Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Caz from Ayr

Disappointing

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The rooms were attractive
Cons: No twins, too hot and the signage for rooms is poor. My friends wandered around for 15 minutes before they found my room- in fact I had to go and find
Location: Lots of [places to eat but reviews disappointing. Nice meal in Chiswell Street Dining rooms but food a little over priced and wine extortionately so
I got the booking for the Montcalm via an Expedia secret hotel. My search was for 2 rooms for 3 people with 3 beds. I accepted the secret hotel and only then was I told that the number of rooms could be guaranteed but not the beds, this hotel SHOULD NOT have appeared in my search as it CLEARLY did not meet my criteria. In addition to this when we got to the hotel- which was not a 2minute walk from the tube station as suggested in the literature- they only had 2 rooms booked for 2 people AND in addition to this despite the fact both rooms were booked at the same time we were no where near each other- in fact we were separated by 3 floors and 3 wings. For what was supposed to be a fun evening away before an awards ceremony I have to say Expedia you kind of ruined it The hotel was OK, nice and clean but the staff were un helpful and I can't say it lived up to the 5 star standard that attracted me to the deal in the 1st place. When you offer these 'deals' there should be some account take of the search options which are input for a reason I would not recommend this hotel to a friend and I would think twice about using Expedia again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Northampton

Nice Hotel close to the tube.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
If your looking to stay where the staff really care then look no further. The Wow rooms were immaculate and the service was fantastic. The Chiswell Diner was fantastic for a late drink. The French restaurant by the Cinema does a fantastic breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Northamptonshire

Fantastic hotel, lovely feel & accommodating staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Staff were excellent the hotel was high quality with good facilities in a good location.
Cons: Ensure the ventilation system issue is resolved.
Location: Really good location for our weekend which centred around the Barbican and St Paul's area.
The hotel was excellent, comfortable and had a lovely feel to it however, we had a dreadful noise resonating in our room from what appeared to be the ventilation system. The manager once we identified the problem was very understanding and will deal with the problem. We would certainly stay there again, but not in the same room for obvious reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting historic conversion, cool technology

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Cons: More sound proofing of windows.
Hotel is converted from an old brewery. It makes for some interesting layouts of the rooms. They have implemented some cool technology into the rooms, in terms of light switches and floor heating, and maid call buttons, etc. Very nicely appointed and comfortable. I'm not sure if it's because it's a historic building and they can't change the facade, but the window panes are paper thin. I could hear not only cars go by but people just walking by and talking. Fortunately I'm a heavy sleeper but this might be a deal breaker for some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by VJ from Oxford

Great central city location, easy for the theatre

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Location, fabulous staff, friendly welcome, great bar downstairs, had a free upgrade to a Club Room. Loved the lounge and the bowls of apples!
Cons: The Jugged Hare sign squeaked through the night, some oil perhaps? Coffee machine in the room, was suprised it was instant coffee.
Location: Theatre, National Gallery, China Town, Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Sq, Downing St ... it's the centre of town so lots to see and do.
Only stayed for 1 night but wish it could have been longer. The room was fabulous, staff friendly, location perfect, bar and restaurant open late to suit theatre goers, would definitely recommend this hotel. Comfy bed too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: All aspects
Location: Very close to Barbican
Beautiful hotel, attentive staff, very comfortable room, excellent breakfast, exceptionally good value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Service and location
Cons: Rooms
Location: See above
Well located hotel,beside Barbican centre and easy walking distance to 3 tube stations. Excellent staff who look after any requests and monitor customer satisfaction impressively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe from Milton keynes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hopeless Romantic from London

Very quiet for Christmas

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located right in the centre of the City, London's CBD, this was really quiet over the Christmas break. That was great for us, but the hotel had decided to close down its restaurants for Christmas Day and Boxing Day, so only room service was available, and there was practically nothing else open in the City at that time. The staff were friendly, but some of them were obviously a little inexperienced (I guess that's how you draw the short straw and get the Christmas shift), and that experience extended in some cases to inexperience with the English language. But if you want complete peace and quiet, as we did, it couldn't be beaten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Galerie from Coventry

A warm welcome

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay was a short one but we enjoyed the few hours that we spent at The Montcalm. The service throughout was excellent. The hotel is well positioned for the tube network with the Barbican station a 5 minute walk away. I would happily stay again next time I'm in London.