Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Good location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
From a location point of view, it was perfect. However, the bathroom was a massive let down with black grime all over the grouting. The room had no aircon either which, on a hot night, was not good!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO USA

Acceptable hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Clean the lobby and repair items that are in need
Location: London is at your doorstep - a few blocks to Paddington Station - 3 blocks to Hyde Park - easy walk to everything - restaurants within one block
This "old property" is not being maintained - if you are put off by a dirty lobby area and many other repair deficiencies then this is not for you. That said, since the windows in our room could be opened wide and the bed was comfortable we slept very well. The location was perfect for a 3 day walking tour of London. Also, provided an excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Bristol

Very basic, but good location and would stay again

Posted Jun 3, 2014
We enjoyed are stay. Had room 5 which is on first floor. Adequate facilities fridge useful. Easy to access underground short walk from Notting Hill, Hyde Park etc, no frills but good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Felix from Canada

Close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate underground

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Our room was quiet, confortable and spacious. There is no AC so during summer months it could be hot. We left the window open and it was fine. Continental breakfast was okay.
2 out of 5
by shaz from lincolnshire

one night stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Close to tube station. In a lovely looking street.
Cons: Appearance, comfort and better mattresses.
Location: located near Hyde Park.
This hotel was ok for a one night stay. Very shabby entrance and room was very basic but adequate for one night. If they had beds with decent mattresses then I am sure they would get better reviews as most people just want a good nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gry and Donna from Plantation,Florida

close to many attractions and very close to the Tr

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was very good- continental breakfast was more than adequate. The entire staff was very nice and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Dallas, TX

If You're in the Know

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Charm and comfort
For Americans who aren't typical Americans when traveling, this hotel is the perfect place to stay! The location couldn't be more scenic or convenient - Hyde Park and Paddington Station steps away! The room perfectly suited our needs: decent bed, tea kettle and fresh milk, nice shower with truly hot and cold water, and opening windows. Simple yet comfortable. Historic yet modern. If you want to immerse yourself in true British digs, then The Paddington Hotel is for you!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Denise from Canada

Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel needs a total renovation. Wasn't clean. Our room wasn't cleaned after our first nite of stay. After touring and walking around London all day it was awful coming back to your room and your bed wasn't made and the room felt cold and dirty and the tenants next door were having a party! Would not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Cornelia from Montreal

Close to Paddington Station

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The good things about this hotel were that it is close to Paddington station and there are tube stations and bus stops near by making it easy to get into town to see the sights. The people at reception were very polite. Our room was on the first floor so we had constant access to wifi which was very nice. If you need to catch an early train at Paddington, it is a nice, clean, no frills place to stay the night before. If you are on an extended trip to London, it wouldn't be my first choice. The room did have a bed, a tv, the things to make tea and a small bathroom that could use some TLC. There was nowhere really to put things like your toothbrush or hair brush. The shower has no soap dish, so you have to put soap and shampoo on the floor. The only place to sit was on the bed, and after a long day of walking around museums, it wasn't a place you'd want to rush back to. The decor is very basic. The breakfast they provide is fine if you like tea, but if you're a coffee drinker, you'll have to make do with instant.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com