Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds

It could be so nice

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: The staff and proximity to the 31 and 6 bus routes
Cons: Everything about the hotel. It needs a total face-lift and deep clean.
I'd love to be able to write wonderful things about the Chippenham. It's in a great location, in a traditional London pub with welcoming and friendly staff. However... the room was appalling. It smelled fusty, to the point where when i left, my clothes smelled of old dog. The shower was cold, rusty and dripped all night long. The 'window' that ran across the top of the room couldn't be opened and looked directly into a hallway which was lit. The shoddy attempt at a curtain didn't even fit, so I spent the night in a well lit bedroom. I was awoken throughout the night due to the noise of people opening doors and walking on the cheap laminate flooring. Breakfast was cheap cereal with warm whole milk, but the croissants and orange juice were fine, just don't rely on a very busy house keeper to be available to serve you coffee as he's likely to be busy trying to make the best of a bad hotel! I would like to stay there again, given it's location, it's on some great bus lines and the area is pretty (and not intimidating as other reviewers have said) it just needs some serious investment before I'd consider it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Vijfrom UK

not Worth it

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not worth the Location.Room not clean,room is hot with no ventilation.Music playing loud till late night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bmacfrom San Mateo, CA

dont expect much

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
A really old place. Employees nice and helpful. Bathroom almost unusable. Poor shower and rotten smell from tolite. Windows did not open. It was fun to stay above a bar. Very nice for sightseeing with the bus line right outside and the underground 1/4 mile away. Should include that a simple Cont-breakfest was included. Very helpful went touring the city on limited time. It worked for us as we spent very few hours "IN" the room only using it for showering and sleeping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andyfrom Halifax

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked the hotel because if was the cheapest none sharing room I could find. When I got there I was given the key and basic directions on how to get to my room. I found the right floor easy enough but the layout was a little strange. It took me a few minutes to actually locate my room. Having only had 4 hours sleep in the last 48 hours, I thought I'd try and get some sleep. Even though it was about 3pm in the afternoon, the music from downstairs was too load to allow for rest. I could clearly hear every single song that was played. So no afternoon snooze to recharge batteries was possible. I went out for the evening and when I got back the music was still going 23:30. The music started to die down a little and I managed to fall asleep. I was woken up at about 6am with the sun coming though the windows (no curtains). The room itself was ok, nothing special. A few things needed attention. But I can't complain about the cleanliness. I left having had enough sleep to get me through the day. Next time I visit London I think I may try and find a slightly better hotel. It did what I needed it to do. But only just.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

did the job perfectly

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
not expensive and friendly staff. all the basics covered as it's obviously not the RITZ
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, very basic.

Posted Jun 16, 2013
No decent reception area - pub is reception. Noise can be heard from room. Window in room leads to a corridor which is lit all night - therefore you sleep in a lit up room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Benfrom Cardiff, UK

Cheap and cheerful. No complaints.

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Clean, friendly and in a nice area
Cons: No blinds at the window. Noise from the bar could be a problem if early night is needed.
I needed a place to stay at very short notice and was a bit dubious about staying above a pub, particularly as it was so cheap. But the staff were friendly and very helpful, it was clean, comfortable and I could barely hear the traffic. When I arrived and was unpacking the music from the bar downstairs was loud enough to sing along to it (although good choice of music) but when I got back to the hotel that night, the bar was closed and I slept really well. I think typical closing time is 11PM, Midnight at weekends, so if you need an early night it might be a problem. Blinds or curtains at the window would have been a bonus. It was frosted glass and high up so absolutely private, but light streamed in through the hallway window. Breakfast was again basic, (croissants and cereal) but absolutely fine. I hadn't actually expected there to be breakfast included. It's situated fairly close to both Maida Vale and Warwick Ave tube stations (about 15 mins walk from either) and is in a fairly nice part of the city not far from Little Venice. So a great, low budget place to stay if you're on your own and just need a bed for the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Artyfrom New York, USA

Not a family hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2012
This hotel is very well located and the people running it are very frienly.