Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Will come back - love the location................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A whiff of damp in the lower ground floor!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
We should have smelt a rat when we were told at reception on checking in that they had left an electric heater on in our room and that if we needed another one we should ask. Leaving the heater on all night suppressed the damp but left us with a v dry throat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Great Location. Great Value. Not a Dive.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Great value for the location.
Cons: A full on modernisation renovation. Though I imagine it would end up like the Aria and prices doubled.
Location: Within a 10 minutes walk to Knightsbridge, Harrods, Harvey Nics, Sloane Square, Natural History Museum, The R&A & South Ken.
Great value for the location. Within a 10 minutes walk to Knightsbridge, Harrods, Harvey Nics, Sloane Square, Natural History Museum, The R&A & South Ken. At the price for the location, I don't think it would be possible to do better. It's a posh neighbourhood too, you're as likely to run into a Russian oligarch around the corner as anyone else. The next worry is that the hotel's a dive but that is not the case. Like most of London hotel's (excepting the top 5-star international type names) the building's been there for a while, which to some is its own charm. But they've done OK with what they had to work with. Rooms are going to be small, amenities limited, but that's to be expected at that price point. Don't expect top service, gloved doormen etc but the staff were very pleasant, kind and capable. Fully English breakfast was included, no black pudding tho' but that wasn't expected and the lady who runs the kitchen is well matronly and took good care of me 'tum!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orleans

Hotel très accueillant ambiance british

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Très bon accueil dans cet hôtel bien placé ! chambre spacieuse et confortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by IFfrom scotland

great location

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
good service in a good area. My room was comfy enough and quiet. Looking a little tired though. Can thoroughly recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brianfrom Ottawa, Canada

OK digs, at a good price, in a great location

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not the finest place I've ever stayed, but a clean and comfortable base for my stay, and a great deal in an exclusive district of one of the most expensive cities in the world. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but modern, clean, and all in good working condition. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and kept the room fresh daily. Good breakfast included. The room wasn't overly spacious, and they could refresh the paint/wallpaper and carpets - but maybe that's what keeps this place affordable in the midst of streets full of Bentleys, Rolls Royces, and Ferraris. I'd come here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

filty carpet

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at the diplomat a number of times before the financial meltdown of 2008 ....it is an old hotel of character with a triple A location at the right price. Saying that I will not be staying there again. I can accept the nuances of the older hotel as I said previously. I can accept the old carpet in my room as I have in the past. I accepted marginally clean carpet in the past. I will not accept the filthy and I am being polite with the word filthy, carpet in my room. it was disgusting. I am semi retired and traveling a lot more and my 3 days in London was to reacquaint myself with the area for out next trip in the early fall of 2015 with friends. you may be assured will pay more for a room with clean carpet. as well, maybe get some bulbs that actually light the room a bit more. cleaning lady was fine with what she has to work with. too bad about shampooing carpet. not that expensive and can make a room look great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by maturifrom 観光

よかったです。

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
駅から徒歩7~8分弱の場所にホテルがありました。部屋の大きさは小さめですが、一人で利用するのには充分でした。ただシャワールームのスペースが非常に小さかったです。朝食はパンが3種類、おかずは7種類、8泊しましたが、メニューの内容は変わりませんでした。スタッフの対応も悪くなかったです。あと、湯沸かしポットがあるのが、非常に助かりました。