Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Quality hotel close to tourist sites in London

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Clean & comfortable, centrally located
Cons: Cooking facilities are very limited, we expected a kitchenette for this price & the advert but it has a small sink & microwave, two plates & cups
A very comfortable room, although not air conditioned, something you would expect for the price. They charge far too much for Wi fi, $20 in one hour blocks, it is free everywhere else we stayed. We were there in summer & had to change rooms as it was uncomfortably hot, the staff were very helpful & obliging.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevinfrom Brooklyn, NY

Nice room, quirky water temperature

Posted Jun 10, 2014
It was a nice room, but a little quirky. The door handle fell off the second time I used it, the hair dryer was attached to a desk drawer, and the water temperature would never become cold - it would cycle back to being either warm or hot. Aside from those three things (and the fact that they charge you 10 gbp a night for internet access), it was a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobfrom uk

Simple but classy

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet comfortable single room on lower ground floor, no wasted space but clean, all worked fine, neat little "kitchen in a cupboard". Free newspaper.
Cons: Telly had fuzzy picture, but I only watched the news headlines anyway. wifi on offer but £5 a day! You cannot be serious.
Late booking at a sale price made it a bargain, simple, unfussy, but good quality. Easy walking distance to British Muuseum Universty of London, russel Square and Holborn tubes and buses. Lovely early summer morning meant breakfast al fresco in Russell Square, sat outside the cafe in the gardens. Some quite nice restaurants at reasonable prices towards Queens Square or marchmont street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrisfrom Victoria BC

Portland Hotel is well located in London

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Safe, quiet, comfortable and able to make my own breakfast
Cons: The paint work and bathroom needs refreshing. The height of the bath to step in and out of the shower was above my knee with no hand rail.
Location: Around the corner from the Bristish Museum, with easy access by bus and tube to all areas of London.
Fortunately I arrived early as I was allocated room in the basement that was not acceptable. The second choice was a first floor single room which was spacious for London, with an opening window to a private park at the back of the Hotel. It had a small kitchenette which was fortunate as the price didn't include the expensive breakfast. The staff spoke English as a second language and where helpful. This hotel was relatively expensive so in the future I would look for similar accommodation at a cheaper price, sometimes hard to do in London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annefrom Ottawa Canada

Lovely heritage hotel close to the British Museum.

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: There is nothing that needs improving.
Location: The British Museum is just a couple of blocks away.
I cannot say enough good things about the Portland. Service was the mantra in every department. Opening the door to my room on the bottom level, I actually stopped to admire the jewel box aspect. Beautiful draperies. Incredible use of a small space. I had a single room with a three quarter bed that was nicely dressed and comfortable. The kitchenette built into one wall had everything you needed, including teas and creamers in the fridge. The bathroom was modern and relatively spacious and sooo clean. The closet had lots of hangers and a safe, as well as an ironing board and iron. Breakfast was served in another hotel of the Bloomsbury complex but just a couple of doors down the street. And it too was very good. I used room service and the quality was excellent. Any questions I had, Reception was only too pleased to answer. Taxis were called and were prompt. And it is about £13 from the hotel to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express to Terminal 3 or 5, with a connect to 4. I highly recommend the Portland in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judyfrom San Francisco

Beautiful, quiet, convenient.

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Quiet, convenient, lovely.
Cons: Free WiFi.
Location: British Museum, British Library, Russell Square, easy walk to Covent Garden.
I was told at reception that I was the last one to check in for the night, and therefore had the worst room in the hotel. She offered to have me move to another one for the remaining two nights. I don't know what she was talking about!! My room was perfect. It was below the first floor, so maybe she thought I wouldn't like that. On the contrary, it make the room quiet, minimizing my issues with jet lag. The bed was lovely, the sheets smooth and cool. The bathroom was recently updated and beautiful. I wish I could have spent more time in the room, but that's not why I went to London. The hotel is convenient to the British Museum and British Library, and although it is on a very quiet street, it is close to restaurants and tube stations. There's coffee making supplies in the room and a little package of cookies. I did not take the breakfast option, which worked well for me. The only slight draw back was that WiFi was not free, so I did not use it. The Attrium around the corner was a perfect place to catch up on email and have a cup of coffee or a beer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jukinkentfrom Kent, UK

Large comfortable room, good service.

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room could not be faulted - very spacious, well appointed and clean. We were first given a basement room which I could see would be very noisy as, being a hot day and night, the windows would have had to be open. to the street noise. At first no other room was 'available' - but after consultation with the manager a room on the third floor was found and we were satisfied. Having a 'kitchen' in a cupboard was handy and all that space helped too. The location near Russel Sq is handy as it is halfway between 2 Underground stations and the No 7 bus passes the door. We would definately stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Nataliefrom Minneapolis, Mn.

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wow - this place needs massive refurbishment and a good cleaning (don't know what those stains on walls and bedding were). Also, the "kitchenettes" are a joke - don't plan on eating any meals in your room - you'll smell your food for days, and the space is simply way too cramped to even contemplate having more than a coffee. Total disappointment given good reviews as family friendly,studio-like accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A bit pricey for what you get

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Quiet location.
Cons: Include Internet.
Location: Parks, restaurants and grocery near.
The hotel has a good location between two parks between the Russell square and holburn tube stations, a block from the British museum. It is on a quiet street that is part of a series of small hotels. There are restaurants nearby, a lot of Indian and Turkish food with a couple of pubs off a side street. There were only 3 floors but be advised there were a series of doors that you have to pass through to get there so if you have a lot of luggage it can be troublesome. The room itself was of good size with a king bed and a small kitchenette. The bathroom was huge and clean. The one caution is that there is no air conditioning so that was a problem the first night as it was warm and humid. The Internet was £10 a day and they will charge you a whole day even if you only use it partially. There is a breakfast available but very pricey.