Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO USA

Acceptable hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Clean the lobby and repair items that are in need
Location: London is at your doorstep - a few blocks to Paddington Station - 3 blocks to Hyde Park - easy walk to everything - restaurants within one block
This "old property" is not being maintained - if you are put off by a dirty lobby area and many other repair deficiencies then this is not for you. That said, since the windows in our room could be opened wide and the bed was comfortable we slept very well. The location was perfect for a 3 day walking tour of London. Also, provided an excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Bristol

Very basic, but good location and would stay again

Posted Jun 3, 2014
We enjoyed are stay. Had room 5 which is on first floor. Adequate facilities fridge useful. Easy to access underground short walk from Notting Hill, Hyde Park etc, no frills but good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Felix from Canada

Close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate underground

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Our room was quiet, confortable and spacious. There is no AC so during summer months it could be hot. We left the window open and it was fine. Continental breakfast was okay.
2 out of 5
by shaz from lincolnshire

one night stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Close to tube station. In a lovely looking street.
Cons: Appearance, comfort and better mattresses.
Location: located near Hyde Park.
This hotel was ok for a one night stay. Very shabby entrance and room was very basic but adequate for one night. If they had beds with decent mattresses then I am sure they would get better reviews as most people just want a good nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Dallas, TX

If You're in the Know

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Charm and comfort
For Americans who aren't typical Americans when traveling, this hotel is the perfect place to stay! The location couldn't be more scenic or convenient - Hyde Park and Paddington Station steps away! The room perfectly suited our needs: decent bed, tea kettle and fresh milk, nice shower with truly hot and cold water, and opening windows. Simple yet comfortable. Historic yet modern. If you want to immerse yourself in true British digs, then The Paddington Hotel is for you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurie from Kenmore, WA

Quirky Hotel near Paddington Station

Posted Apr 27, 2014
The hotel is small but tall and only about 4 blocks from Paddington Station, the Hop On Hop Off Bus tours and Hyde Park. The hotel staff is kind and friendly, making check-in and check-out easy. There is no elevator so be prepared to climb the triangular staircase but they offer the services of a porter. Our hotel room had no right angles but was comfy. Breakfast is self serve and there is plenty of food; various cereals, toast and toppings, cheese and fruit. There re plenty of food options close by; Italian, Scottish, Indian, English and more. We spent all day in town. This is a great, basic hotel to come back to at night and relax. It's a good value for such an expensive city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: New bed, pillows, blanket. Upgrading. Improve the shower.
Location: Close to Paddingtion Station and the Heathrow Express train. Close to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens.
Very difficult layout in the room with bed at an angle that made the room very cramped. Bed very uncomfortable - lumpy, no support. Horrible, flat, lumpy pillows. No cover on the bed, just a blanket that did not seem very clean. Bathroom extremely small with very poor water pressure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wendy from North Yorks

Good central location

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, pleasant staff, value
Cons: Water damage to stairs ceiling. No fire escape
Location: Great location, near Lancaster Gate and Hyde Park. Area feels safe
We had a short break at this hotel in March. Location is good, area feels safe. We have stayed in Paddington before and found it ideal to walk through Hyde Park to Buckingham Palace, Westminster and the river. You need comfy shoes though as it's a long, though pleasant walk. Very good value, as a budget Hotel. Breakfast is continental, but was more than ample and an added bonus. Room was basic, quite small, but clean. For the price, you can't expect much more. We don't spend much time in our room, so size wasn't really a problem. Fridge was a real bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel, perfect location

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness of rooms, wifi in rooms
Location: hyde park!!
rooms not the cleanest or nicest, but perfectly acceptable. Amazing location 4 minute walk away from Hyde Park and minutes away from Paddington tube and train station which are both well connected. Good value for money
1 out of 5
by danny from belgium

Will never stay there again

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Staff unfriendly hotel not clean I wish I never stayed there terrible hotel Do not stay there