Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Expected much more for the price

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Value
I chose the hotel because colleagues of mine were also supposed to be staying but they pulled out last minute. I expected quite a bit because the rate seemed fairly high in my opinion. The room was very warm and seemed to be located next to some staff quarters and there was a lot of noise in the early morning so I didn't sleep well at all. The taxi driver that dropped me at the hotel told me that the restaurant at the hotel was highly regarded in the area so I decided to eat there. I caught the restaurant just before closing and had a steak. It was ok, but the portion size wasn't huge, I certainly wouldn't choose to eat there for the price. I paid for breakfast in the morning but promptly wished I hadn't bothered. The coffee was good, but the scrambled eggs were very salty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
We enjoyed our stay here. Great service, good food, comfortable. A bit pricy, but this is England.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cody from Texas

Great hotel close to LHR

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Shower, on-site restaurant
Cons: Larger rooms
Location: Near London Heathrow, so airplane noise is pretty constant.
Our stay at The Stanwell was very pleasant. The room itself was very nice, and the staff were very kind. The restaurant food was delicious as well, a very good Full English Breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suited to our needs.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Not busy. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.
Location: We use it to visit family in Stanwell, but ideal if you want to fly from Heathrow, visit Windsor, Thorpe Park, or London.
This was our second stay, and we will be going back. It suits our needs, the only draw back is that there isn't a swimming pool for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Lexington, MA, USA

Bus 441 to T5

Posted May 17, 2014
Wonderful hotel but tricky to get to. Avoid the cab from Heathrow. Take the 441 coach from T5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Greenville, South Carolina

Easy stay outside Heathrow

Posted Apr 24, 2014
The hotel is perfectly situated for a late night arrival or early morning departure from Heathrow. The staff were very accommodating, especially since we arrived rather late in the evening. The bar area is open 24 hours to get a snack and drink whenever you arrive which is extremely kind. The breakfast is well laid out and has a nice variety of fruit and cold options as well as the ability to order from the hot food menu. My only minor concerns were that we were put in the annex and it is a little more difficult with large cases, and the carpet in both the hall and our room, could use a cleaning as there are numerous rather off putting spots that seem to have been there for awhile. That said, it's a great option if you need to be at the airport first thing or arrive and are exhausted. Would definitely recommend if you keep an open mind to the carpet stains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kay from Brighton

Drove pasted but never stayed

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Locality, clean, modern, friendly/helpful staff, not to big making it more personal.
Location: We have a lot of family near by, but great for Heathrow, Windsor, Thorpe Park, London and loads more.
Circumstances changed and I'm not able to stay with family when I come to Stanwell, so whilst looking for hotels/lodges I remembered Stanwell Hotel, and thought why not try it out. I moved from Stanwell 35 years ago and prior to that I used to walk past Stanwell Hotel on my way to school. I was pleasantly surprised, lovely clean modern hotel. Great for my needs. The staff made my autistic daughter and myself very welcome, I was concerned to begin with as it was new to my daughter but her anxieties seemed short lived, and settled very quickly. Stanwell Hotel will be seeing us again. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julie from Nottingham

Good place to stay near Heathrow

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The food and service in the restaurant is excellent and the staff are warm and accomodating.
Cons: For me, a room that was internal to the hotel, although this would not be a problem for some people.
Location: This was a business stay and I was working the whole time. It is very convenient for Staines and Heathrow. Stanwell seems pleasant enough.
The positives: I arrived early before the check in time, this was no trouble, the check in desk checked the room was available and I was given my key early - this was appreciated. The staff, service and food in this hotel are very good Negatives: I was allocated a room in the stable block which is motel style. i.e. the door opens straight into the garden and is not within an internal corridor. These are described as classic rooms and whilst adequate as a female travelling alone I felt somewhat vulnerable. I did mention this to the receptionist at checkout, she explained that they were full that night with many regular guests. If other rooms had been available these would have been offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grant from Eastbourne

City break seeing friends

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Easy to find close to transport links, easy checkin. Rooms well maintained, clean and modern decor.
Cons: nothing
Location: close to heathrow, free parking at hotel, not much to do nearby. handy for overnight before flying from heathrow.
Pleasant stay, staff friendly, although close to heathrow the room I stayed in you couldn't here them at all.
3 out of 5
by Simon from Manchester

nice hotel shame about the bed

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: staff, breakfast
Cons: better quality mattresses
Everything was fine except for the bed, I woke up through the night and morning with back ache which has never happened to me before. The hotel is clean newly refurbished and staff are very friendly, just a shame they didn't spend a bit more on the quality of the mattresses. After all that's what you're mainly there for.