Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LIVERPOOL

a very pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The ambiance ;the very spacious immaculate bedroom;the best breakfast ever; the waitress service.
Cons: Cant think of anything
Location: Went to the Museum of London and the Guildhall gallery . Postmans park and several churches Wandered around historic streets.Great pub down the rd.
we have stayed in many more central hotels In London over 50 years but decided on a change of location. We loved the hotel from the minute we entered.It was like country house hotels in places such as Bath or Hereford rather than the the large London hotels St Giles or the Strand Palace where we usually stay.It was peaceful and relaxing and unhurried-and so reasonable.Every need was supplied- iron, hair dryer a range of drinks and biscuits for example-all you would have for guests in your own home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Fort Lauderdale

Great Hotel close to the Tower of London

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and room rate with breakfast included. Free Wifi in room.
Cons: The Business Center Computer could be faster.
Location: Great Location near Tower Hill, Tower of London, St. Katherine's Docks, Tower Bridge, and Tower Hill & Aldgate Circle Line Stations
I've had the pleasure of staying at this hotel twice. It's a short walk to the Tower of London and both underground stations for the Circle Line. I found the rate to be very reasonable for the level of facilities and service. Make sure your breakfast is included in the room rate as it is very good and for a party of two will save you some money. With the breakfast rate, they offer more than just a continental breakfast, it's a full English Breakfast. The staff was very helpful in selecting area restaurants (St Katherine's Docks are very close with a good selection of restaurants to choose from.) Bodeans's Smoke House is a short walk and the food is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by veeb from coventry

Good location close to underground stations

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Location very good, staff very helpful. Breakfasts are great. Lovely room size, well equipped.
Location: Close to 2 tube stations. Easy access to Spittlefields/Shoreditch/Brick Lane markets. Close to T of L, Tower Bridge and river.
This hotel was easy to get to from Euston. Very well situated close to two stations thus giving easy access to all parts of London. The hotel is small and cosy, rooms really comfortable and well stocked with tea/coffee facilities. Lovely sized rooms and very quiet. Nice having an empty fridge available to put own purchases in. There are plenty of places to eat, particularly the Italian restaurant on Commercial Road and Poppins - superb fish and chips. Good food at the pub attached to hotel. We bought discount tickets to see Jersey Boys - definitely recommend it. Also went on Emirates Flight across the river - excellent views of London and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Newport, Wales.

Short stay with friends.

Posted May 5, 2014
Stayed at the chamberlain hotel as a group of 6. Check in was smooth and the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Before the stay, I stated that it was my girlfriends 18th birthday and on the bed in our room was a card from the hotel which was a nice touch. Soon after we arrived we noticed a stain in my girlfriends dress so we alerted reception and they sorted out dry cleaning to be sorted for the next day which was a life saver! We had one of the updated rooms which was really nice and modern. We payed for the breakfast to be included in our package and were not disappointed. A wide range of options from fruit to the traditional cooked breakfast which were presented with a touch of class. The hotel offered out of hours room service which was a life saver after coming back from a late night out. Reception were very helpful in answering any questions we had about travel and general London queries and the location was quite away from the hustle and bustle of London even though it was a short walk away from Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we were not disappointed as the chamberlain hotel helped make our London break one to remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy with Chamberlain

Posted May 5, 2014
Great location for tourists. We felt that we received good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely not 4 stard

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Cons: Needs a facelift.
Location: Location is great, next to Aldgate and Tower Hill stations. Go to the Minories pub, great food.
Everything was OK and clean, staff was very friendly. But everything's kind of old and used. I don't think this is a 4-star hotel, by any measure. 3.5 perhaps... It gets the job done, e.g. if on a business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Boris from Moscow, Russia

Reasonable hotel in the City

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The location & comfortable room & bed.
Cons: The windows were extremely dirty and had gaps.
Location: The City & the Tower
A good choice to stay if you are in the City on business. The hotel is small and fairly cozy, the staff is friendly & OK. The rooms are in good condition, especially in comparison with other hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janice from Cambridgeshire

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, food
Cons: Kettle and tea/coffee in room
Location: Located in quiet street near Aldgate & Tower Hill tube stations. Tower Bridge & Tower of London walking distance. London Eye tube ride away.
Close to Underground Stations. Tower of London at end of street. Room quiet and very clean. Breakfast and Dinner good quality. Only complaint is no tea and coffee available in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Female

Nice 4 star hotel near tower bridge

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Hotel reception team were efficient and business like but not very friendly. English girl on breakfast was lovely as was the gentleman who helped out with breakfast and did some porter work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A City hotel very convenient for Lloyd's.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: It works.
Cons: The lift.
Location: EC3 offices and Tower Hill.
This hotel has been a favourite of mine for over 12 years. It has all the usual facilities but with a popular and convenient pub attached. It forms the centre of my business activities when I visit London from Asia.