Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Luxury with a view

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite.
Location: Richmond and Kingston for shops, river cruises.
Lovely setting, park next door, with a wonderful view of the Thames.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Dated and expensive.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Free inclusive parking, quiet peaceful location
Cons: Décor and competitive pricing
Location: With Twickenham stadium and Kew gardens close by and the M3, M4 & Richmond station within 20 minutes reach, London central is easily accessible.
When you arrive at the car park, The Petersham is imposing, with it's towering façade it really has the wow factor along with impressive views of Richmond Hill and the river Thames. Up close and personal it's showing it's age, wallpaper is peeling in places and the overall it looks worn out. Whilst clean enough, it could definitely benefit from some redecoration. Some staff were attentive and pleasant whilst others seemed aloof and distant, giving the impression that perhaps you shouldn't be there. For a 4 star hotel this really doesn't cut the mustard. For a one night stay it's passable, but any longer than that I'd be inclined to complain about it. Despite being on the outskirts of London, due to being in Richmond the prices aren't competitive enough, food is overly expensive for what your receive, I don't mind paying over the odds for quality, but a lukewarm full English, consisting of two small rashers, a medium sausage, half a tomato and a spoonful of scrambled eggs for £14.00 is steep by anyone's standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham, Surrey

Completely satisfied.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: no comment
Location: Not applicable
A very pleasant stay in picturesque surroundings with friendly, helpful and dedicated staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Petersham hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: location and view
Cons: refurbishment needed
This hotel is in a beautiful setting and has fabulous views but in general the hotel is tired and needs refurbishment. It is not up to the standard of a 21 century hotel. The meal in the restaurant was poor and the steak was so fatty it was returned and not charged for which is an indication of the whole visit. The location and the views are spectacular the room had a balcony overlooking the river and not one of the river view rooms had a table or chair to be able to sit out and admire the view very disappointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mini honeymoon weekend.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
The hotel was very good, lovely area and situation. Only a 40-45 minute tube ride into central London. The staff were very helpful, and really seemed as if nothing was too much trouble!! Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lou from bournemouth

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Staff are very attentive and the room had great views of richmond park.
We stayed at hotel to attend twickenham rugby stadium, great location. Will definitely book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scenic location

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Beautiful views to the river and countryside. Bring your walking shoes.
3 out of 5
by ni

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The view from the dining room over the thames was magnificent and the room was very light and airy.
Cons: The menu should have more international influences and offer a more modern range of dishes. The lighting in the rooms, especially the bathrooms.
Location: Great location, easy to find and within walking distance of the town and river.
We stayed one Saturday night in January to celebrate a family birthday. We booked a normal room and so did not benefit from the great views that are highlighted by so many other reviewers. Instead we had a room that looked out over the car park and with no sight of the river. The room was quite compact but ok. The lighting was very weak with my wife complaining a lot about the poor lighting in the bathroom making it difficult to do her make up. The hotel is very very traditional and fine if that is what you like. I am sure that overseas visitors and retired people will like the old world charm. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The menu was very traditional and lacked creativity or modernity. The execution of the menu was also weaker than I would have expected from its reputation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paul from bury st edmunds

Lovely hotel overlooking the Thames.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Exceptionally friendly staff; nothing was to much trouble.