Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet hotel- overlooking British Museum

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Nothing to dislike
Cons: Service in restaurant in evening- a little slow
Location: Oxford street , Tottenham CRT road, Brutish museum, 5 minutes walk from Russel Sq tube, which is one stop from Kings cross. No complaints !
Very quick access to Oxford street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hazel from Blackrock

Weekend in London

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
My daughters and I had been to this hotel for meals In the past and had decided to stay there in this occasion - it totally met up to our expectations - the staff are great and the hotel is lovely!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sabrina from LA

Excellent stay

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very small but beautiful and the staff very helpful and warm. Will return!
2 out of 5
by Mike from Midlands

Nice staff shame about the room size!

Posted Nov 16, 2013
I have stayed here a couple of times, very convenient to the Bloomsbury area. The reception is always very welcoming and the entrance fine for a 3/4 star hotel. The disappointment starts when you try to get into your room and have to navigate the tight spaces available. Sure the room is well appointed, good toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, bottled water, COMFORTABLE BEDS! But claustrophobic, this time I had a double £240 no breakfast, for the night and I could barely get into the seat under the desk before hitting the wall behind me. Ok so its cute but you wouldnt want to spend more than one night there - let alone two of you in the same room. Another thing - the bar is cosy, a little live music from the piano but barely a dozen or seats in the place - meanwhile out side an empty terrace that could be incorporated into the bar but is a cigar room (never seen anyone in there) similarly an empty "lounge area" which could also make an attractive bar area. Management go look at No 16 Sumner place and see how to maximise space to make an intimate and impressive hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by groove from uk

Beautiful hotel in a stunning area.

Posted Nov 2, 2013
The hotel was equal to the quality of the staff. Nothing seemed like a hassle to anybody and was a very friendly atmosphere. Shall certainly be returning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, great position, small room

Posted Oct 30, 2013
The Montgaue is a lovely hotel, well decorated, nice facilities and with exceptional service. the only downside is that most rooms are small, even by London standards. I would recommend it if you want a comfortable base, very helpful staff and in a safe and interesting area of London, but don't plan to send too much time in your room unless you have booked one of their biggest.
3 out of 5
by Matt from ipswich, uk

Good location, but don't expect a lot of space

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the locations was excellent.
Cons: The rooms felt cheap, the food and the room rates however were very expensive for what we received.
Location: Next door to the British museum and very easy to get to the west end.
Based on the pictures on the website, I was every disappointed from my room in the hotel. Very small room, with the bed round 1ft away from the desk. Staff were very friendly, helpful and genuine which should be commended but I couldn't help feeling that I had been ripped off. The hotel felt very cheap, had I visited before I booked I would have chosen a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicky from oxford

pleasant hotel close proximity to theatre area

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: boutique style and friendly and helpful staff. cleanliness.
very pleasant staff, comfortable room and all the amenities - refreshments, iron, iron board, even a free paper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from San Antonio, TX

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Staff-- Decor-- Furnishings-- Comfortable Rooms-- Great Restaurant and Bar. Location was perfect for visiting the "must see" sights of London.
Cons: No complaints here!
Location: Lots of reasonably priced restaurants and cafes nearby. Close to the Theater District. Five minute walk to Russell Square Tube Station.
We spent 6 nights at the Montague on the Gardens in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived early (about noon) and were informed we were being upgraded to a nicer room. We were offered complementary coffee and tea until our room was ready (within a half hour). We had asked for a room with a quiet location and were placed on the back side of the hotel on the third floor (which in the US would be considered the fourth floor). At night, we could barely hear anything; it was hard to believe we were in London! (The immediate neighborhood is relatively quiet, with the hustle and bustle of London just a few blocks away) Hotel staff was polite and helpful; a particularly nice touch was that a staff member always acknowledged us upon our leaving or returning to the hotel. The hotel restaurant and bar were both excellent with friendly, helpful and attentive waiters. General location of the hotel was a real plus. We were just around the corner from the British Museum, and at the end of the block was a nice park (Russell Square) which had a cafe that was perfect for brunch. If you walk diagonally across Russell Park, look for Bernard Street when you exit the park; the Russell Square Underground Station, which is on the Piccadilly Line is a block down Bernard Street. This station is about 5 minutes from the hotel; Holborn Station is about 7 minutes away, but we found that using it put us in much heavier street level traffic than Russell Square did.