Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent base for seeing London

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Courteous and helpful staff Free internet
Cons: Extra power points
Location: On the Piccadilly line direct from Heathrow to Russell Square 50mins 5mins walk to hotel. Oxford street and British Museum walking distance
I am not a fussy traveller, clean facilities and room, helpful staff and streamline in and out works for me, this hotel scores high. Check in was at three, because my room was ready I was permitted to check in earlier, which was great as I had travelled over night for the US. The airline had left my bag, the receptionist kindly directed me to a nearby store where I could buy a few things. They let me have the use of an adapter and received my bags from the airline while I was at a conference and after I checked out. They also kept my bag in their luggage store The room was clean, but warm it was ok for me. There is a shower and sink in the room but the toilet is outside, again it was not a problem for me. There are no elevators I was on the second floor but again I was ok with this. I only stayed one night and it was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

lovely hotel, close to central London.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The room was very pleasant.
Cons: the huge sash window, though it brought character to the room, needed two people to open/close it!
We only booked this hotel a few days before we travelled. We were very pleased with the room and found it very pleasant, clean and comfortable. It was very light and spacious, looking out over lots of trees in the garden behind. We hadn't booked breakfast, so we cannot comment on the food. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. There are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby to eat, I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Lancaster

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This was the second hotel we'd been to in London and the staff were friendly and the room was a good size. The only issue was the toilet was across the hall but other than that I would use again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JKS from UK

Water Tank

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Water tank above room, filling all night
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Momo from Switzerland

Ordinary & ££

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing special
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with many stairs

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Didn't know that there was no lift, having just had spinal surgery and a knee replacement found it very painfully to go up two flights of stairs. After arriving, could not get any room on the ground floor. We had pre booked to come back there after a two week gap and was assured that I would have a room on the ground floor. When we arrived back found that I didn't have a ground floor apartment. Would also like to know why you charge our credit card for ( in case ) accidentalls. No other place we stayed took the money. They did take credit card details, but did not activate it. Why can you get the money straight away, but it takes a month to return it to us? Very odd having a shower in the bedroom. And a shared toilet. Position is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ann from Sussex

PERFECT FOR EUROSTAR

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my second stay to facilitate an early departure on Eurostar. Perfectly situated in a quiet street with facilities all around. Popped into the British Museum as well as it's almost next door. See you next time ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maria from Bristol

Extremely friendly staff

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel was also very clean, including the shared bathroom which was always in a pristine condition. Location is also great, nearby are several tube and bus stops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sam S from Chicago

Close to University

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. There were no toilets in the room but they were down the hall. They were kept clean. It is about 2 blocks away from the Russell Square Tube stop. Staff was really nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect for an overnight trip.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Cons: Hot chocolate sachets?
Great location next to Russel Square. Only a short walk to the British Museum and the Piccadilly line. Staff very pleasant. Room clean and tidy and much larger than expected from other reviews. En-suite shower was good. WC a short walk down a quiet corridor. This was a mum and daughter overnight theater trip and as such it was pretty perfect. Concierge happy to keep our bags safe after checkout so we could go shopping in near by oxford street. My teenage daughter loved the parks and the relaxed feel that this quarter of London has. Local shops all very friendly and the cafe in the park served delicious Italian snacks and coffee as well as traditional British food.