Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

comfortable quiet room

Posted May 2, 2015
Room was very elegant and beautifully decorated. Rainwater shower was amazing. Loved the reading nook. Right across the street from the British Museum and convenient walking distance to so much of London. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near Russell Gardens

Posted Apr 21, 2015
WE loved this hotel ! The location was perfect for us. Our daughter is studying abroad and the hotel was right around the corner from her flat by the British Museum. WE were able to walk to many great attractions and restaurants . THe service was wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful . We will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boxley

Brilliant location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
What a lovely hotel, our visit was made special by the friendly and very helpful staff. Our room was a little on the small side, but I was expecting this from reading reviews prior to booking. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton, MA

Nice boutique hotel in a charming area

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Pleasant atmosphere and attentive service, location.
Cons: Rooms are a bit small, but have all we needed.
Location: British museum is 50 meters from the hotel, so is Russell square. Covent garden is a 15 min walk.
Our stay at The Montague was superb! I was traveling with my mom and chose this hotel based on reviews, location, and my mom preferences. Personally, I prefer hotels with a modern decor, but I have to admit our experience could have not been better. Staff is extremely attentive and made sure you had everything we needed. Upon arriving they gave us a tour and explained all the amenities. At check in, the Concierge asked us about our plans for the day and had a printout of a Google Map waiting for us when we were ready to leave. In the afternoon we had a nice greeting card from the hotel manager and complimentary home made cookies. Next morning, we had a very nice continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom devon

Fantastic central location

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location. Service.
Location: Within spitting distance of the British museum.
This hotel fulfils all expectations. It feels like home from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ireland

Very convenient for the British Museum.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: wonderful situation, friendly staff, comfortable public rooms.
Cons: Our room was pleasant and quiet, but rather on the small side, with inadequate storage space.
Location: Lovely bookshops at the end of the road, next to the British Museum. Good restaurants in the area.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Street is remarkably quiet - no early morning dustbin collections!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Newport News, VA

Excellent Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: In addition to the nice rooms, the amenities were fantastic and included. Umbrellas, coffee, fruit and snacks to take away. Good people!
Cons: The computer available for public use was so slow. Had to download my tickets and email to concierge to get them to print.
Location: Near Russell Square underground stop. British Museum is nearby.
The rooms were luxurious (we stayed in 2 different rooms because we checked out for an overnight trip to Paris). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bar area was great. HIGHLY RECOMMEND afternoon tea. They do it right! Quiet neighborhood. Highly recommend to anyone considering a stay in London. Really no negatives...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Very central hotel with bags of character

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff, the character, the central location.
Cons: Nothing that we couple think of.
Location: Opposite the British Museum, A couple of blocks walk from Holborn tube station means rapid access to Theatreland and the main shopping streets.
We arrived earlier than the scheduled check in time - no problem to the staff who checked us in, prioritized the room prep and took care of our baggage in the interval. Staff were attentive and very friendly. What makes this hotel special is the way the Hotel has maximised the benefit of the rear Gardens to give an unexpected sense of space and tranquility in the centre of this busy City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: convenient. comfortable. cozy, nice staff
Cons: too much furniture in small room
I enjoyed a pleasant hotel, very good location, quiet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

London Charm

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location and friendliness of the staff.
Location: Near everything in the theater and British Museum area.
Location is terrific and the staff is wonderful. Rooms and common area are charming if small.