støy og meget bra standard. Gjennomgående bra service selv om det ikker "outstanding". Prøvde ikke maten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom monaco

Cosy boutique hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: location
Clean and comfortable room (deluxe room) and very central location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M.E. Kleefrom California

Friendly Staff and Favorable Location

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Standard Room of my first night was a disappointment as my room on a previous stay had overlooked Green Park. The phones didn't work properly and their was construction noise. I was moved to a much better deluxe room for the next 2 nights at the same price but there were still phone issues that required multiple complaints before they were fixed. Still the pluses outweighed the minuses and I would return.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris K.from Mexico City

Bait and Switch as hotel policy

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is listed as a 5 star hotel, there is an expectation for the quality of the room at this level. I booked a king bed room. Upon check in I was told my room was not in the hotel, but outside and around the corner. Very small, uncomfortable with windows that looked right onto some sort of giant machine that was very loud. A 3 star room at best. I asked if I could be shown another room and was shown a great room but was told it would be over DOUBLE the price I had already paid! I said I wanted a more comfortable room at the same price and was told I could only have the room I was shown for that price... They showed me two more rooms, both would be a significant extra charge. This is a classic bait and switch. You pay for what should be a good room, and then you are pushed into spending a lot of extra for what you should have been given in the first place. Finally I got a room that was nice and comfortable and well appointed. But I had to spend an extra 50% over what I had already paid. I was quite unhappy with the situation, and politely explained why to the hotel staff. I was never contacted again to offer any sort of apology or accommodation to my concerns. So I realized this hotel is just about squeezing you for as much money as they can get, with a pleasant attitude of course, but still I really felt taken advantage of and that the hotel staff really didn't care.... they were happy just to squeeze a tourist for some extra money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tania RTfrom Essex

Lovely hotel but service a little disorganised

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a comfortable hotel in an excellent location. We were given a free upgrade which was nice and considering we were on one of the busiest roads in London it was increadibly quiet. On the downside the front desk was a little disorganised - there was a confusion over our rate (all was correct on checking out however) and I ended up handing over my credit card three times on checking in as deposits were taken, refunded and taken again. The restaurant was too busy to accommodate us for breakfast but we were offered room service instead. Nice enough to give them another chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Good location for theater fans....

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent for us as we wanted to attend some shows.
Cons: The plumbing was a bit difficult- we had to request repairs twice.
Location: Buckingham Palace, Reagent St Shopping, The National Gallery, Picadilly Circus (and shows), Chinatown, Parliment and Big Ben were all nearby.
Comfortable, fairly modern hotel close to Buckingham Palace, good ethnic restaurants and a short walk to Picadilly Circus. The hotel was clean and comfortable and included free non-alcoholic beverages from the mini-bar as well as free, fast, WIFI.