Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location, BUT...!!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: The facility could use a complete overhaul, but staff was very helpful, available, and friendly.
Location: Next to Paddington station, close to Victoria Coach station for bus tours, and very close to many of London's attractions via the underground trains.
I really don't see how this hotel was rated so high, which originally led me to select it in the first place. The staff and location were great, but the facility was very outdated and needed a complete overhaul. I'm not a hotel snob cause I'm even fine with Motel 6 at times cause we often just need a place to sleep and bathe, but there are still minimum requirements that this place completely missed the mark on. E.g.: The place's carpets were old and dingy, paint was pealing or chipped, bed was not comfortable, bathroom is super tiny with moldy tiles (also, no shampoo/condition so bring your own), and the room key is literally a key that you have to return and retrieve from the reception each time you leave or return. Wi-Fi is only available on the first floor, no lift on the 4-story facility, and free breakfast was pitiful. I don't know why they even bother with offering breakfast which consisted of boxed cereals, toast, apples/oranges, and OJ. Furniture were mismatched. Appeared that closet was from IKEA, fridge cabinet was homemade, and bed from a thrift shop. Rooms were small too. I've been to small roomed hotels in Europe and have seen space utilized better, which this place clearly did not adopt. For the price, it was very disappointing to say the least.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room worst I have been in

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Close to Paddington station
Cons: completely renovate and modernize the interior. Clean it up
Location: Near train station and Hyde Park
Was in room 6 on the 1st floor. The room was miniscule. Only 14 inches between bed and wall. Needed to turn sideways to fit in the shower. Carpet was dirty and covered a floor that moved when you walked on it. the entire floor in the bedroom and in the bathroom sloped towards a drain hole in the bathroom. The furniture consisted of a bed and one night table which had chunks missing as well as a mismatched standup dresser. There is no A/C but there is a small standup fan in a corner of the room. All the seams in the room and bathroom appear to be held together with silicon caulking and thick paint. The room is at the front and is continually noisy from the busy street outside. There is no elevator. All this for $200 per night. To be fair some of the rooms on the upper floors are a bit roomier but the quality is pretty much the same. I stayed at other hotels in the area that were higher quality more modern and the same price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
The room was okay. I was disappointed with the WiFi as the poor signal made it almost useless. Surprisingly, the hotel did not have a lift. I was happy to walk up eight flights of stairs to my room but it may not suit older or less mobile people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Nice location, awful interior

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The location was great as you could walk to many points of interest but the interior of the hotel (if you can call it that) was horrendous. The place needs a major renovation. The room was old, dingy, tiny and dirty looking. The bed was noisy as were the floors. The bathroom was tiny and horrible. I'm a small person and I could barely move inside the shower. The only other good thing besides the location was the staff. They were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotterdam

Eenvoudig maar fijn budget hotel.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: De omgeving en de gastvrijheid
Cons: De badkamer moet wat beter schoon gemaakt worden.
Location: Het hotel is vrij rustig gelegen dichtbij de koninklijke tuinen/parken en heel goed te bereiken met het openbaar vervoer.
Prettig hotel in fijne omgeving. Dichtbij Kensington Gardens/ Hyde Park en Oxford Street. Personeel erg vriendelijk en behulpzaam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Value for money in good location

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Isolation of rooms, very noisy
Location: Paddington / Lancaster Gate tube station, several restaurants nearby
Reasonable price for this hotel in a great location close to Hyde Park with several restaurants and tube/bus stations nearby. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and breakfast ok considering English standards. Unfortunately windows were very old, therefore the room was rather noisy. I recommend this place for a weekend trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not your typical American hotel.

Posted May 11, 2015
Location: Very close to Paddington train station. Very close to Kensington Palace and Park. Very clost to Portobello road Market. I walked to St. Pauls.
For anyone from the USA, I would expect more from a $35/night motel in Nowhere South Dakota. Nice hotel staff. Very attentive and polite. In regards to running the hotel, everything was in order. No bugs. No bed bugs. Bed and bathroom were clean. Furniture was old and outdated. I touched as few things in the place as possible. I stayed there for a couple of nights because of the location and the price - I am just lucky my wife was not with because she would have never stayed there. I am certain that if my wife would have taken one step into the building, she would have turned around and said NO. The building is old, outdated, and tattered. The floor boards in my room were so noisy that everytime I moved it was just crazy oddly loud. All the pictures are deceiving. I got one of the rooms in the pictures that looks modern and updated with the dark furniture and the leather sofa. What they do not show you is that the sofa is permanently covered in a stained cloth slip cover and the rest of the room is filled with old crappy furniture. It is extremely close to Paddington train station - the maps are a bit deceiving as the city blocks shown on the map are just tiny compared to a USA city block.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cagliari

Posted May 10, 2015
Hotel vicino a due stazioni di bus e metro e abbastanza vicino a musei e principali monumenti londinesi. Pulito con personale gentile e disponibile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Not recommended

Posted May 6, 2015
房間夠大,但洗手間很小,浴室連放洗髮水和沐浴露的架也沒有,洗手盆也沒有位置放肥皂,最受不了的是隔音很差,隔壁說話都會聽到,外面車聲也很嘈,睡得不好。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by francesco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels