Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Great Location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: We liked the friendly staff, the convenient location and the breakfast.
Cons: Our room needed a new mattress and a new bedspread. The lobby and stairway need new carpet and fresh paint.
Location: Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens are an easy walk away. We also walked to the Victoria & Albert Museum.
The Paddington Hotel is in a safe neighborhood--close to Hyde Park, Paddington Train & Tube stations, Lancaster Gate Tube station, lots of good restaurants and pubs. The staff members are great--they addressed our questions quickly, politely and efficiently. We arrived early in the morning, well before check-in, but we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel office. The hotel definitely needs to be spruced up a bit; for instance, the carpet in the lobby and on the stairs is dirty and worn. Our room had apparently been "refreshed" (that was the hotel clerk's word) shortly before our stay. The room looked and smelled as if it had been recently painted, and the carpet appeared new. Though our room was small, it did have a wardrobe (with a safe), a dresser, nice nightstands, a small refrigerator, and a tea kettle. As some other reviews mention, the shower is tiny, but the water is hot, the pressure is good, and it's right in the room. The room and bathroom were clean, maybe not as clean as I would prefer, but it is an older hotel, so some things are going to look dingy. The bed was not bad but not good either, and the ratty blanket that served as a spread was warm but not pretty. My husband and I enjoyed the continental breakfast (though they didn't have real coffee--only instant). There were hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese, 5 kinds of cereal, croissants, bread, fruit, and various jams, butter and Nutella. There is no lift. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Very nice

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Excellent staff, rooms and breakfast. Great location and overall positive experience. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Good location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
From a location point of view, it was perfect. However, the bathroom was a massive let down with black grime all over the grouting. The room had no aircon either which, on a hot night, was not good!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO USA

Acceptable hotel in an excellent location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Clean the lobby and repair items that are in need
Location: London is at your doorstep - a few blocks to Paddington Station - 3 blocks to Hyde Park - easy walk to everything - restaurants within one block
This "old property" is not being maintained - if you are put off by a dirty lobby area and many other repair deficiencies then this is not for you. That said, since the windows in our room could be opened wide and the bed was comfortable we slept very well. The location was perfect for a 3 day walking tour of London. Also, provided an excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Libby from Canada

Close to tour of London's downtown sites

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean yet small and I was surprised that there was not an elevator. The mattress was quite hard and did not have a comfortable sleep. The continental breakfast that was included in the price was quite substantial and good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Bristol

Very basic, but good location and would stay again

Posted Jun 3, 2014
We enjoyed are stay. Had room 5 which is on first floor. Adequate facilities fridge useful. Easy to access underground short walk from Notting Hill, Hyde Park etc, no frills but good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Felix from Canada

Close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate underground

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Our room was quiet, confortable and spacious. There is no AC so during summer months it could be hot. We left the window open and it was fine. Continental breakfast was okay.
2 out of 5
by shaz from lincolnshire

one night stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Close to tube station. In a lovely looking street.
Cons: Appearance, comfort and better mattresses.
Location: located near Hyde Park.
This hotel was ok for a one night stay. Very shabby entrance and room was very basic but adequate for one night. If they had beds with decent mattresses then I am sure they would get better reviews as most people just want a good nights sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Just good

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enough if you want a place for one night, I won't book for a longer period.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by R Miller from USA

poorly maintained

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very dissatisfied with the hotel. The staff was pleasant but that did not make up for dirty very poorly maintained rooms. Lights that didn't work, carpets very dirty, springs poking through the mattress. We requested and got a room change. It was on a lower floor which was good as there is no elevator but the room was no improvement. Very disappointing experience.