Ratings based on 1,571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Humble room in a great location.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location was great. The bar area was nice and promoted conversation.
Cons: A mirror could be added to the work desk so it could double as a makeup mirror for the ladies.
Location: The hotel was about 200 yards from Trafalgar Square. The West End Theatre District begins immediately to the north and west of the Square.
Since the hotel is an older building the rooms were a bit small - the bathroom as well. Our room was on the back of the building so the view outside the window was the dead space between the hotel and other buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Scotland,UK

Wonderful hotel,staff are professional and polite

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Loacation,comfort,peaceful
Cons: nothing
Location: right in the beating heart of the city,24/7 culture and very close to tourist routes
I was in London for a few days on business the Grand is ideally positioned for the city and sightseeing.Very centrally located close to tube and rail network.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

The Main Entrance

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Rooms were nice sized, clean and quiet. Bar staff was very friendly.
Cons: Do not use the front door as a loading dock or smokers zone. Desk staff did not know much about hotel operations when questionsed on such things.
Location: Trafalgar Square - near many things
At eh Main Entrance - workers were constantaly delivering equipment for conferences/meetings - or removing said equipment causing unwelcome congestion around the smallish entrance. At conference breaks, the entrance area became the smoking zone for dozens of folks...and since it was a smallish entrance area, one had to cross a gauntlet of smokers seemingly constantly. The front entrance always had cigarette butts scattered everywhere - very unsightly. Was in London for business meetings and brought my wife to celebrate our 36th anniversary, so we were coming and going at all times of the day - tourists, yes...but seasoned travelers as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
No door man or bell hops to help with luggage. Had to beg for wash clothes.= (still did not have them daily). No slippers or robes (paying over $400/night- hotel is not competitive in my opinion. Bath small, general room was dated, tv small and poor channel selections. On the plus good shower pressure, free Wi-Fi, drinks reasonable price. Loved the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location and terrific staff

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The \Location and friendly staff
Cons: The room I had faced the Strand and was a bit noisy
the location on the Strand is wonderful. Close to everything and there are lovely shops and pubs nearby. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

central to everything

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Very old but classy
Cons: Too dark, it needs to paint with a lighter colour
Location: a very central location with london's main attractions nearby, you can walk to London Eye and Buckingham palace!
London's main attractions are at walking distance away, free filtered water and free laundry which is a bonus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Great hotel, central location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Only a one night stay, ialthough the room was relative small it was more than adequate for our needs and the breakfast was lovely and good value
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Very Disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better check in service. Reception is far too small for the volume of guests. Better sound proofing in the rooms.
Location: Good Location for Trafalger Square, The West End and Buckingham Palace.
We had booked a family Bank Holiday Weekend away and chose The Grand Hotel mainly due its location. When checking in, the tiny reception area was very chaotic. Once we finally checked we had to take our bags through reception to collect later as the room was not ready. Fine, as we were early and was aware the room was not ready until 3.00pm. When we return later in the day on first inspection our room was a decent size with an adequate bathroom. However nothing special. One nice touch was the coffee machine in the room as opposed to the normal sachet of coffee found in most hotels. The room at night very very noisy on one occasion leading me to complain to reception in which I was informed there had been other complaints and she thought it was being sorted. This was rather difficult with children who could not sleep. On the second night there was alot of noise coming from outside the hotel. Definitely need to look at a better quality window for the room as we have never experienced a problem with noise before when staying in central London. Generally the room was clean however the dust on the back of the desk looked like it was used to a quick wipe round. In all nothing that bad apart from the noise but unfortunatly nothing special. We will be returning to The Charing Cross Hotel on our next visit which is miles apart from this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Great location.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Good size room for a family of three. Lovely decor in public areas.
Cons: Not hot weather but we found our room to be too warm, even with the air con set quite cool. We didn't sleep well as a result.
Location: Great location just off Trafalgar Square. Easy access to tube and handy for the National Gallery. Walkable to Covent Garden and Leicester Square.
This was a last-minute booking for one night for two adults and an 11 year-old. Overall a very positive experience. Liked the availability of chilled water and bottles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Grand

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Bar staff were amazing ranania was a great help ideal for location car park not to far away