Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice, clean and comfortable room. Service lacks.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Room was excellent. Very comfortable, very clean and modern. My only gripes were 1) service - I tried to call from heathrow at 10a to see if there would be a room ready for me if I wanted to check in and shower before my first meeting. 4 calls and 45 mins later, no one that could help me was available. No excuse for that. I just wanted a yes or no, not we don't know. I cleaned up in airport men's room. Then the only 110v plug in my room was not working. I reported it at the front desk but I could tell that the woman wasn't going to follow up and she didn't. It was still broken when I returned 8 hours later. Finally, given the hotel is comprised of many quant and cool old buildings, getting to my toom from the lobby was actually comical. I'm not kidding when I say 2 separate lifts, two half flights of stairs and a pedestrian bridge to get to a second floor room in the south wing. Not a huge deal but get help if you have larger suitcases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not the greatest location.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
The Montcalm Brewery in London City is a nice hotel. The rooms are small! Get a Club Room at the very least. The Jugged Hare pub attached to the hotel is nice - the menu is a little limited. The hotel is in the financial district so, disappointingly, there is not much around. Any eateries nearby close over the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calif

Fantastic

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This is a class hotel. The best staff and the same for the attached restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only down side was the wifi was almost nonexistent and kept dropping out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Carolynfrom Newcastle

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fab hotel . Good value for this five star hotel .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DJfrom New York, NY

Decennt room, problematic plumbing

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Montcalm has great potential. Unfortunately, this potential was not achieved. The staff was friendly, my room was clean, and the location is convenient to public transportation. Unfortunately, there was a putrid odor that came from my sink, which greatly tarnished my experience. And the room itself had an odd setup--for example, there was only limited light near the full-length mirror. Additionally, although there was a construction site directly outside my window, the hotel did nothing to ameliorate the inconvenience (e.g., provide earplugs). Moreover, the hotel's reservations department had difficulty changing my reservation, even though they said that the change itself was unquestionably allowed; I wound up spending more than three hours on the phone to get the reservation corrected. When I reported these issues, the woman at the desk apologized and told me that the hotel's manager would contact me to address these items. Despite this assurance, I never heard from the manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Montcalm Rules!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Excellent hotel, great location, wonderful staff and service. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Weekend Girlfrom Reading

Very Comfortable

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice Club room with a good selection of Elemis toiletries and nice extras like water and fruit. Location of the hotel is really convenient with some great restaurants in the surrounding area. Only slight niggle is that the hotel is a maze and the signage to find rooms and labeling of the lifts could be improved, a lot of people were walking around with the hotel map and still struggling to find where they were going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

August 2014 Montcalm Brewery Hill

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Really liked the comfort of the beds and the lovely bath products.
Cons: Towels could have been softer. Chocolate on pillow at turning down time.
We had a super stay. The room was really comfortable - especially the bed. Lovely bathrobes and very nice shower gel and hair products from Hermes. Also, the fact that they gave small bottle of champagne which was on ice as we entered the room to mark a special birthday was a nice, thoughtful and appreciated touch. The bath was unnecessarily complicated but no real complaints about this. All in all, everything was just as described and perhaps better that I expected. The conversion from Whitbread brewery made the building unique and of an interesting shape. The staff were very professional and helpful but it would be nice to see an EO employment policy adopted providing a cross-section of different nationalities including maybe some native employees. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Excellent Hotel, great staff, and very clean! We have a very plesant exerience.