Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel close to shops and parks

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Air conditioned old elegant hotel easy to walk past as very discreet. Quite noisy as old terraces can be and strange to have breakfast in the cellar but lovely friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carol from nova scotia

Friendly hotel next to the hub of the city

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, our room
Cons: Tea making facilities in the room
Location: Excellent location to marble arch..... But at night it was surprisingly quiet. Shops, Hyde park, restaurants. Museums ... So much!
We had a much needed break, and the hotel was a small well managed affair. Jessica was very efficient and helpful, breakfast was a pleasant affair,.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good small hotel great location for shopping

Posted May 15, 2014
This hotel appealed because it was small and quiet in a good location
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Travelbug23 from New York

Lovely staff, the rest not so much....

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This "hotel" is a house. An old house. Old furniture. Worn furnishings. In an effort to be creative in my recent stay (nixing The Millenium, Radisson, Hilton) I researched many hotels close to Selfridges as I was working in that area. Met by a very kind front desk, I checked into my room and wanted to check right back out... Tiny room with no room for my bags, dirty carpet, bed as hard as a rock (actually 2 twins pushed together), covered the desk chair with a towel. Walked to Edgemare St in search of a meal, only to find myself surrounded by hookah pipes and burkas. The other side of the 'hood was a bit better for food and yes, the lovely breakfast at The Sumner makes up just a bit for all of the things that may not work for you! If location (Oxford St, Bond St, Hyde Park and tubes) and a great clean bathroom (Gilchrist & Soames amenities always excite me) are important, this is the right place for you! Thank you Jessica, Gee, Maroush and Rohit for attempting to make my 5 nights there as bearable as possible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Faultless

Posted Mar 31, 2014
This is a lovely hotel with first class staff. We felt very much at home and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfy. The breakfast lacked for nothing. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Would definately go back. Magnified mirror would be good addition in bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RT from MN

Lovely little hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Location: 3 block to the marble arch tube station. Lots of very good restaurants near by and the hotel has a nice list of the better ones with a map.
My daugheter and I spent a week at the Sumner. Check in was easy and we got room 100 in the lower level. Room is large compared to many European hotels. Nice bathroom with great water pressure and hot water. Beds were comfortable and outlets for every kind of plug in you could possibly need. Flat screen TV with cable and great WIFI. Breakfasts were more than adequate with a good selection to choose from. Only negative was that the air conditioning and heat are separate. First 4 days air worked fine since the weather was sufficiantly warm to need it a litlle. On the last 2 dyas it started to pump out heat instead. Staff had no idea how to rectify it. Would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bird from cheshire

Very friendly small hotel close to many facilities

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Easy to get to from Marble Arch tube, only a five minute walk.
Location: The hotel is situated within easy walking to Hyde park, Oxford street, Park Lane. The london tour buses are at Hyde Park corner.
We recently stayed at The Sumner for a one night stay and found this lovely hotel, a great place to get away from London's busy streets but within easy reach of Oxford street, Marble Arch and Hyde park. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was simple but presented very well. We would recommend this hotel and plan to return in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert from Southampton

Great small hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in London many times at different hotels, but none come close to this lovely little boutique hotel, which is in a converted town-house just minutes from one end of Oxford Street. The internal decorations are top quality with wooden floors in the entrance area, soft down-lights and cream decor. I arrived late in the evening but got a warm welcome from a very polite and helpful receptionist. My room was a standard double bed guest room (other levels are available) that was well maintained, very clean, nicely decorated (in the continuing cream theme). The bathroom was modern with toiletries of a very high standard. The room was also extremely quiet (it was at the back of the property) which is usually difficult to find in central London. The buffet breakfast was totally unexpected given the small size of the hotel, but had all of the food normally associated with one of the larger chain hotels, and was absolutely delicious, both cooked food (bacon, eggs, mushrooms, beans) and the cold (cereals, croissants, juices, meats, fruit etc.). The breakfast room staff were friendly and helpful offering hot drinks and toast with nothing seeming to be too much trouble. Check out was again friendly and the end bill was wonderfully cheap for the level of service, cleanliness and ambience of the hotel. This hotel is a real find and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for real value for money and a quiet base from which to explore London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014