Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LeeanneUK from Coventry

Good Value nice hotel. Will be back

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: locaton, room, staff
Cons: bath
Booked at very short notice and got a lovely room. Very small bathroom but fine for 1 night stay. Spotless, great location. I am a big fan of the Grange group of hotels with a special fondness for the Grange St Pauls and was concerned this smaller version of a grange hotel would dissapoint. It did not. Only downside was the bath/shower was so high sided I could not get in to shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sophie from milton keynes

Perfect in every way

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The hotel was a 15minute walk from euston and we arrived 3hrs early (I had emailed to check this was ok) but our room was ready and we'd been upgraded! The room was clean massive bed and a clean bathroom. On leaving the hotel to go for a walk we mentioned to the lady on reception that the sink tap was a bit loose and by the time we came back late afternoon it had been fixed. Location hotel staff all of it was perfect I couldn't fault it
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by An Expat from Geneva, Switzerland

Nice hotel, close to Russel Square and Holborn

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Nice hotel, walking distance from Russel Square and Holborn stations (Picadilly Line) as well as a short walk from major theaters and Covent Garden. The staff was helpful and polite, but the wifi is NOT FREE and OVERPRICED as well as the breakfast, however there are many places close by you can have an excellent breakfast at. The lift didn't work for the 4 days we were and we had to go up every day 3 flights of stairs (add to that that the the picadilly line and central line of the underground are being maintained and you either had to wait a lot to make your way to the lift or walk 297 to 350 steps so every day as well) so we were exhausted from all the stair climbing and walking (and we're 10K runners). Any way, we had a good time and the staff was very helpful, our room smelled like cigarette smoke when we checked in, we complained and were immediately switched to another room. The hotel needs a little remodeling (but that's very common in most hotels throughout europe), but the room was VERY clean and comfortable. I would go back without thinking it twice, for the price!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by LP from Brooklyn, NY

I Will Not Return to The Clarendon

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The cheerless staff was incredibly unhelpful. When we checked out they didn't even offer to help my girlfriend and me take our bags out to the taxi. They left the lugging for us. Don't expect Internet service either, unless you're willing to pay something like five pounds for the hour (maybe two?) or 10 pounds for an entire day. Even use of their fitness center will cost you extra. The room was so tiny, the bed took up most of it, which made moving around the room difficult and finding a comfortable place to stow our luggage the pits. Not to mention, the floor was slanted, which would have made a game of marbles difficult. But the bathroom was comfortable--if you don't count the vent in the ceiling, which sounded like a clogged vacuum and ran the whole time we were there. We had to shut the bathroom door, so we could sleep. All in all, a lame, overpriced hotel in a wonderful city. When I return to London I will not be staying at The Clarendon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
2 out of 5
by Teri from Boston

The Clarendon London

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The location.
Cons: The rooms, the lobby, having a restaurant / bar onsite.
Location: This hotel is in the Bloomsbury district of London on the Piccadilly line. It is very convenient to shopping districts on that tube line.
This hotel was nothing as portrayed online. There was no onsite restaurant. The lobby resembled a hostel. Many of the online pictures turned out to be a sister property a few blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay but

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Great stay but we could not turn radiator off by the valve. We had to open the windows all night and then this became very noisy. All in all thought still a very good hotel within a good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Somerset

Excellent location

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cost of breakfast - it was high!
Location: British Museum, Covent Garden, West End, Leicester Square and Oxford Street.
Really enjoyed our stay at the Clarendon. Excellent location for Covent Garden, West End and Oxford Street. Nice comfortable and clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. Only down side was the extractor fan in the bathroom stayed on all night and it was very noisy. I did ask previously about the extractor as it was not working and was told that it would be fixed - which it was, but was not told that you have to manually turn the extractor on or off or else it stays on! Apart from that it was a nice hotel.