Ratings based on 1,883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocheter, MI USA

Great Hotel with good location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
My stay at the Regency Hotel was very comfortable and a great value. The room was clean and beds comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the head concierge went out of his way to be accommodating and helpful when a tour we scheduled failed to pick us up. He made phone calls, got us a taxi and tried his best to get us to the tour destination. The hotel is also conveniently located to many shops and restaurants and a Tube station. I would definitely stay here again if I return to London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Beautiful area of London, nice walk to Hyde Park

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, pretty area, good restaurant.
Cons: Shower pressure needs attention! Elevators are slow and antiquated. Air conditioning units should be updated. Longer hours for complimentary drinks.
Location: There's a Scoop nearby with great Gelato. Close to Victoria and Albert Museum which is worth seeing. Can walk to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace.
We stayed for 7 nights while visiting with our college age daughters who are studying and living in Kensington for the summer. There are many positive things to say about the Regency: close to 2 tube stops, nice safe area, clean room, adequate air conditioning (although ours rattled a bit), comfortable queen size bed, nicely appointed bathroom (although the shower water pressure was horrible), good tv. We ate with our daughters in the hotel restaurant on our last night and the food was excellent and we all enjoyed our entrees. We added breakfast and wifi to our stay. Breakfast was exactly the same every day, with basic muffins & small pastries, fruit and OJ. Variety would have been refreshing. The coffee was very good. Wifi went down one day, and they cut us off another day thinking we were using too many devices (?) which we had to call the front desk about. Rather annoying. We were only able to take advantage of free drinks once, as they only serve for a brief time before 7 pm and we weren't usually back by then. We did take advantage of the complimentary apples in the lobby. Some negatives: no washcloths, only 1 complimentary water bottle the whole 7 days, street noise even on the 5th floor. In general the hotel was quiet except for the noise and heavy walking above us some nights. When all is said and done, we would stay at the Regency again and recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Average The double room is actually a single room and there is no soace to move mind you walk
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs improvement

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of service Internet
Hotel is in need of improvement. First point of call should be with the staff and their attitude, which is very much a 'do the minimum' approach, particularly the front desk. Room sizes are quite small, but it is London and for the location it may be understandable. However, the internet which keeps falling down or kicking you off requiring you to call into front desk to reset your password (every day!) should be an easy fix. For the rest of it, have no complaints. Rooms are clean. Location is great. But I don't think I will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Good location, very quiet - A lovely stay!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The breakfast. I was offered complimentary breakfast, I didn't know that it was going to be so lacking. I would have happily paid extra for more
Location: The hotel is situated in South Kensington, just around the corner from the Natural History Museum and the South Kensington Tube Station.
Hotel was very easy to find, not too far from the underground station. We were greeted politely and everything seemed to go smoothly. We had some issues getting the air-con to work but one of the members of staff was happy to come up and help. The only problem we had was breakfast. We were told at check-in that we had complimentary breakfast in the Elysium Lounge. When we went downstairs the next morning, one of the members of staff there questioned us about our complimentary breakfast, she seemed to think we had no right to be there and made us feel like we were stealing food from them. It was awkward and made us feel somewhat comfortable. But nevermind. The complimentary breakfast is a little bit lacking but it was free - Although had it been offered, I would have paid to have a decent breakfast with far more choice. A very small selection of pastries, a very small selection of fruit, some yoghurt and honey. No bowls to put fruit, yoghurt and honey into though, so you have to get a bit creative with a small plate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, pity about the staff

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location. Price
Cons: Service is the main let down. After that, some of the rooms could do with additional feature - e.g. mini-bar or fridge
Hotel is in a great location, price is alright through Expedia (although they charge much higher if you speak direct). The rooms are alright too, however it is let down by poor staff service, particularly at the front desk. They don't really try to help and you can tell are looking to up-sell. All the small details are missing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Nice hotel Close to the museums

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect for the museums and for a short weekend where you arrive at Gatwick.
Cons: I hate paying for wifi at hotels. 10 pounds for 2 nights is too expensive.
Location: Few stops on tube from Victoria station. Close to museums.
This is a nice hotel close to the Museums. (Science, Natural History an V&A) Also it has easy access to Victoria station (A few stops on the tube) Handy for Gatwick express.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Habitación demasiado pequeña.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Ubicación
Cons: Tamaño de las habitaciones
Location: Museos, restaurantes, bares. Buena ubicación
El hotel está bien situado pero las habitaciones son pequeñas e incomodas. Encontramos otro hotel muy cerca en el mismo rango de precio con habitaciones más modernas y espaciosas
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Location and staff are great, but...

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The hotel’s atmosphere and general ambiance were great, the room was spotless and the staff friendly.
Cons: The WiFi was unreliable and unsuitable for our needs, a major complaint heard from other guests. Also, our room’s size was way too tiny for the price.
My business associate booked a twin-bed room for a three-night stay from June 29-July 1, 2015 inclusive. Upon checking in, the staff were courteous and professional and are room was ready and waiting in excellent condition. The Hotel’s upscale location was also excellent - close to numerous pubs, wine bars and casual eateries and within easy walking distance to points of interest. It was also in a quiet part of town. The only minor irritant was it was sometimes difficult to find a taxi, but not distressingly so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Great location for Wimbledon, museums and shopping. Good choice of restaurants nearby and close to tube station.