Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom from new hampshire

Not the best

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: I really. Didn't care for this hotel at all.
Cons: An elevator, new carpet, and new furniture would be an improvement. A/C and wifi in room would be a great improvement.
Location: Near the train station.
Couldn't find the hotel as there was no sign above door. When I booked room the pictures on website was not what we had. Overall appearance upon arrival was not outdated. Carpets old could use painting and furniture old. Bathroom tiny and had to be careful not to knock your head on a beam. Bed uncomfortable. No a/c but did have a fan. No wifi in room. 77 stairs up to the room, thank god a staff person carried my suitcase up to the room. When the person in the next room came in the floor in our room creaked every time they walked around. I felt the pictures on the website were deceiving. I wish I took pictures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but hotel without lift

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Near to The Paddington Underground
Cons: To install lift in the hotel.
Location: Near to the Paddington Underground.
Our group of 10 people was given a room at 4th floor. Since the hotel is without lift, it is very hard for us to carry the luggage to the room. Luckily the hotel staff is helpful to carry the luggage for us. Overall the hotel is value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

Nice for the price

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Cheap and cheerful hotel, nice and close to Paddington, free breakfast is a nice touch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Athens, GA

Great Location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: We liked the friendly staff, the convenient location and the breakfast.
Cons: Our room needed a new mattress and a new bedspread. The lobby and stairway need new carpet and fresh paint.
Location: Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens are an easy walk away. We also walked to the Victoria & Albert Museum.
The Paddington Hotel is in a safe neighborhood--close to Hyde Park, Paddington Train & Tube stations, Lancaster Gate Tube station, lots of good restaurants and pubs. The staff members are great--they addressed our questions quickly, politely and efficiently. We arrived early in the morning, well before check-in, but we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel office. The hotel definitely needs to be spruced up a bit; for instance, the carpet in the lobby and on the stairs is dirty and worn. Our room had apparently been "refreshed" (that was the hotel clerk's word) shortly before our stay. The room looked and smelled as if it had been recently painted, and the carpet appeared new. Though our room was small, it did have a wardrobe (with a safe), a dresser, nice nightstands, a small refrigerator, and a tea kettle. As some other reviews mention, the shower is tiny, but the water is hot, the pressure is good, and it's right in the room. The room and bathroom were clean, maybe not as clean as I would prefer, but it is an older hotel, so some things are going to look dingy. The bed was not bad but not good either, and the ratty blanket that served as a spread was warm but not pretty. My husband and I enjoyed the continental breakfast (though they didn't have real coffee--only instant). There were hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese, 5 kinds of cereal, croissants, bread, fruit, and various jams, butter and Nutella. There is no lift. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom h

Very nice

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Excellent staff, rooms and breakfast. Great location and overall positive experience. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified travelerfrom Gosport

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, functional well located
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Barcelona

Good location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
From a location point of view, it was perfect. However, the bathroom was a massive let down with black grime all over the grouting. The room had no aircon either which, on a hot night, was not good!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
An old hotel with very small bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast! Access to the tube was worth sleeping on an uncomfortable mattress in a hot room.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO USA

Acceptable hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Clean the lobby and repair items that are in need
Location: London is at your doorstep - a few blocks to Paddington Station - 3 blocks to Hyde Park - easy walk to everything - restaurants within one block
This "old property" is not being maintained - if you are put off by a dirty lobby area and many other repair deficiencies then this is not for you. That said, since the windows in our room could be opened wide and the bed was comfortable we slept very well. The location was perfect for a 3 day walking tour of London. Also, provided an excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

It did its purpose

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed an hotel on our way to Heathrow the next morning, and this hotel was within easy enough walking distance from Paddington. We can't really complain about anything, but have nothing to rave about either. If they updated some of their furniture and redecorated the rooms once in a while that'd be nice. We left early for our flight so didn't have the breakfast.