Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nathalie from Quebec

Charming stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff that want to please their customers. The location is very practical.
Location: It is easy to walk to Knightbrigde,Buckingham Palace,Sloane. And the area is safe and up market.
Great location in a nice neighborhood. Very friendly staff. It is an older hotel with lots of charm. I would go back!
2 out of 5
by Noni

Not value for money

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Staff wasn't much friendly Breakfast was well below average
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for my needs

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: A little shabby
Location: Near the Cadogan Hall
Single room on 4th floor very tiny - more like a cupboard. Breakfast very good. Staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cath from UK

Value for money, had a nice clean comfortable room

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Good price. Nice staff. Had a large airy room, very clean & comfortable. Comfortable bed/bed linen. Hardly any noise from the street outside.
Cons: Well, there's no restaurant or room service.
Location: Very near Sloane Square/Knightsbridge tubes. Harrods, Harvey Nichols & all the shops on Sloane Street. The V&A, Natural Hist Museum - central London.
Value for money. Had a nice clean comfortable room. The breakfast was included and was fine. There's no restaurant or room service so you need to be prepared to eat out (or picnic in your room). The staff are really helpful and friendly. There's loads of tea and coffee on hand in the room. This is a value-for-money hotel and unpretentious but it's not shabby or unpleasant. I booked a further 3 nights after my first stay. It's easy walking distance from Sloane Square and Knightsbridge tubes too, so that's a plus.
2 out of 5
by wendy from west midlands

Give this on a miss

Posted Jan 2, 2014
We were allocated a room in the basement. Large room but very cold and the 2 heaters provided not adequate to heat room. No windows so couldn't see out, but 4 skylight windows this may be why the room was cold. It was raining heavy so vert noisey with rain hitting the skylights. The room was clean but needs re decorating and updating, walls discoloured maybe due to damp. The bath was very high making it difficult to get in (shower was over the bath). Light I. Bathroom was not working but was fixed after we reported it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Switzerland

Excellent value in a great neighbourhood

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a nice hotel in very good neighbourhood. Close to Harrod's, Sloan Street/Square. The rooms were clean and in decent condition. Friendly staff. I will surely be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Didn't know I was coming

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was perfectly satisfactory. I was very disappointed, however, that when I arrived, having booked through your website on line, they had no idea that I was coming. They had nothing "on their system" to say that I had booked (and paid!). The man at the front desk said that he had never heard of Hotels.com. This was extremely disconcerting. I suggest that you follow up on this with the hotel itself since it doesn't do your reputation any good
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Grinrevere from London

Check hotel website

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked through Hotels.com and ended up paying $45 more a night for a single than the advertised price for a single on the hotels website. When I checked in, the person at the desk didn't have the reservation for the second night but told me that he had a room and would give it to me for the "same price" as the reservation I had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from New York

Reflects "tired" Britain

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
I love the staff at this hotel, but like a lot of older hotels in Great Britain, the Diplomat is a bit run down. It's like an elderly aunt's home in a lot of ways. Still, the staff is wonderful, and they do their very best. I've never been unhappy with a stay at the Diplomat, and the value for money is relatively fair, but it could stand a good renovation throughout.
3 out of 5
by Ginny

Night and Day

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Historic property and small
Cons: Everything should work and someone should be on duty to attend to malfunctions
Location: Belgravia nice area. Hotel walking distance to Sloane and Victoria tubes. Lots of shops and dining options. Near. Buckingham Palace.
Because I was a single, I was given a room that can only be described as a closet. Even though I had inquired about a room safe prior to booking and believed I would have one, this room was not so equipped. Next day I was given a Very nice large room with a safe. But the phone did not work. There was a workman in The room a couple of hours. Finally, the phone was working. I had business to conduct and had to keep going to the lobby to use the phone. It is a beautiful late 19th C former private residence. Good location if you need to be in Belgravia/Victoria. Staff very nice.