Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It was a great hotel, close to the subway and train lines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Durham, UK

Charming, out of the way but close to the West End

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Position (close to my friends and central London) without the cost or being down beat like a Travel Lodge. An experience not just an hotel.
Cons: Aircon
Location: The city, St Paul's and Smithfield as well as adjoining Islington, Farringdon and Kings Cross mainline to the north of England and Europe via Eurostar
Helpful staff; charming rooms but marred by guests who thought they owned the place even for one night stays (australians). Room service excellent, polite and punctual. The patio was good for smokers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by H from Devon

An oasis of refined gentility & luxurious comfort

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: That it was like stepping back in time
Cons: They could include breakfast in the total price
Location: Loads of pubs, restaurants, tube station, the Baarbican. Fascinating area, Smithfield market, Charterhouse.. A wonderful mix of modern and historical.
I needed a bit of relaxation and pampering after a stressful few months and this unusual hotel hit the spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G from toronto

Best hotel!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: It was a quiet neighbourhood and the friendliest staff around. There are lots of places to eat around. It is right next to the tube.
Location: It is close to the tube, St. Paul's cathedral, lots of shops and places to eat.
I love this hotel. I would stay here again and again. They treat you like family. Everyone was so nice and the staff are the most helpful people you can find. The have a fire in the conservatory every night and a well stocked bar. It is easy going, quiet and feels like a home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mike from Glos

Excellent

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely, unusual, hotel. Well provisioned and with helpful and friendly staff. It feels like a period country house, not a small London hotel. Thoroughly recommended, and we'll definitely use it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sparky from London

Perfect

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, lovely venue, spot on service
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MW from Manchester

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
A comfortable and romantic hotel in an interesting area. No complaints but personally I missed a full shower in the bathroom, the large bath is great but the hand shower not so great! Convenient for the tube, bars and restaurants and also the city. Pricey but then again this is London!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, fantastic room

Posted Jan 14, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Sheffield

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Full of character and period features, really relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: The only comment we did have was it would have been nice to have your own tea and coffee making facilities in the room, otherwise lovely!
Location: Good location, very close to Faringdon Station and Tube stop and a 15 min walk to the Tate Modern. Lots of places to eat nearby.