Ratings based on 2,137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SouthEast England

Extremely good 3 night stay

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I liked the conscience of 'nipping out' at any given time to be right in the heart of London. The doormen were always cheerful :)
Cons: Glass/Perspex panel instead of shower curtain
Location: Many theatres, national Gallery, Trafalgar, bust stops nearby (on bus route to the Tower of London), choice of places to eat, Covent Garden.
After reading done reviews about smallness of rooms and noisy night times I was little unsure of what to expect. Staff on check in were extremely polite and helpful - I had booked the Queen sized room and was given a room on the 3rd floor. I use a walking stick so was very grateful the lifts were relatively quick to arrive and smooth. On the 3rd floor there are a huge amount of rooms and did find it a bit confusing to find my room at first, bu a member of staff I spotted down one of the many corridors was extremely patient and polite in explaining where I went wrong and after describing the correct route was kind enough to check I reached the right area. The room was very clean thro-out, shelves in wardrobe and safe box for free use. The tv was good quality with ample stations to choose from including quite a few stations from foreign countries. Many nice touches like free bottles of water, full tea/coffee/biscuit utilities, light switches close to bed and good supply of soaps/shampoo etc. One slight off putting thing was the standard curtain type shower in the bath which I found a little too enclosed, but that was the ONLY slightly negative point. The bed was comfortable. Love the fact that all the windows had wooden sliding shutters which helped keep out the light and noise, which, OK was a tad noisy with open window, but it's a high tourist spot in London and no worse than I expected. Will definately stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffs

Overal perfect hotel for theater visits

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness
Location: Covent garden around the corner, all theatres in walking distance. Lots to do in the area
Great location staff very friendly and helpful. It is my hotel of choice when visiting London location so central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Strand Palace Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean room and polite staff. Good value for downtown London.
Cons: Add air conditioning .... but it was understandably a very hot summer in the UK!
Location: Right on The Strand, close to The Savoy, a short walk (two small blocks) to a large tube station. Taxis always around, but hey, it's London!
This is a very reasonable hotel in the heart of London. Given the price and the others in the area, it is EXCELLENT value for money. We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they were pleasant and helpful. The room was VERY clean and even though we were by the elevator, the room was very quiet and comfortable. I would strongly recommend this to anyone who needs to stay in downtown London at a (relatively) reasonable rate ... for London, England that is! Good Stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Comfortable hotel in an excellent position

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, decoration and soft-furnishings, choice of eating venues.
Cons: More towel rail space in the bathroom with room for two bath towels and two hand towels.
Location: Somerset House; National gallery and National Portrait Gallery; theatres all around; Lincolns Inn with John Soane museum; St Paul's Cathedral.
We enjoyed good beds in a small but well-appointed room; the deal included full English breakfast which was tasty and comprehensive. With Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square within a few minutes walk, there is lots on the doorstep. I recommend this as a good value, quality hotel in central London.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Ideal location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Found this hotel from Expedia.ca; info was clear and accurate. Hotel was showing some wear but the rooms were clean and adequate. We had plenty of towels and toiletries. The tea and coffee maker was a great convenience and always well supplied. Breakfast on the hotel was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Convenient to London Central

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: A/C for rooms with single beds. Fat women have hot flashes even sleeping alone. Hee, hee
Location: Theatre district nearby. Transportation convenient to all tourist sites.
Found the Staff extremely warm and helpful. Economical for location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Good value for money for a hotel right in central London . Lack of air conditioning may be a problem in very hot weather. Reception staff helpful and room was fine. Altogether, a vast improvement from the old Trust House Forte days, which was when I last stayed there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Good location for west end and city

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I really appreciated the location of the hotel and its facilities. The staff were a bit disappointing - especially those on reception - but in the lounge bar they were more personable. The room was fine, comfortable and clean. Good shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Has really gone downhill

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location. Near Covent Garden.
Cons: Most of it.
Location: Covent Garden a short walk.
I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 6 years. This time was very different. I was placed in a room with no AC. It wasn't hot outside, but the heater was on full blast, the windows hardly opened, there was a fan but not much good circulating hot air. I lost my bag and had to find some toiletries.....there were none to be found and the ones that were available cost a fortune. Sad to say this was my last of many stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warwickshire

Great location, inexpensive room

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast.
Cons: Non air conditioned room was too hot.
Location: Ideal location.
Helpful staff. Hotel very close to all the major sites. Ideal for an early morning run down the Mall, past Buckingham Palace, over to Westminster Bridge having gone past parliament, left past County Hall , the London Eye and back over the bridge to the hotel. Great breakfast to finish it all off. Would come again as great vfm.