Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel apart from the renovation works.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The style of the building and closeness to amenities
Cons: Availability of breakfast on site.
Location: Shaftesbury Avenue theatre.
Lots of noise from the street outside the Hotel, I was woken up at 2am and then unable to get back to sleep. Disappointed that there were no facilities for breakfast on site. Renovations were being carried during our stay which spoilt the interior. The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Frankfurt

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Nettes Personal, renovierte Zimmer, gute Lage
Location: 1min zu Piccadilly Circus, Theater, Musical, Shopping, Restaurants in der direkten Nachbarschaft.
Ich hatte das Hotel für 3 Tage London (Meetings) gebucht. Mein Zimmer hatte alles, was man braucht. Das Hotel wird gerade renoviert, die renovierten Zimmer sind top. Etwas laut zur Shaftesbury Avenue (bei geöffnetem Fenster). Tee, Kaffee, Obst und Wasser kostenlos - großartig!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2015
the stay at Shaftebury was great. Small hotel but very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

noise

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: the rooms were decorated well, amenities were very good.
the hotel was lovely, but there was building work going on, so very noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Problems with hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The room was beautifully decorated and furnished,. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: It would have been nice if breakfast was available in a restaurant, it was only available as room service.
Location: Right the heart of theatreland so a very good location
First the positives, it is in a wonderful position right in the heart of theatreland. The room was amazing, had just been refurbished. However, the negatives, the reception area is very seedy, there was building work going on at the time that we were not informed about and there was drilling and banging going on until late and then again very early in the morning which was just not acceptable. The coffee machine in the room didn't boil the water so drinks were horrible, the heated floor in the bathroom was way too hot and the air conditioning was so noisy. It was a terribly disappointing visit as it was a birthday treat and it was embarrassing to say the least and spoilt the treat. We did get a part refund which should have helped but somehow it didn't, the evening had been spoilt.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom East Yorkshire

Being renovated - marks for sis hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Didn't see it, but the noise of central London would be a factor
Cons: Soon to be a 5* hotel, just phone before booking to see where they are up to.
Location: Superb location for theatre land
3 rooms booked and had to be taxied to sister hotel at Marble Arch. Which was superb and quieter but just inconvenient for theatre land. Free taxis provided but when you want to go back it took 30 minutes for a taxi. Doing their best under difficult circumstances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, but not great service

Posted Feb 25, 2015 
The location is perfect and the junior suite was spacious with a great view over Shaftesbury Avenue. The breakfast was OK, but the restaurant depressing and without windows. The stay didn't start very well however, as when I was to check in they didn't have a room available and had not been in touch earlier on. Apparently they had a leak, but I have a feeling it wasn't that easy. They also had some work going on at the hotel during day time. As I arrived I was placed in a cab to Kensington, to a hotel that was OK, but the location off considering the original hotel is in Soho. I insisted in getting back to my hotel the next morning and was upgraded, but that they should have done the first night. Did they need to promote their other hotel?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Claire-Lisefrom Riviera/Suisse

Hôtel correct mais pas à la hauteur d'un 5* !

Posted Feb 19, 2015 
Je ne peux pas évaluer l'hôtel réservé, car nous avons été déplacées, up-gradés selon la responsable de la réception à 10 minutes du centre alors que nous avions choisi l'hôtel en fonction de sa situation, centrée à Trafalga. De plus, nous avons perdu notre après-midi suite à ce changement ! On nous a amenées dans un hôtel correct, mais décevant pour un 5* comme on nous l'a vendu en remplacement. Ayant l'habitude de 5* cela pour moi ne correspond pas à la qualité d'un 5* - salle de petit-déjeuner et petit-déjeuner ne sont pas de la qualité de ce que l'on attend d'un 5*. Réception pas à la hauteur d'un 5* ! Dommage, avons été très déçues ! Cela nous a gâché notre séjour ! C'est une bonne leçon pour une prochaine fois où je me montrerais plus ferme et n'accepterait pas de changement pour des raisons encore à ce jour pas très claires.... dégâts dans les chambres ou ... overbooking, les explications n'étaient pas très nettes !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Heathrow

The Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: A good choice for breakfast, has a gym but did not have time to use it.
Location: Reasonable rates for the facilities and proximity to the theaters. An enjoyable stay will book next time we are
We had an excellent stay at the Shaftesbury, the staff were very polite and professional from the time we arrived to our departure, the room was very comfortable our only concern was the hot and cold taps were round the wrong way this could cause a problem with younger guests. There was some work being carried out but we knew before booking and this was no problem to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2015